We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem! Great stay + fantastic price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #38 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Traveling all over and usually looking for the best high-line accommodations for the most reasonable price, I booked a weekend stay... Excellent service here; ask for higher than 16th floor room AND on Michigan Ave side room to get the fantastic fountain, park, and Navy pier view.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi SharmADB,
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel! We have terrific rooms with terrific views and glad that you were able to get one! I hope that you come back to Chi-town soon.
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
There are newer reviews for The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights a the Blackstone and have nothing but positive things to say about it...staff was friendly, check-in was a breeze, concierge had all the right answers (and discount coupons to some major attractions). Would definitely stay at the Blackstone again and wholeheartedly recommend it.

Our only mistake was not getting the CTA pass earlier in the weekend.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor corner room if possible...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi Dave 707-
Thank you so much for your wholehearted recommendation - we REALLY appreciate it! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again, soon. Glad that our concierge (we call them Navigators!) was helpful and able to get you a few discounts!
Best regards,
Kim C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at the Blackstone and had a really good weekend. Its location is great, right across from Grant Park and convenient for the Art Institute and easy access to shopping, although north Michigan Ave shopping is a bit of a walk. Service was good as was the food. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi FlyingBishop!
Thanks so much for taking the time to critique the hotel and write a review! I am happy that you enjoyed yourself and especially glad that you would return again. We appreciate your business and look forward to saying welcome back!
Best regards,
Kim C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is conviently located across from Grant park, very close to Buckingham fountain. It's in walking distance to everything, especially close to Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier are a little bit of a hike but the bus stop across the street will get you there in no time.
The room was spacious and relatively quiet considering the hotel is on a busy street. The staff could not have been nicer and were extremely helpful. The Starbucks off the lobby was also a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Kwes82,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, the location of the hotel and the service provided by the team! WE work very hard to provide a great experience and insure that the team exceeds expectations and I'm glad they did for you.
I hope you will return and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our event was seamless. It was in fact one of the best weddings i have ever attended and so said my guests. The Blackstone property is awesome, totally renovated and beautiful from lobby to ballroom and guest rooms. The service was fabulous, they couldn'd do enough for us and our event manager Ashley, Osche was phenomanal and contributed to the overall success of the event. Our meal was delivered on time and was hot and delicious.
Thank you staff at the Blackstone for all of your help with a wonderful wedding affair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdvorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Congratulations on your recent wedding!
I am so very pleased that everything was what you wanted it to be. We do many, many weddings at our beautiful hotel and I'm so thrilled that you had a great time!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.
See you next year on your anniversary!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very friendly , helpful and not intrusive valet services easy, front desk pleasant, food service timely and good, no problems except husband wasn't feeling well and slept most of the day and when we went out to dinner I asked for the room to be freshened but they never came.




  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

HI Patricia B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay but very sorry that we didn't freshen up your room, as requested. That seems like an easy request that did not get executed correctly. We will definitely be reviewing these items with our operations team.
I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and the car was quickly unloaded and taken away to be parked. Check-in was quick and the luggage was quickly taken up to the room. All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and professional.
The room was clean and had a king size bed which turned out to be quite comfortable! The bathroom was large and had a glass divider between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. There was a small fridge in the room and a nice sized closet. Our view was out towards the lake and to the south, which I found was quite nice!
I liked the curved stairs in the lobby and they lead up to the Mercat restaurant which we had supper at. The food and drinks were excellent there! The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient.
Checkout went smoothly too, we called for the car and it arrived quickly and all our luggage was loaded into it and off we went.
I look forward to going back again!!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a view towards the lake
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hi Al H,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent visit at the Blackstone Renaissance Hotel. I am so glad that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed the comforts of the room as well as the terrific restaurant we have on property, Mercat a la Planxa! It is an Iron Chef inspired restaurant and has a great reputation!
I hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 191 in Chicago
1,971 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 191 in Chicago
1,483 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 191 in Chicago
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $149 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing