We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blown away by the service and accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #40 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Blown away by the service and accomodations!”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at the Blackstone in early August to go to the Lollapalooza Music Festival and to visit area colleges. We were really blown away by all aspects of the hotel (except for reservations but I will get to that later). The service in the hotel was really topnotch and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room service went out of their way to accommodate us, when we arrived after 10 p.m. and required vegan choices for my daughter. The food was excellent in both the Mercat Restaurant and room service (which I often try to avoid). The staff did an incredible job as the hotel was completely booked and it was very hectic for the first three days we were here. Even our housekeeping service was friendly and accommodating. It did appear that everyone that worked here really enjoyed their job and was interested in making sure you were happy. The rooms were very comfortable. Plenty of space and well laid out. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathrooms were spacious and we loved the walk in shower (no bathtub). We were also surprised that the rooms were pretty quiet. No noise from the street but we could definitely hear the music festival although this didn't bother us as it ended at 10 p.m. every night. The weather was brutally hot - high 90's but our room and the rest of the hotel was always nice and cool.

The location is good if you are interested in going to the museums and aquarium as well as spending time in the parks. The restaurants within walking distance were somewhat limited.

The one area that we had a problem was with reservations. I requested a double room (two beds) connected to a king room. I was later sent an email letting me know that my request was not available, although I did not realize this at first as I thought it was just a confirmation. Once I realized this, I called the hotel back and was told that I should call two weeks before arrival and was led to believe that this would be possible. I called two weeks out and was told to call back a few days before arrival. When I did this, I was told to call back two days before arrival and when I did this I was told to call the day before and then the day of. During this time, not once was I told that there are very few rooms in the hotel that have doubles (I think it is one per floor) and that the likelihood was not good that one would be available. In addition to that, these are also the only rooms that connect. We ended up with two rooms each with a king that did not connect. This definitely effected our trip as my husband and I each had to share a room and a bed with one of our children. In the end, the accommodations and service made us glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muttger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    554
    128
    41
    26
See reviews for
303
537
111
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I were celebrating our 22nd Wedding Anniversary and decided on The Blackstone Hotel on Michigan Ave. in Chicago. Before our stay we were contacted via email with a personal note regarding our arrival. This was a very nice touch. I informed them of our anniversary and when we arrived at our room we had been upgraded to a lake view room (the view was spectacular on a beautiful September Chicago day) and we had a bottle of wine and appetizer awaiting us. It was truely a surprise. Molly in the sales department should be commended for taking such good care of us on our special day.

The room was very ecclectic and comfortable. I was blown away by how nice the hotel had been redone. It was decorated in dark rich colors and there was attention paid to every detail. The room was spacious, with a king bed, and comfortable. Even though our room lacked a tub, the shower was very nice and the "rainshower" head was out of this world relaxing. Our room overlooked the lake and the city and was the best part of the room. If given the choice in the future I would definately pay extra to upgrade to this type of room again...it was that special. About the only bad thing I can say about the room (1618) was that the noise was a little noticable from the city 16 floors below which was a surprise. We only noticied it in the morning and only when there was an ambulance or morning train whistle. Otherwise we never noticed anything during the night.

We requested early chcek in and late check out and it was not a problem and the staff could not have been more accomodating to us. We had drinks at the Mercat Bar and they were fantastic. I really have never felt so "taken care of" while staying at a hotel. Only one person knew it was our anniversary but it seemed as though everyone knew and applied the special touch.

Again, The Blacksone Hotel in Chicago is now my favorite "Home away from home" when I visit the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKBOPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This historic building is absolutely beautiful. Don't let the age put you off -- the rooms have been updated and provide a perfect guest stay. Ours faced Lake Michigan so we could look out over the weekend fireworks at Navy Pier.

If you need to be at the Chicago Hilton for an event, skip the Hilton and stay across the street at the Blackstone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My teenage sister and I stayed at The Blackstone during American Idol auditions. It was an incredibly convenient location with in & out parking privileges which allowed us to go back and forth between the auditions with no problem. It was just across the street (a short 2 minute walk) from Lake Michigan.

On the interior of the hotel the decor was incredible!!! In the lobby they maintained the historical details of the building. On the interior of the rooms they were amazing. The place has obviously had a complete overhaul from top to bottom and the finishing touches show that whoever did the renovation paid very close attention to detail and used all high-end finishes.

Everything in the hotel room was better than we could have asked for from the amazingly fluffy beds and pillows to the fully stocked mini fridge, to the flat screen TV, huge desk and the bathroom. The bathroom was impeccable with marble floors and counter tops. We never heard anything through the walls either. The place is built completely solid.

The staff was also incredibly helpful. We had a great experience and would stay here again any day of the week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Blackstone for 3 nights in August. Overall, we were pleased with the accomodations. The room was quite spacious, the beds were very comfortable and the staff members were helpful. We picked this hotel because it had been recently renovated and they did a wonderful job with it. It's not too big a hotel either which i think is great when you have kids with you. We had breakfast at the Mercat each morning and it was enjoyable and fairly priced.
There is 1 thing I did not like. The day we were leaving (August 7th) was the beginning of La La Palooza. Prior to making my reservation, i phoned the hotel to ask whether or not they could accomodate a late check-out on the 7th. I was told it shouldn't be a problem. The day i checked in (August 4th), i was told the same thing although they told me i should let them know the morning of the 7th. So i did. And the response I got was, "i'm sorry but because of the La La Palooza" taking place this weekend, we are unable to accomodate your reuqest." Well, it's not like the festival came as a surprise. I would have appreciated it if I had been told of this prior to confirming my reservation. If this is an annual event that sells out their rooms, they could have been honest about it from the get-go and told me so. The location of the Blackstone places it right at the center of the festival - i could have picked a hotel more north of Grant Park to have avoided this. So that actually annoyed me that day.
Otherwise, it you are looking for a comfortable, clean and upscale place to stay, the Blackstone would be it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellabelli-41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I travel for work (and sometimes leisure) often. I try to stay in a new place each time until I find my favorite hotel in each city. I have to say that the I've stayed in a number of Chicago hotels & I can definitely say that the Blackstone is hands down, my favorite.

Here's what I like about the place:
*conveniently located
*staff is friendly
*starbucks connected with hotel
*rooms are well designed and very very comfortable (beds)
*also conveniently set up for business, internet
*and most importantly the hotel just has a pleasant and uplifting energy about it (if you believe in that sort of thing). I just feel happy when I stay here. A good, comfortable atmosphere that's stylish.

Cons:
*paying for wifi

I would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lives4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Great hotel, great staff, great location.Great fitness center. Buy a 3 day transit pass. Well worth it. You can get everywhere by subway or bus from this hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BostonTbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4,788 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
1,891 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,001 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing