We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chi-Town trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #38 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife in August. Was in town to visit a client and catch a Cubs game. The Blackstone is a really cool, historic hotel right on the park that leads to the lake. Not far from Millenium Park or the L-train. Great for Magnificent Mile access and Wrigley Field.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hi Matt -
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and found it to be convenient to all that you did while in Chi-Town. Its a fun city and a great hotel! So thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for business. Rich old woods in the lobby with ornate gold trim. Huge rooms with enormous bathrooms equipped with rain shower heads. Small but luxurious Concierge Lounge. Located on Michigan Avenue. The restaurant, Mercat, was outstanding. This was a really great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorbaLindaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi YorbaLindaStar!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the property and I hope that you will return again.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Great accommodations- had a huge room with a nice view of the lake - and a really cool television in the bathroom mirror. Hotel service was excellent - - concierge lounge was a little small for the size of the hotel with somewhat limited hours.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank ROLOGOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hello ROLOGOL,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of a room with a view! We have some of the best view rooms in Chicago if you are lucky enough to get one - or book them, specifically.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate it.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I arrived the day of the Chicago Marathon and it was a madhouse as I swear most of the runners were staying here, primarily because of it's fabulous location right on the riverside parks.

This beautiful hotel has seen it's fair share of history: Al Capone's barber was downstairs.

The service was impeccable, from doorman to manager.

It may be an historic hotel but there's nothing stuffy about this old girl.

My room was just gorgeous done in a modern style and I absolutely adored the spacious, stylish bathroom with it's modernist wallpaper and sybaritic shower and Aveda toiletries.

The bed was heavenly, with cloud-like pillows: a perfect haven after three days of non-stop walking and sightseeing.

I had stunning views over the parks and Lake Michigan, reaching from Soldiers Field to the piers. The room came with a fridge, coffee maker, iPod dock, chaise longue, work desk and comfortable chair.

My only issue was with the internet, available for a daily fee and frustratingly slow.

Try not to bring your car into the city as parking is a nightmare. There are parking stations and the hotel offers valet for a fee, but this is very much a walking city, so avoid it if you can. There's a metro station and bus stops near the hotel.

I loved this hotel and I highly recommend it as staying here made my first trip to Chicago a super stylish one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi the Packed Bag!
I loved your review of the Blackstone Renaissance Hotel - thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a thorough and fantastic review! I am so pleased that we helped to make your first trip to Chicago a great one and look forward to welcoming you back. Please let me know when you come back - I would enjoy saying hello!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were a group of doctors that came for a convention in Chicago for 5 days.
We must say that the service in the hotel was professional and
The hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city with a great view.


Definitely recommended for business or leisure purposes

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it. As you mentioned, our hotel is great for business for groups as well as for the leisure customer - there is something for everybody.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in the city of all time. The hotel is very historic and is a landmark. Don't think that means it is old and dated because it is anything but. I love the decor in the rooms. The rooms are also spacious and have some amazing views of the lake, Grant Park and the planetarium. If you happen to be a runner, this is an amazing spot for the Marathon or Shamrock Shuffle. Let me also tell you that the staff is top notch. This is everyone, housekeeping, lost and found and front desk...all amazingly kind and helpful. The restaurant, Le Mercat ala Planxa is fantasic. Do get the salad and sandwich combo for lunch...make sure to get one of their amazing sangrias as well. Another plus? It has a real Starbucks downstairs on the Michigan Avenue side.

Room Tip: request a lake front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi pgirl42 -
I am so happy that we are your favorite!!! With as many hotels as there are in Chicago, that is truly an honor. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and I hope I get a chance to say hello the next time you visit!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel has so much history....that it is a landmark. The hotel is in a great location and has some amazing views...just across from Grant Park and within walking distance to the lakefront. The restaurant, Le Mercat ala Planxa is fantasic Tapas....from Iron chef Jose Garces. Room Service menu is fromt eh restaurant, but a different menu choice. They change the menu frequently and always surprises the taste buds.

Overall good hotel and convenient place stay. My only pet peeve...the towels are a bit rough on the skin.

Room Tip: Lakefront is an amazing view....some rooms face the back. Be sure to use the room shades as it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary07020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you Mary07020, for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely look into the towels as that should not be an issue - but I appreciate the feedback.
I hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,412 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 191 in Chicago
402 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $150 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing