We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #39 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brand New Old Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Only been open four years after millions of dollars have been spent to bring this grand hotel back to a 4-star hotel in a 5-star location. Close to Art Institute, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, and Millennium Park. Closed for 4 years to re-decorate the entire hotel , this place is great. An east view over looks Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain, Soldier Field ( Bears play here) and Lake Michigan. Can not get any better than that.

Room Tip: Lake Michigan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    575
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
322
555
117
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding- therefore were able to see multiple rooms. Decorations are a blend of modern and traditional. Seems to be newly re-decorated. Very clean! The handicapped room with connecting room is very nice. Some rooms are smaller than others for the same price. Can't beat the location- walking distance to the lake and easy to get a cab for further distances.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Blackstone is a great hotel to stay in for a short visit to Chicago. It is located across from Grant Park and our room had a view of the city, Buckingham Fountain, and the lake The weekend was jam packed with both the air and water show and the Chicago Bears preseason game, so it was wonderful to be centrally located and within walking distance to all the activities. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: high floors and corner rooms offer the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindasue06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was my 3rd trip to Chicago this year, my friend's first time, and I got us booked in the Blackstone off of Priceline.
I had read some info in this historic hotel after winning it and just the history alone about this landmark made me impressed and interested in staying here. We flew into Midway, got us each a 3-day transit pass for $14 and took the Orange Line "L" to Roosevelt station and it was a nice, easy 4 block walk up Wabash to Balbo. Check-in was great. We could not believe the decor in the lobby. It did not at all have a feel of a chain hotel. Now although others complained about the slow check-in, I liked the fact that it was not a long counter that is seen in other hotels. There were 3 different kiosk type counters and the staff were terrific. I till cannot get over the cool feel of the lobby. There is a gold sofa in front of a pool table. There is a Navigator who will help you with any info you need.
The room we got was a Room With A View and what a view of Buckingham Fountain and Lake Michigan. The room was spacious, clean, had a mini fridge in it. There is a Starbucks at street level but only stayed open til 6pm, which made no sense really. The area does get quiet at night, but it is safe to walk up Michigan Ave as there are people still walking around. We never did feel unsafe walking anywhere around The Loop area at night.
If you like a comfy, quaint place then The Blackstone is the place. The staff are all so nice and fun to talk to as well. I seen many people just lounging around in the lobby on the many old style chairs and sofas. It is a hotel with a nice comfortable feel. And to know that this was THE hotel to stay at back in the day. That was a cool impression as well in a city with a ton of history.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Art Institute, Willis Tower, Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and/or Field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I travel way too much and get jaded about hotels.
A chain hotel it is not. It has the feel of a boutique hotel. The bed was wonderful and the room was a nice size. I don't care how nice the rest of the hotel is, I detest small rooms.
It's in a great downtown location.
I had good cell service in my room, but the banquet room our meeting was in had NO service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenjoyce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wish I could write a more positive review, since staff try hard and there is (contrary to post below) cell coverage and wireless. (However, my wireless connection cut out hours before its expiration, during an online presentation I was making--very inconvenient, to say the least.)

PROS
--Interesting to stay in historic property
--Starbucks in lobby (tho doesn't have food boxes, a problem since no room service between 11 and 5)
--Good bed
--King room was spacious
--None of noise issues mentioned below (mid-level floor on side street)

MIGHT BE PRO OR CON FOR YOU
--Small, dark lobby
--Weird assortment of furnishings (not so much charming/eclectic as odd)

CONS
--Absolutely no view from many rooms--even though Platinum, was given room with view only of Hilton rooms across street
--Business center was closed, no airline kiosk in lobby--had to print one-page document from front desk clerk's computer
--Desk light out, a big problem given darkness of room

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My dad and I recently stayed here for a night during a trip to Chicago to tour the city and see a Cubs game, and really enjoyed staying at the Blackstone. The room itself was great--very large and comfortable with a large TV and comfortable bed. The bathroom is very "cool" with marble floors and walls and a large walk-in shower. (The shower doesn't have a door though, which is a little odd at first). The bathroom is very large too. The only downside to note about this hotel is, for tourist purposes, it was a little far away from the river and more of the Michigan Ave. attractions that you will be looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 190 in Chicago
1,943 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,026 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,983 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing