We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #39 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very historical and very charming. This is definitely a boutique hotel with flavor. I enjoyed the layout of the room and also the amenities. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I absolutely loved the shower and went in multiple times in a day because it was sooo relaxing. The only thing that I didn't like was the fact that the Concierge lounge was closed on the weekends. However, they do give you coupons to eat at the Mercat restaurant to compensate for it. Very nice hotel and I definitely recommend it. As with any hotel in downtown Chicago, the parking can be expensive and valet is the only option at this property. There are cheaper lots near the hotel so if you plan on staying put, that will be the best option.

Room Tip: High Floors with City or lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Businesstraveler212 -
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review - you obviously travel a lot so I very much appreciate the feedback and am thrilled that you enjoyed the property! We are very proud of the property and are so happy that you would come back! Return visitors is the ultimate way to let us know we are doing things right!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    577
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
324
555
116
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Blackstone is a very nice hotel, with a great location! Unfortunately, the service provided does not represent this upscale hotel. Staying there a total of 3 nights, we had numerous poor customer service experiences. Reception - multiple added fees that could not be explained by the representative. Trying to have anything sent to our room was nearly impossible... our first night, I called to have a bottle opener and 2 glasses sent to our room... an hour and fifteen minutes, 3 calls, and me going down to the lobby, we finally had them! This happened multiple times throughout our stay. Our last morning, 8:30AM someone knocks on our door and is trying to open it. When I get to the door, the maid asks me if we are in fact checking out that morning. After replying yes, she then proceeds to ask me: "but at what time?". I could not believe it, how rude! Not only do we have until 11AM to check out, but I am getting harassed by the staff as to when I'll be leaving... Cannot say I'll ever be setting foot in that hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnmmgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Vmnngi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am so very sorry that we didn't at all meet your expectation for service. I have emailed you under separate cover to get some additional information so we can be sure to follow up with the associates that provided such poor service. The delivery should NOT have taken so long - and the guest room attendants should not have made you feel like you were being hurried - but generally they may ask what time you are leaving so they can be sure not to bother you again - obviously it didn't come across that way and I'm sorry. I'm glad that you found the hotel to be nice and hope that you would consider coming back again some day.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Blackstone and found the room very comfortable. The King size bed was very comfortable and the lobby area is beautiful. We were less keen on the location. We found there was very few places to eat or go for a drink in the immediate area and very few people on the streets after dark. We used the transit system extensively, but, would have liked the option of a selection of bars/restaurants and a vibrant nightlife close by. If travelling again we would definitely book a hotel north of the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks Celeanor for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback and understand that our location is not for everyone! We feel like it is a little less "frantic" than North of the River with lots of things to do close by.
I wish that you would give us another try, but certainly appreciate the business!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is very close to the two L stations and several bus stops. It was an easy trip for us from Midway Airport using the Orange line. It's also a walk away from the Field Museum, Aquarium, and Planetarium (though you can take a bus to save your feet), and just across the street from Grant Park.

Service was great, the ladies at the front desk were warm and friendly and the guys at the door always greeted us with a smile.

Our room had a King Bed and was really nice. The only thing I didn't care for was the sliding door for the bathroom - it didn't afford a lot of privacy. But since I was staying with my husband, it wasn't a big deal.

For the price we paid, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sll42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi SII42,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and happy that you found the associates to be friendly and accommodating! We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had an awesome time at the Blackstone. Wonerful folks and customer service! Eat in the restaurant and was amazing! From Denver, will be going back soon! Can't wait to go back in October with my family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hey, C G!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and happy that you found Mercat a la Planxa as good as we tell people it is! :) The best feedback we can EVER get is a return stay and we look forward to welcoming you back - please let us know when you plan your trip so we can do something special!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the very first moment, the staff made me feel welcome and appreciated my business... whenever they could, they went above and beyond to make my stay fantastic, special shout out to Annissa :) ... the hotel location is ideal, the decor and style of the structure is in the old early 1900's classic pre-art deco style and is definitely a landmark like the Hilton next to it... I don't have one single complaint, but the only drawback (and this is just personal preference, nothing the hotel can do about it now) is there there was no swimming pool for a 4-star, and my room didn't have a tub--yes, I like water :)
I will ALWAYS try to come back to this hotel from now on in my travels to Chicago
Thanks Blackstone!
-Kozar

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are difficult to get without paying extra, but must definitely be worth it if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dravafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello Dravafox!
Water person that you are - we definitely have some rooms that have bath tubs - so just make sure that you request one and that you arrive not too late when they are no longer available - we would be happy to make sure you get your dose of agua! You have to admit, though, the rain shower heads are pretty awesome!
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly give a shout out to Annissa! Thanks for mentioning her.
WE look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Kim C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I checked into the Blackstone during Spring Break in late March 2013 and was very impressed by both the location and service. Not only were the staff very accommodating with my requests, such as holding luggage for the day and providing me with information about local foods spots, but they made every effort to ensure that I had a pleasant stay. One other "plus" of this hotel is that the beds are incredibly comfortable and the interiors are quite nicely decorated, considering the moderate $150-200 room price. All in all, this was a memorable stay and I would highly consider to all!

Room Tip: -The restaurant downstairs and the room service menu have the same names; however, they do not offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cletterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Cletterly,
Thanks very much for your comments and your review, we really appreciate you taking the time! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and found it to be a value for the price! You are correct that the restaurant provides room service but we found that hotel guests generally want good ole fashioned plainer food for room service so they have altered the menu - I am certain you could order the tapas food for service or take out for the room if you want!
I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 190 in Chicago
1,944 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 190 in Chicago
5,038 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 190 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing