We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #39 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Prior to arriving in Chicago, I called the Blackstone to check on room type, etc since I had booked on Priceline and I wanted a room with a view and a king sized bed. The woman I spoke with at the desk was very helpful and did not speak to me as some hotels would because I had booked on Priceline. After the conversation, I was impressed with the service had had high expectations for the level of service once I got to the hotel. During our conversation, I had asked how to get to the hotel from the Midway airport. I was told that I could take the train for only $2.25 per person or a cab for $30. I was also told that the nearest stop was only a couple of blocks away and that people walk it a lot. Well, those couple blocks seemed like miles and it was extremely hot. It would have been worth it to pay the $30 for a cab. Before my pre-check in conversation concluded, the hotel employee told me that she would notate our account to "surprise and delight us" since this was the first time my boyfriend had been to such a big city. Upon arrival, I was not surprised or delighted. The doorman didn't open the door, or help carry our bags up the stairs. The desk clerk was nice enough, but I didn't get a sense that she cared whether or not I was there.
I stopped by the "Navigator" desk (aka concierge) desk to inquire about good restaurants in the immediate area that were not overly pricey and had a fun atmosphere. I expected the concierge/navigator to ask questions, find out what we were looking for, and provide personal recommendations, but instead I was given a handout with a list of restaurants that were nearby. Not impressed with that service, she could have a least pointed out one or two on the list that were her favorites.
Upon entering the room, I immediately saw the great view that we paid $40 per night more for, along with the beautiful, somewhat modern decor and furnishings. I loved the room and could live there! The placement of the closet was odd, with a very long hallway that seemed to be a waste of space. Overall, the room and bathroom was spectacular.
One aspect of the hotel's location that I did not appreciate, was the number of bums/homeless people that hasseled us each time we went out at night. This led to a very uncomfortable time coming and going. The hotel is right across from the entrance to Grant Park, so using public transportation was a breeze.
The quality of the customer service did not match the quality of the rooms, hotel interior, or even the location. I think that if the employees were trained to make an effort to greet each guest, act like they cared the guests were there, and tried to make the stay special and memorable, this hotel would be nearly perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, we paid the $40 per night upgrade to get a view of Lake Michigan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CactusCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    575
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
322
555
117
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed two nights while attending a conference at the next door Hilton Chigaco hotel. The Blackstone is an historic hotel that has been very tastefully remodeled and well kept. Everything was very clean. The decor of the hotel is great - if you get a chance poke your head into the ballroom on the second floor - very cool.

The rooms were very spacious for an older hotel - the bathroom was quite large. I had a room on the 12th floor overlooking Grant Park. Relatively quiet for being on Michigan Avenue. The public rooms of this hotel are smaller, especially compared to the enormous Hilton. The concierge lounge is very small - maybe seating for 12 people. One of the skimpiest breakfast and snack selection I have ever encountered at a Marriott property.

It is about 10 blocks south of the Chicago river and the heart of the Magnificant Mile. Walkable, but it is a hike. It is two blocks from the red line that will connect you with the "loop" and also the blue line to O'hare airport.

My only issue with the hotel is the staff was just kinda there - nothing extraordinary. Great service when you asked for something but not outgoing at all. During the check-in process they barely greeted me and did not speak at all unless answering a question. Amenities were never explained, etc. Not a huge deal but usually high end properties are looking for ways to make your day. This is the only reason they did not get an excellent rating from me. Everything else was wonderful.

Room Tip: Definately want a room facing Grant Park - the rest will have a great view of other buidlings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Loved this hotel. Wonderful decor, clean, luxurious beds and bedding, central Chicago, can walk everywhere from here. Was pretty expensive though £160 per night room only in April. Wifi only free in reception too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloconnor0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the famous hotel where Al Capone (played by Robert De Niro) smashed the head of one of his gang members with a baseball bat at a banquest in the movie "The Untouchables". Today you still have the picture of Al Capone in the hotel rooms that reminds you of the gang culture of Chicago. While the picture of Al Capone may not bring a peaceful mind to you, this hotel actually is located in a pretty nice and quite segment of south Michigan Avenue. Millienium Park is right across the street. The room is not big, but nice and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

The only negative thing is the lack of food options. It only has one restaurant which closes pretty early at night. The Starbucks downstairs even close around 5 or 6 o'clock. So if you get hungry at night, room service is your only option unless you want to venture outside. Good thing is that around the corner is a Dunkin's where you can grab a quick bite.

If you have a car, don't park at the hotel which charges you $40-$50 dollars per night for valet parking. Just one block ahead, there is a parking garage that charges half the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Recently had the opportunity to visit The Blackstone this past week and enjoyed every minute of it. The lobby was amazing, and it really made us feel as if we had stepped back in time. They even had a pool table for guests to use. As for the rooms, no complaints and very comfortable. The wallpaper in the bathroom was unique, and the views from our room were breathtaking. If you get the chance, I definitely recommend you ask for a higher floor - you won't be disappointed. There is a Starbucks located on the bottom floor of the hotel which was convenient, as well as the hotel's restaurant (didn't have the chance to eat there.) You honestly can't beat the location of The Blackstone. It's right on Michigan Ave. and across from Grant Park.

This property is the epitome of a Renaissance property - both boutique and unique. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdghotelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Staff accomodated us with an early checkin, which was very nice. Hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable, not much view, but this is fairly typical for a city. The only downside to this hotel is the bar is always loud and crowded, too small for a hotel this size.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a nearby business convention and chose this hotel on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews. My wife traveled with me and we were not disappointed. Front desk was very welcoming and accommodated some special requests. Hotel staff was uniformly cheerful and courteous, and our room was relatively spacious and very clean, with an unusually comfortable king-bed and plush bedding. We also really liked the contemporary decor - a surprise considering the ornate "old world" building, lobby, and meeting areas. And, unlike some reviewers, we enjoyed the contemporary open-style glass shower and stylish bathroom fixtures. Minor issue with loud sound when nearby showers were in use in the morning, but it was a very temporary irritation. Location was great for visiting beautiful Grant Park and we walked to the Shed Aquarium, which was amazing, although overcrowded the day we went. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel but will next time because we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful view of Grant Park and the lake but we lucked out because it appears most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGerard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 190 in Chicago
1,943 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,026 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,983 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing