We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fantastic service.”
Review of The Gage

The Gage
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Madison
Transit: The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.
Description: Loved by locals and visitors alike, The Gage is the iconic restaurant on Michigan Avenue featuring refined, rustic cuisine in the historic Gage Group Buildings. The Gage is acclaimed for exceptional dining experiences and commitment to outstanding hospitality. The Gage is a Gage Hospitality Group restaurant. Sister restaurants include: Acanto, Coda di Volpe, The Dawson and The Gage
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, fantastic service.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had the pleasure of dining at The Gage while in town on business, it was an experience I will always remember. We had Stephen as our server and I'd highly recommend you request him. He was very knowledgable on the menu so we decided to allow him to choose all of our courses which he did happily and even paired drinks with each one. It was a fantastic experience wherein we had dishes we likely would not have ordered otherwise but were very glad we had the opportunity to try. Stephen ensured the entire night was a cohesive epicurean journey delivered with personable service and wit. I will make a point to making The Gage a stop on any journey through Chicago.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mntnrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    613
    146
    39
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and lots of fun... and a great scene!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had not heard of The Gage, but it came highly recommended by our hotel's concierge. What a great time we had. Our reservation was on the late side; 8:45PM on a Saturday night, and when we got there the place was hoppin'! What a great space this is. Very cosmopolitan and very eclectic. The menu is diverse and the wine list is more than fair. We had drinks at the bar in the front room, and were fortunate to secure a table in the back by the open kitchen. The front bar room is a happening place and pleasantly noisy, and the back room is much more intimate. If you enjoy talking and laughing at dinner, that's your recommended course - request a table in the back.

Our son had the chops, which he dug into like it was the only thing he'd eaten in weeks. His girlfriend and I both had the 'Big Eye Tuna', which came with shaved veggies and roasted pumpkin. My wife had the special fish... which looked and tasted great. (Whish I could remember more about it!) I really liked ourserver, Wendy, who answered all our questions thoughtfully and directly. She gave us great recommendations as well, such as Tuna > Rissoto.

I'd go back to The Gage in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal in a Great City”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

While in Chicago for a convention, our friends from Chicago told us we had to try The Gage. We had never heard of the restaurant, but because of their recommendation, and because it was just around the corner from our hotel, we decided to give it a try. We had just driven the 3 hours, and I had a 5 hour meeting that had just ended, so we decided to give it a try. What a wonderful choice! The food was excellent, the wait staff was great, and the ambiance was wonderful. Our waiter recommended and we took the suggestions and we had a totally fantastic dinner. Even though we were a little tired, we were reenergized and had a wonderful evening! A must try restaurant that won't suck the bills out of your wallet. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eyedoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a local favorite. Interesting food on the menu that changes with the seasons. Great atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank indiana1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bustling place with good food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stopped in here on a Friday afternoon. The Gage has a great atmosphere, and definitely seems like a place to get drinks. The food is fairly priced and was very good - especially recommend the apple crisp afterwards. Parking nearby is super easy with the underground garages.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gage also viewed

 

Been to The Gage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing