We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect downtown Chicago hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #38 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect downtown Chicago hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights. We were able to take the blue line CTA to a stop just a few blocks away and walk to the hotel. We were early but were greeted and offered immediate check-in. Our request to extend our stay by a night was immediately granted at the same discounted rate. All staff we encountered were gracious and accomodating. This beautiful, regal hotel feels comfortable and cozy at the same time. The rooms are modern, attractive and updated. The tapas restaurant is wonderful. The location allowed us to walk to everything, museums, miracle mile, Millenium Park, even Trader Joes. The rooms even have a refrigerator!
This is the only hotel i will stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and comfortable on the seventh floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow Ronaraven,
Thank you so much for your review!!!!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the property and that we exceeded your expectations.
WE are extremely proud of our staff and love the location of the hotel, as well.
I hope you will come back and visit again.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    548
    125
    41
    26
See reviews for
298
533
107
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wife and I went for a short trip and stayed for 1 night. Took the Train in from Midway, and maybe a 5-10 min walk to the hotel. We actually were alittle early and the friendly staff allowed us to check-in early and even granted us a Lake view upgrade corner room. The lobby does appear to be in need of some new carpet and maybe a design consultant to figure out the awkward check-in desk / concierge area. However there is much to appreciate in the older characteristics of the hotel. The Room was very comfortable and I probably spent the first hour just admiring the beautiful city and lake views from our corner room. Being located on Michigan was very convenient as we were able to either pickup a bus right out the front door or walk to the nearby art institute. We decided to take the short bus ride down Michigan to Mag Mile and do some walking / Shopping. After we enjoyed the Architectural tour offered near the Wrigley building on the River. We decided to try the onsite restaurant run by some Iron Chef apparently. It was a Tapas style restaurant (Mercat) which was very busy for good reason! It was amazing. However be prepared as Tapas come our quick and the bill goes up even quicker :) , Truly unique and worth ever dollar. Breakfast was also served at the Mercat restaurant onsite and MR gold and Plat will receive a voucher for up to $14/Each which will get you Coffee/Orange juice, Steel-cut oatmeal with all the goodies, and hash browns. They also do serve breakfast in the lounge during the week.

Room Tip: High Floor with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello, John A,
Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed the Blackstone for your short Chicago getaway!
I very much appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know that we just changed out the carpet that was looking a little worn - good eye!
Hope to selcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed a total of 5 nights. We walked to the Shedd Acquarium, the Art Institute, the river cruise and local restaurants. We wanted a low floor so we did not have a special view but we were fine with that. We paid a rate of $199 plus taxes for 4 nights and $100 more plus taxes for the 5th night.

Pros: Room 612 was quiet and had good water pressure. The in-house restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast. The conference I attended had good food catered. The staff were friendly and helpful. We liked the room.

Cons: They seem to have sprayed the linens with heavy perfume and we needed to have them changed. Wireless costs extra in rooms and others said it was slow (we skipped it). If you find stairs hard to use, there are a few you must navigate to get in and out of the hotel.

Silliness: Truly awful Starbucks- lousy coffee and limp baked goods. Business center off the lobby uses Macs so practice using the browser ahead of time if you want to print boarding passes and you usually use PCs. The shower is pretty but you have to stand under the shower head to turn it on. I had to cower in the corner to avoid being frozen or scalded.

Room Tip: Everyone says away from elevators and ice machines. We did that and we were fine. We did sometimes h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear LTPratt,
Thanks very much for your feedback! I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. So happy that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We will absolutely discuss your feedback with the team - especially the linen comment and Starbucks - both of those are certainly areas of opportunity and I appreciate the feedback.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my top pick when doing business in Chicago. It is in a great location, walking distance or short cab ride to many great restaurants and shopping areas. The restaurant is really good (See separate review). Club level lounge has a nice hot breakfast and good options every morning. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. I'm not a big fan of the "rainforest" shower head, but for those that do, that's what you'll get. Aveeda toiletries are a nice touch. If you have any mobility issues I suggest you call ahead and ask if they can accomodate you. This is a historic building and I did not see a ramp/elevator around the entrance and it has many steps. I imagine it is ADA compliant, just didn't see anything to help in the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miosoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your review!!!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the property!
You are correct about the historic part of the building, but we do have an alternative entrance to the building which leads directly to an elevator for those that are unable or prefer not to use the steps.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

First, the good: the staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable, the shower excellent, the price reasonable, the location unbeatable. The bad: the room was dark and inadequately lighted, the plumbing didn't work right (the nominally cold water was often hot!), and the lights were operated by very confusing combination on/off and dimmer switches that we hadn't completely figured out how to use even after two days. The hotel should provide an instruction manual!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear APM_01 -
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am sorry you have mixed feelings about the hotel, but thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful!
I would love to know what room you were in as it sounds like there is some sort of problem and we would like to be able to fix it! I know the lighting dimmer switches seem difficult - we could have easily given you a quick overview which would have made it so much easier.... I'm sorry you found them to be difficult and found the room to be dark!
I hope that you will give us another try as it seems that you loved the location and many other aspects of the stay.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have stayed here quite a few times. Old Chicago charm throughout the property. Rooms have been re-done and nice high-quality as you'd expect in the higher end Marriott hotels. A little bit out of the way from the action and not very many restaurants right around the hotel. Walking 5-6 blocks towards the colleges you can find more dining choices. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
HI Larry 2810-
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you will visit us again, soon.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent last weekend in Chicago and stayed at The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel. On entering the hotel the reception area is very dark and shabby looking.
The receptionist are behind black plastic looking boxes, making them look like they are on a gameshow. It was not welcoming reception that we encountered, the receptionist had to question how many nights we were stay and if we needed one or two rooms, so there was obviously a lack of attention from the hotel when we booked. The room we were given was of good size, and the bathroom was huge.They give you Aveda toiletries in the bathroom, but then rough very small towels. Unfortunately walking around this hotel, I felt there was lack attention to detail,on a lot of levels.Overall the staff seemed as those every thing was to much trouble for them, the door staff were very good those at answering any question you had and very polite. Chicago a great city but disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EpsomShaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear EpsomShaza.
I am soooo disappointed that you were disappointed by the hotel! What really bothers me is that you found the staff to not be friendly and hospitable - which is absolutelty unacceptable! We will absolutely follow up and share these comments as we generally are known for pretty friendly team members!
The reception area "pods" are the newest thing in hospitality - lots of hotels are getting away from long Front Desks so that the associates can come out from behind the computer area to interact with customers - Its funny you say they look like a game show, because they do! I can assure you they are not cheap plastic - they are actually made of leather - but certainly the great thing about our world is that we all have different, varied opinions.
I would love the opportunity to welcome you back and have another chance to make a better impression. I hope that you will consider it.
Best regards,
Kim C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#125 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing