We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #36 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight while attending a work function. They hotel offered us a great rate. The location is great right on Michigan ave. The rooms were very clean and nice. the bed and linens were great, the bathrooms with Kohler fixtures and rain shower were great (5 star). The elevator lobbies on the floors were nice. The only thing that would need updating would be the lobby. Too much black. You are greeted by friendly doormen and as you enter the lobby there is a circular couch that they should do away with and the check in desks are off to the left and don't stand out. Valet parking was a bit steep $53.00 overnight (1 time charge - use your car as much as you like) when public overnight parking was $33.00.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    567
    131
    41
    26
See reviews for
309
551
115
653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at the Blackstone for New Years with some friends. We spent 3 nights there. I have stayed at many Marriotts, JW's and Renaissance hotels and this is one is definitely one of my favorites, with the Eden Roc in Miami ranking at the top of my list. I loved the modern decor. The marble in the room, the glasses, the comfy chair added great touches. I only had a few minor issues with The Blackstone. The first was that we couldn't get an upgrade to a lakeview room and had a pretty horrible view of the subway behind the hotel. They were nice enough to give my sister and I two rooms right next to each other, but my room was clearly bigger and had room for the comfy chair. My sister's room did not and she also had a sliding bathroom door which many people complained about, but she loved it. My next issue with The Blackstone is the towels. The quality was not that great. My final issue, which isn't really an issue, was the water spilling out of the shower. Not a real issue, but I've stayed at other Renaissance properties where the showers were closed in with glass, sans the tub, also in Chicago. My boyfriend complained of the cold air, every time I came into the bathroom and he was in the shower. LOL. But this again was a very minor issue.

I thought the area was great and very convenient to everywhere we needed to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job of cleaning our rooms daily.

All in all, I will definitely be staying at The Blackstone when I'm in Chicago next. I've been to Chicago 3 times in the past 6 months and I'm sure I will be back soon. Thank you Blackstone for just a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for New Year's Eve. We had a lovely corner room on the 15th floor with views of the city and the lake. The room was gorgeous and very clean. Hotel staff was super friendly. Icing on the cake was the unexpected fireworks show at midnight!

Higly recommend staying at this historic Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
214 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed one night for a work meeting. I was upgraded to a corner room on a high floor due to gold status with Marriott. Had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan, and the park across Michigan Ave from the hotel.

Large room was well appointed, and had a first for me, a TV integrated into the bathroom mirror, a little over the top right? Bathroom was shower only, which I prefer, and was large, clean, and well done.

Used fitness room, which was also above average for a property this size, plenty of workout options for most anyone.

Did not eat in hotel, but checked out the dining room, Spanish Tapas, pretty room, and was busy.

Also, hotel is in a great location for walking to sites and shopping in area

All in all, I cannot say anything negative, a solid hotel!

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed for 1 night because we were attending a work holiday party. Under the lowered block rate of $139, it was a steal. The room is very comfortable and warm, with nice fade up-down lights, a great bed, and an oversized chair with foot rest. The extra decor of books on Chicago and art were a classy touch. The bathroom is very large.

We were given a handicap room, which was odd, since we aren't, so the room was probably slightly adjusted to that (fold down bench in the shower, almost no counter space on the sink, and the closet's rack was so low, that we couldn't hang a suit bag on it). I'm sure that those inconveniences would be a non-issue with the regular rooms.

The adjoining restaurant serves an amazing brunch for just $25 per person. Tons of buffet food, a bloody mary bar, and then they bring out plate after plate of hot breakfast tapas. It's more than enough for a man with a healthy appetite and his wife. We didn't have lunch that day because we were still so full.

Room Tip: Specify you don't want a handicap room. Always ask for a higher floor if you can get it. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank editorsarah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I recently stayed here one night, and then the next night at the new Radisson Blu. Gold recognition here is good - we got a great view of the lake in a really nice end room. Rooms are nicely appointed.

The only reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars is because of the staff in the club lounge - they are quite aggressive about wanting to close up shop in the morning. I came up for breakfast at 8:45 with very little food left on the counter (they stop serving at 9:00). When I asked for a cereal bowl (there was only one left and we needed two) the lady said she would get one, but for me to remember they were closing in 10 minutes. At 8:55 they started carrying away the unreplenished food items. When I asked why they were closing early, they said they had to because there was no food left for them to put out. Moving away the coffee and orange juice dispenser before we could refill? C'mon, guys.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here July long weekend for two nights. It was a great way to start off our stay in Chicago. Gorgeous decor with a swanky bathroom. The bed was comfortable. There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel.

No bed bugs.

The staff were very professional. My husband forgot his toothbrush and they gave him a complimentary one. Valet parking is a little expensive but it's the price you pay for the convenience.

Most of the tourist attractions are within a 15-min walking distance. These included the Art Institute, Sears Tower, Tastes of Chicago, Aquarium and Metra. We got the CityPass which is highly recommended, especially on the July long weekend.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SniperMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Snipermonkey,
Thank you for your kind words regarding our historic hotel. It is always a pleasure to provide our guests with a stay to remember. Our staff pride themselves in being of as much assistance as they possibly can.

Our whole hotel had a large renovation in 2008 and I agree the décor is just delightful. Did you get chance to see the art exhibit? We always have various displays going on which can really tantalize your imagination.

With everything so close by, visits to Chicago can be really complimented by our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Blackstone in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,943 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,932 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing