We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Ranked #37 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the location”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I generally love Renaissance hotels. The Mercat restaurant here was the best attraction. The room was comfortable, quiet, though small, and the lighting in the bathroom not adequate for makeup application. My frequent guest preferences were not mentioned or fulfilled, kept getting fewer bath linens each day. The walls in the bathroom have a glossy nay wall paper which had ugly white splash marks under the towels. Had to request my amenity 3 times over 3 days, they kept forgetting.

Due to a hip problem the stairs make navigating this hotel difficult for me. there are some work arounds if you can get someone to show you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi BP Beth,
Thank you so much for your review. I would love to get some additional feedback from you regarding your stay so I can follow up and see what your guest preferences were and why we didn't fullfill them as well as your amenities. Our team is generally very in tune with those things so I very much apologize!
Our hotel is a historic building and you are correct, if you don't know where the elevators are it appears that there are only stairs to get from certain floors. Let me assure you that is not the case!
Please let me know the next time you come to Chicago - we would love the opportunity to welcome you again and make this your favorite Chicago destination.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    559
    130
    41
    26
See reviews for
305
546
113
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visited this property over the weekend, Feb 23rd & 24th. The lobby was packed due to what I'm assuming was a larger event held in the ballroom. The check-in experience was pleasant, front desk associate was friendly and upbeat. Used my name several times and sent us off with a smile. The guest room was great aesthetically, but had its quirks.

Overall our stay experience was average at best.

We experienced some inconveniences during our stay:
-The ice machine on our floor (19th) was non-functioning
- Couldn't get the shower above luke warm (not having a shower door to help capture the heat didn't help much). The water was cold enough to force my fiancee to wait until we returned home to shower.
-The walls are pretty thin. I could hear the adjoining room pressing the buttons on their microwave and having low volume conversations.
-Housekeeping staff attempted to clean our room prior to our check-out time, which I found frustrating (mentor moment here for the Housekeeping Manager on property).

Overall, the property is beautiful and the rooms are very unique in their decor. If I was asked to recommend a property on the Mag Mile, unfortunately, I would not choose the Blackstone as my first or even second choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so very sorry that you found some things that were not up to par with your stay! I am unsure of what the water situation is - generally this is not an issue and we will be sure to get to the bottom of it! I will definitely pass your comments onto our Executive Housekeeper for his review.
Once again I appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and turn your opinion into one of greatest! Please contact me directly if you come back to Chicago.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very luxurious hotel. The bed is among the most comfortable of beds I have slept in at a hotel. Staff was friendly, although check in took forever, with only 3 people in line. Seemed like it should have been shorter, but I'm not going to get upset over something like that. Got a great deal on priceline, I would stay here again - - - although I am not crazy about the location. If it is your first time to Chicago, it is a good spot location wise, but if you like the bars on Rush st or the shopping on Michigan Ave, this is not close to those areas. If you want those areas, check out comporable properties like the Sofitel or the Westin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autiger3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Autiger,
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back! Our location is a little South of the areas you noted - but for some people they like it better being near beautiful Grant Park and the Museum Campus.
Happy traveling!
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our overall experience was A+.

The beauty and character of the hotel are reason enough to stay here; and when you add the staff, the Blackstone is a must visit. Before we arrived, the Social Media Team engaged us on Twitter (follow them @BlackstoneHotel), and when we walked in from the freezing Chicago air, the Front Desk Team made us feel like longtime family friends. We were wowed before we opened the door to our room, and the room did not disappoint. The comfy beds; wonderful linens; soft bathrobes; great workspace; spacious bathroom; and beautiful view made me want to move in permanently!

If you are undecided about where to stay in Chicago, I hope this review helps. The location is perfect, close to an "L" Station, next to Navy Pier, and close to Soldier Field.

The only, and I mean only, unflattering thing I can say is the internet service isn't the best, and the system's roaming partners didn't access correctly.

I have shared my opinion with many friends, and will stay at the Blackstone EVERY time I visit Chicago. Based on the impression created by the property and staff, I will find reasons to visit Chicago more often.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review!!! Not to mention how great the pictures are - awesome. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and am so happy that the staff met your expectations. There are alot of great looking hotels out there but we are really proud of our team who really make the Blackstone what it is!
WE hope you come back!
Thanks much,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is one of the really good ones in Chicago; nice, clean and classy. I have stayed twice as part of a business group at meetings. The rooms are excellent, particularly if you get a view. The fitness room is plenty large, but way too heavy on weights, etc. and too light on arobic machines...so there can be quite a line in the morning. Also, a few machines were out of service when I was there, adding to the issue. The meeting rooms/service are outstanding, if you have the need for one. It is a good enough location, but a tad far south for most things. Also access to the CTA is bad. That being said, the location is safe, clean and neat.

Room Tip: I had a high-floor view of the lake, but many rooms of course, face buildings. Try to get a lake-fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveTexas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Dave Texas,
Thanks so much for writing a review, we really appreciate it! I'm so glad that you enjoy the hotel and have been a return guest. I do apologize for the machines being out of order and will certainly look into it to be sure it doesn't happen in the future.
We hope to welcome you back again, soon!
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
200 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Large, modern, stylish rooms with good working space, large bathroom etc. Quite a different style to this hotel, with a spanish tapas theme for the restaurant and bar (serving good food & great spanish wine). Restaurant is a bit simple but this is very typical spanish. Service is good throughout the hotel. Good sized gym and a very nice executive lounge on the 23rd floor. Excellent conference facilities with well layed out rooms. Nothing to complain about so all in all a good, different styled hotel not far from the water. Good for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to get into the 23rd floor with access to the very good exec lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
HI RichardU -
So glad you enjoyed the hotel! We take great pride in the historic but stylish hotel that we have along with our terrific staff. So glad you enjoyed the restaurant, as well! It is an Jose Garces, Iron Chef restaurant which makes it even more unique!
We have to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My room was perfect - large and super comfortable bed, wonderful linens, plenty of space, gorgeous bathroom. My only complaint might be that the view was bad, and the shade (curtains could not be drawn) was either down for privacy (and then the room was dark) or up for no privacy (and then the room was light). I would have preferred an option that gave privacy during the daylight hours without being in darkness.

Since I am not a person who spends a lot of time in my room per se (so sleep quality is important), I would definitely stay here again. Location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks Ms. Parker,
We appreciate the review on the hotel! As with most downtown hotels, you have some rooms that have fabulous views and others that aren't so great..... please let me know the next time you come to Chicago - I would love for you to experience a great view! WE appreciate you taking the time to review the property and happy that you found so many things enjoyable about it.
Best regards,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,854 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Property: Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover a legend with the revival of historic Blackstone, A Renaissance Hotel in Chicago! Meticulously restored to its original grandeur, the acclaimed Blackstone Hotel is back with 332 unique and luxurious guestrooms. Once hailed as "the premier hotel of Chicago" and the "Hotel of Presidents, the staff is eager to welcome you back to this Landmark, and share a story or two with you from our rich history. What will be your story? The Blackstone. How Chicago. Legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing