We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design at affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #37 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Design at affordable price”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very weel located, the Ranaissance in Chicago offers a nice an large rooms a very convenient Price. I got a 25th floor one with amazing lake view. Fireworks included! We spent an unforggetable New Year´s EVe.

Room Tip: Ask an upgrade at the frontdesk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesarcua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Happy New Year CesarCUA,
So happy that you enjoyed your New Year at the Blackstone! New Years is a little chilly in Chicago but a great time with all of the amazing restaurants and fire works.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope you have a chance to visit us again.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    560
    130
    41
    26
See reviews for
305
546
113
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

1) Pefect location...easy access to get around everywhere & for me to just cross the street to run on the lakeshore every morning!
2) Platinum upgrade came in handy, they were so nice to hold the specific room for us when i called & said we will be arriving late at night. They reserved a corner room with the nice lake view & huge room/bathroom.
3) Everything was very modern inside & even had a tv screen on the bathroom mirror. Bed was really comfy with sooooo many pillows :)
4) Executive louge bfast was decent Friday morning, pretty good selection. Then Saturday they gave us voucher to eat in their restaurant Mercat, which is well known for some tapas chef. The server was really nice allowing me to substitute a whole yoghurt parfait instead of the bacon & potates that came with the eggs benedict!
5) With the platinum, they let us choose an amenity delivered to our room...so they brought us wine & icecream right at the time we requested. First he brought strawberry, but i asked if they had chocolate instead & he just ended up giving us a whole extra tub of chocolate as well. (although we couldn't eat all that much, so it ended up melting)
6) They let me grab water bottles from the mini mart in the lobby without charge, just telling them we r platinum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi TwinJessica!
Thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time to fill it out! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like our associates did a great job of meeting your expectations! As a Marriott brand, we totally love our Platinum and Elite customers and glad that you were able to enjoy all of the benefits. We hope that you will return, soon!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

So nice to stay at a property that has preserved history from the moment you walk in. Bell hops were attentive and friendly. Front desk staff were helpful, however seemed not to be long at job and went out of the way to get the answers and please the guest. Possibly a little more training is what needed to be. Room was spacious and clean. Had to be moved from first room, view was not what was booked, view of hotel next door and street construction! Was looking for a view of Lake Michigan. Although not sure if that even exists after walking around property.
Always in a Renaissance property you can experience clean and spacious for rooms. The bathroom was incredible! Nicer than mine at home and looked forward to getting ready in the AM and relaxing in the bath tub in the evening. All rooms don't have bath tubs, you have to ask for.
Great tech gadgets, Iphone docking station as well as large flat screen TV for my hubby, not so much me with the exception of the news and what was going on in the world. Again exceptional clean rooms, just like at home after your housekeeper leaves:) Food was just average, nothing to write home about and pricey for what it was. Location was not so desirable unless you want to do Chicago art and history museum and aquarium. Far from N. Michigan Avenue where the action seems to be, however a long walk in the AM will do. Architecture tour was a distance away as well. Loved that tour, recommend that tour! All in all price was not bad, however was speaking with another guest and found out that he was paying 70.00 less when booking with hotwire.com, not a happy person when I heard this. I guess it is Hotwire.com next time, bye bye Orbitz.

Room Tip: Check out view of room before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndySarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello IndySarasota!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Our team really takes these reviews seriously and I appreciate the feedback, especially about the staff. I will share this with them as we do have some relatively new ambassadors but I'm so pleased that they went out of their way to assist you.
Hope you will return, soon!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel, with the ambience of the old world. I was there last week for four nights. The hotel was clean, quiet and very comfortable! It is close to restaurants and other attractions. And to give you a sense of distance, it's only a one mile walk to Wacker Drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks, Ronald L, for taking the time to review our hotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed it and thought that it was clean, comfortable and a convenient location. I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
322 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference and stayed two nights. In terms of Chicago, this is an historic hotel with the advantage of a recent refurbishment that works very well. My room was spacious and included a good supply of coffee, easy to access plugs, a really effective shower and an iPod dock/player. Bed was very comfortable, if a little on the soft side and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Very good location as well as being easily accessible from O'Hare by public transport (Blue line to Jackson, change to red line, one stop to Harrison and it's about three blocks walk - about 45 mins door to door).
No pool but lovely jogging areas just across the street.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your review - all the way from Dublin!
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and especially proud that you found the team to be friendly and accommodating! I appreciate that feedback and will share it with the team.
I hope you will consider us again if and when you come to Chicago.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Attended a conference and stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Historic downtown location with modern, recently remodeled rooms. Service is good and a terrific location; across from Grant Park and a short walk to the Art Institute, Millennium Park, and Lake Michigan. Fitness center is spacious. Didn't see a pool or hot tub. Overall, a good experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks, Mike from Seattle for the great review! I really appreciate you taking the time! We are quite proud of the hotel and glad you enjoyed not only the historic nature of it but also the modern, contemporary touches that make it unique.
Hope you will come back and visit again.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I won a gift certificate for a night at this hotel through a work raffle. Since I wasn't paying for the room, I just assumed my husband and I would get the bargain basement room on the lowest floor possible. We actually got a fabulous King room on the 20th floor with a view of the lake and the Museum Campus--a wonderful surprise. Being from Chicago, I remember when the hotel was closed for renovations and whoever was in charge sure did a good job! We had all the amenities you could want in a luxury hotel room and many we didn't even think of. The walls/floors must be very thick or sound insulated as I never heard any other guests. You can hear street traffic and since this hotel is right off Michigan Avenue, that includes some honking horns; but you are in the city and it's to be expected.

The staff was what really made the stay memorable. I stay in hotels fairly often and the staff at this hotel really did go above and beyond. From the front desk staff to the bellhop, to the doorman, everyone was engaging and friendly, not just to us to everyone they interacted with. Whoever trains this staff does a great job! It's a fantastic location for doing a lot of touristy things in the city as it's right across the street from Grant Park and a short walk away to the Museum Campus. And Lou Malnati's is only a few blocks away. BONUS!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Ann K,
Thank you so much for your review!!! What a fun way to start out the summer with a STAYCATION in Chi-town.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially happy that you found the staff to be engaged and GREAT, overall! WE really do take great pride in our team and the service that they try to provide our guests.
I hope you will come back again, soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing