We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #36 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Blackstone this past weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The room was really nice and clean, the service was excellent and the food at the restaurant (particularly the breakfast) was really good. I'm a Platinum Elite member and stay at a lot of Marriot Hotels, and this was one of the better ones I've been at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckettmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear ckettellman -
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you shared it with the rest of the Tripadvisor world! We hope to be able to welcome you back, soon!
Best regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love historic properties, and this hotel has a great facade. It's interior, however; is very modern.

Our room had great interior design, with a comfy king bed and all the amenities you would expect from an upper-scale hotel. There was a small fridge, which was great, as many hotels aren't providing them these days. We also had a great view of the lake from our room. I especially liked the large bathroom, but the only strange part was that it had pocket doors that were frosted rather than a proper thick door. Might be slightly awkward if you aren't really close with your traveling companion.

The location was great, just a short walk to the Shedd and the Museums. Valet parking was 55/night, which is pretty standard for downtown Chicago.

The staff was friendly, and the valet parking staff were more than accomodating with our car going in and out of the garage a few times during our staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeLiElHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks so much, mPeterson.
We take great pride in the property - it's a great mix of history with some contemporary stylish aspects! I am so pleased that you found the team to be helpful and friendly - that is really what it is all about. I hope you will visit with us again.
Best regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We came into Chicago about 2 weeks before Christmas to shop and see the sights on the Mile. and meet up with other family from Detroit. Booked our rooms thru Priceline and got a great rate. I've never payed full price in the Loop and haven't been disappointed yet. High Class Hotel...Old school Chicago with Modern updates. We all wished it had a swimming pool, but we stayed busy so it didn't really matter too much. Close to the museums and a short walk to the CTA red line for a fun ride north to river area. Cabs are out front all the time. I would grade this hotel a B - B+

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_like_to_swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello I_like_to_swim!
With a name like that - no wonder you were disappointed that we don't have a pool! And for that I am sorry - but we do have a fabulous fitness center. I am very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness as that is certainly a focus for the entire team.
I hope that you will visit us again.
Best regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary 12/30-1/2. The loop location is great, two blocks from Lake Michigan, 5-6 from the Art Institute and Millenium Park. It is a little south in the loop, but we were able to walk everywhere. And even if we didn't want to walk, with it being right on Michigan Ave, there were a number of cabs that were easy to catch. We walked from the River North area and also back from Navy Pier. It was well over a mile or two, but not bad, nice way to see the city. We were also able to walk to Willis Tower. The room was very well decorated but no room ammenties, such as bottles of water. The sheets on the bed were extremely scratchy and we had trouble sleeping the first night. We also had problems with the quietness of the room. The heat was very loud and rattled when it kicked on. We could also hear our neighbors pretty well. Our view was facing 3 brick walls in between buildings out to loading docs and dumpsters. The restaurant in the hotel is well known and the breakfast menu was great. We also went to the bar one night and the drinks were great, but VERY expensive. We drove to Chicago and the valet cost $57.00/nt. Don't pay it. There is a parking lot less than one block up on the same corner (accross from the hilton) and we paid $65 for 2nights. Our car was out in the elements but it was so easy to get too, that we could check on it as we walked by.

Overall the hotel wasn't luxery, but we got a deal through sniqueaway.com and I didn't mind staying there for the price we paid. Don't pay full price or you'll definitely get ripped off. This is definitely an average hotel...nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the Lake side, facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Janelle,
I am so sorry that you didn't thoroughly enjoy the Blackstone Renaissance! I very much appreciate your comments and will certainly review them with our team including the scratchiness of the linens and the noise in the room.
You are absoluetly correct about the price of parking - most hotels do not have their own and rely on outside companies - I can assure you that what we charge is the going rate for downtown Chicago!
I wish you would consider another visit to the property!
Best regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a very good rate, and the experience was fantastic for the price. The hotel is clean and everything is of great quality. It is really close to major attractions of the city and the service is of top level.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neniinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear neniinabox,
We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review! I am especially happy that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you will consider a return trip some day.
Best regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This was my fourth stay at The Blackstone. We've stayed a the Hilton, the Palmer House, and the Silversmith. If you are looking for a place south of Wacker, you may want to consider this property!
The entire staff is incredibly courteous and genuinely interested in improving your experience. The deco in the lobby will give you a taste of historic Chicago while the guest rooms brag über contemporary comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ces92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just got back from 7 nights at The Blackstone. This was our second stay here this year and I just had to write about them. We LOVE this hotel. Pay a little more to be upgraded to one of the top floors so you have access to the lounge on the top floor. Brekafast in the morning and snacks in the afternoon (could be dinner). Plus wifi. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The location works for us as we are close to the park and the red line. Just a few blocks further for the blue line. We highly recommend The Blackstone for your next trip to Chicago!

Room Tip: Try for a lakeview. You will LOVE the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 192 in Chicago
1,992 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#42 of 192 in Chicago
1,502 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $148 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing