We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Swanky and Modern in a Historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I visited a friend staying here while I was staying next door at the Hilton and was immediately jealous, much more modern, contemporary, swanky and boutiquey hotel with better views of the fountain, Park and Pier. Aveda products in the nice, large bathroom, the beds were large and comfy, clean and modern decor with flat screen in room. My friend missed was in the shower when the wake up call was received, someone came in person and knocked on the door to be sure he was up, fantastic service!!! Very nice and good location!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank blubeach4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Really good experience for a downtown hotel - lots of things to fo within walking distance, incl. shoppping, running by the lake Michigan or just having a walk in the park nearby. Hotel is midsize, nicely appointed with mix of old (for the US ;-) and new decor, rooms are very quiet, clean, reasonably sized, very comfortable beds, pretty much everything you can ask for. Service for guests is ranging from good to excellent, service for group bookings we used and contact with manager top notch. Some drawbacks: shabby business center with PC's and internet connections as of 90's, wifi against quite substantial payment, breakfast is quite OK, though not to impress and that's pretty much it. If you are to stay downtown Chicago it is definitely a place to recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiedzmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to a priceline booking. Great hotel, location, staff, etc. We didn't get to try the Mercat restaurant, but the little cafe on the lower level had great drinks and outdoor seating. Definitely recommend and will be returning next time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in Chicago at this hotel for only one night through Priceline for only $95 a night. It was a steal considering the location and the beautifully appointed rooms. The decor of this hotel is now one of my top favorite that I have stayed at in the world. I loved the old world charm meets modern contemporary flare the rooms provided. The vaulted ceilings added an additional special touch.

Yes, the parking was $55 a night, but the location was close to all of the great restaurants and jazz clubs in the area. I highly recommend checking this hotel out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel was not as nice as expected for the money, but the room was a decent size and clean. However, the room service was TERRIBLE, dinner took over an hour and the chocolate chip cookies were not warm or chocolate chip as i was told, my meal was also cold and missing 2 items, the guy went back for the items but too so long i was done eating by the time he returned. Attempted room serivce again for breakfast getting a simple all american breakfast, it arrived at the last minute of the designated arrival time but again items were missing, no toast, juice or condiments!

There is no water or mini bar in the room so come prepared or purchase in the lobby.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank spartangrad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Old style MichiganAve hotel. Historic old building nicely renovated. Great value for money and a wonderful place to use as a base for a weekend in town. Rooms are really nicely updated and good size. Breakfast service needs some attention !

Room Tip: High floor lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I like to stay in grand old hotels, and this has a lot to recommend it. However, our first introduction to the hotel was being told parking for the night would be $55, which really seemed outrageous (I think I've had hotel rooms that cost less than this!). Rooms were nice, but ours had a large bump-out structure in the middle of the room, which necessitated that the windows be off-center, making for a rather odd appearance. Although we were on a high floor (21), there was a fair amount of noise from the nearby L (I at first thought it was wind off the lake, but then finally realized it was muted train noise--not terrible, but if you're a light sleeper it might be something to consider). The bathroom was quite large, but I had requested extra towels and there were only two skimpy towels in the room. Also, the next morning when I went to shampoo my hair I found that toiletries had not been adequately re-stocked, which was annoying. We had access to the concierge lounge, which wasn't all that appealing, either in terms of the food entrees or the decor. Breakfast was better than the evening 'dinner', but the tables were so tiny that you really couldn't adequately place two plates on them. We had drinks at the Mercat bar, which was a nice place--they serve tapas there, but we didn't have any. All in all, an average stay, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,310 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
354 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 192 in Chicago
2,007 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $137 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing