We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #40 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on a weekend and had a great experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly on all occasions. The room was very nice with marble tiling throughout and a very comfortable bed. We were told the hotel was completely upgraded in 2008 and it certainly shows. We had a 7th floor room with a view of Grant Park in the spring. Breakfast in the restaurant was very well prepared. Did not eat at the restaurant at dinner, so cannot review. Cannot comment on price/value since we got a deal on Priceline which was well below even Travelocity rates. All-in-all what I would expect from a Michigan Ave 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view across the street of the park, the east side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hello Papabuck49,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! I'm especially thrilled that you mentioned our staff as we take great pride in the team that we have here at the Blackstone! Hope to see you again here, soon!
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    555
    128
    41
    26
See reviews for
303
537
113
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Love/hate here.

Gorgeous and recently renovated. Looked great. Enjoyed looking at the building.

The bed was superb.

The linen and towels were dingy. Holes in the linen. I wouldn't stay away because of this--everything else made up for it. Maybe they were trying to stay away from chemicals in the wash cycle, but I do at home and my linens are white.

The chair in the room was horribly uncomfortable. Fellow folks at the conference all complained about their chairs. Apparently they were selected because of looks and no one actually sat in them before they were ordered.

The bathroom was gorgeous like the hotel. I only wish that the shower had a door so the heat would stay in. The robe and the Aveda products made up for it.

The food provided at the conference by the hotel was tasty, but... WHERE WERE THE VEGETABLES???? I was really surprised by the dirth of greens. I would never ever hold a conference there because of the food. I would absolutely go elsewhere.

But...the biggest issue of all was the trains. I'm from the country where the only sound I hear is the song bird or mooing cow. The trains were nonstop. If you like quiet, find someplace else. But this is Chicago. Maybe you always hear trains.

Room Tip: Get a lake view! Jump up and down until they give you a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AdamGhost -
Thank you so much for your review!
I very much appreciate the feedback - both the positive as well as the not so....
I can assure you we are not against serving healthy food or greens - we serve what the meeting planner wants us to serve! Would love to know which meeting you were with so I can follow-up and make sure that is the case.
I live in downtown Chicago and can assure you it is difficult to get away from the noises of the City - one of the things we learn to love around here! Let us know the next time you come to visit and we will get you a "white noise" maker to place in your room!
Happy traveling and best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Be ready to pay for everything coming to this place, or any other 4-5 star hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. I came here to be close to a venue I needed to attend for a Real Estate Class. I've learned that staying in many 4 star hotels, you pay more, but you get much less. I'm going to start down grading more because most of the lower star places have more amenities to offer, such as Travelodge. Parking was $55 per night. I didn't realize that the parking was so expensive. I would take a train next time to be more economical. Internet was $13 per day with poor service, and dropped connections. The signal was poor in the area, so our cell phones were not working. The restaurant Mercat had poor service. We had to wait so long to be seated that we ended up leaving. The best thing about our room was the bathroom. It was relatively larger than normal and uniquely decorated. Our screen TV in the room was very small and far away from the bed. We didn't get some of our favorite cable channels that we are used to having. Lots of noise and whistle blowing the first night we got there. Worst of all, housekeeping stole my husband's necklace and lied about it of course. Word to the wise.....hide your valuables. No hotel is ever safe from thieves, not even the employees that work there are are always trustworthy. I'm disappointed with my stay. If I had to do it again, I'd go to a Travelodge or somewhere else cheaper that had more to offer. The rates are often times less expensive in a 3 star or less hotel, and they offer free continental breakfast, free or reduced parking rates, better restaurant selectivity, as well as complimentary internet. Blackstone unfortunately does not have these things. I've been to Lombard, IL and paid $70 per night and the room was much larger, had lots of furniture, a kitchenette, and a lot more to offer. My best advice is to stay somewhere else that offers more bang for your buck even if you have to be situated further away from your venue.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tighny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Tighny38,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the property and provide your feedback! I really appreciate it.
I am sorry and disappointed that your expectations were not met! Our team will definitely review your comments and make adjustments to our operation.
Our parking fee is typical of what you will find in downtown Chicago - definitely a surprise if you are not aware - but its also on our web site.
Once again, thank you for your comments.
Happy traveling!
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights for a workshop/conference and had a good experience overall. The hotel is a little bit far away from the action, but Grant Park is right across the street. However, I was on the 8th floor and could hear the train every night so it was somewhat difficult to sleep. The hotel decor is very unique. I loved the historic details mixed with modern furnishings. The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the desk area was very roomy. Although I loved the bathroom, I was surprised that the towels felt cheap and scratchy. Also, there is no tub, just a wonderful large open shower. While this wasn't a big deal to me, it might to someone with kids. The service was absolutely great - my second night there I called the front desk and asked if there was a microwave on the property that guests could use and she said she would call me back. A few minutes later housekeeping came up with a microwave for my room (for no charge).
The only really negative thing I experienced was the Internet connection. They charge $12.95, which is par for the course in this type of hotel; however, it only goes from noon to noon (not 24 hours) and it's so slow it's ridiculous.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank shellbell757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi ShellBell757-
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it and very much appreciate the feedback.
Just so you know, we are in the process of upgrading our entire internet system and so should have plenty of band width for customers with plenty of devices in the not too distant future! I hope you will come back and enjoy it.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights. We were able to take the blue line CTA to a stop just a few blocks away and walk to the hotel. We were early but were greeted and offered immediate check-in. Our request to extend our stay by a night was immediately granted at the same discounted rate. All staff we encountered were gracious and accomodating. This beautiful, regal hotel feels comfortable and cozy at the same time. The rooms are modern, attractive and updated. The tapas restaurant is wonderful. The location allowed us to walk to everything, museums, miracle mile, Millenium Park, even Trader Joes. The rooms even have a refrigerator!
This is the only hotel i will stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and comfortable on the seventh floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow Ronaraven,
Thank you so much for your review!!!!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the property and that we exceeded your expectations.
WE are extremely proud of our staff and love the location of the hotel, as well.
I hope you will come back and visit again.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wife and I went for a short trip and stayed for 1 night. Took the Train in from Midway, and maybe a 5-10 min walk to the hotel. We actually were alittle early and the friendly staff allowed us to check-in early and even granted us a Lake view upgrade corner room. The lobby does appear to be in need of some new carpet and maybe a design consultant to figure out the awkward check-in desk / concierge area. However there is much to appreciate in the older characteristics of the hotel. The Room was very comfortable and I probably spent the first hour just admiring the beautiful city and lake views from our corner room. Being located on Michigan was very convenient as we were able to either pickup a bus right out the front door or walk to the nearby art institute. We decided to take the short bus ride down Michigan to Mag Mile and do some walking / Shopping. After we enjoyed the Architectural tour offered near the Wrigley building on the River. We decided to try the onsite restaurant run by some Iron Chef apparently. It was a Tapas style restaurant (Mercat) which was very busy for good reason! It was amazing. However be prepared as Tapas come our quick and the bill goes up even quicker :) , Truly unique and worth ever dollar. Breakfast was also served at the Mercat restaurant onsite and MR gold and Plat will receive a voucher for up to $14/Each which will get you Coffee/Orange juice, Steel-cut oatmeal with all the goodies, and hash browns. They also do serve breakfast in the lounge during the week.

Room Tip: High Floor with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello, John A,
Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed the Blackstone for your short Chicago getaway!
I very much appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know that we just changed out the carpet that was looking a little worn - good eye!
Hope to selcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed a total of 5 nights. We walked to the Shedd Acquarium, the Art Institute, the river cruise and local restaurants. We wanted a low floor so we did not have a special view but we were fine with that. We paid a rate of $199 plus taxes for 4 nights and $100 more plus taxes for the 5th night.

Pros: Room 612 was quiet and had good water pressure. The in-house restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast. The conference I attended had good food catered. The staff were friendly and helpful. We liked the room.

Cons: They seem to have sprayed the linens with heavy perfume and we needed to have them changed. Wireless costs extra in rooms and others said it was slow (we skipped it). If you find stairs hard to use, there are a few you must navigate to get in and out of the hotel.

Silliness: Truly awful Starbucks- lousy coffee and limp baked goods. Business center off the lobby uses Macs so practice using the browser ahead of time if you want to print boarding passes and you usually use PCs. The shower is pretty but you have to stand under the shower head to turn it on. I had to cower in the corner to avoid being frozen or scalded.

Room Tip: Everyone says away from elevators and ice machines. We did that and we were fine. We did sometimes h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear LTPratt,
Thanks very much for your feedback! I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. So happy that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We will absolutely discuss your feedback with the team - especially the linen comment and Starbucks - both of those are certainly areas of opportunity and I appreciate the feedback.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing