We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence All Around”
Review of Sola - CLOSED

Sola
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Byron
Transit: CTA Brown Line Train - Stop: Irving Park
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellence All Around”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our first time back in some time, thanks to a Groupon offer. We went on a weeknight and it was fairly empty. The food, as always, was excellent and the service was top-notch too. We ordered copia and tuna, then we traded after each finishing half. Both were excellent. The molten chocolate cake ranks with the best desserts we've had. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruleLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I called in the afternoon to make a reservation and the person was so nice and friendly over the phone and ask if we are celebrating any occasion and I just told him just dinner with a friend
When we got there the host is so nice he asked if we want to hang our jacket and we told him it's fine. Our server was nice too we told him we r kind a bit in a hurry And told us that he's goin to tell the cook. They gave us complimentary salad lentil with Apple which is very very good we order crab cake and pulled pork which is very very good and a lot for me and my friend we also have our veggie burger which is good too. We got curious on dessert since it has ginger and candied ginger on red velvet cake and it was so good never thought it will go together we like everything on this restaurant and definitely will be back fast service and friendly staff keep up the good work thanks for the lovely dinner

Helpful?
Thank Shengph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been at this restaurant on many different occasions for both dinner and brunch, for date night, with friends, and once even on a group meal after a half marathon race.
The atmosphere at the restaurant is wonderful, from the minimalistic modern decor, to the long bar, and fireplace. The service is always impecable and the staff seems to generally enjoy working there.
The meals have always been exquisite, great twists on traditional pork dishes or steaks, but I have to say the fish entrees are the best. If you are there for brunch, I don't think you could go wrong with any offer on the menu, whether you are in the mood for something sweet, like pancakes, or for something more on the savory side, like eggs or wraps. The food is rich in flavors, but so well balanced. Their cocktails as well as dessert/after dinner drinks menu are delicious, could not pick a favorite.
If you are visiting the city, Sola is deffinitely worth a trip outside of the downtown area, just like I travel outside of my neighborhood just to have a meal here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikiterzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Variety on menu, consistent in quality”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our party of 8 was seated promptly per our reservation, but we waited for the staff for both our drink and entree orders. Appetizer options ran the gamut and were expertly prepared. Entrees arrived simultaneously and up to temperature, which was great considering we were a large party. Most in the group were very happy with their entree selections but the show stealer was the sorbet trios shared amongst the team at the close of the meal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good price, outstanding service, and the food was creative while also being very well crafted. The waitress was a bit over-friendly but knew the menu back and fourth and suggested drinks and menu items that fit quite well with the food. We sat outside because a 76 degree day in Chicago is an opportunity not to be passed up but the inside decor was very good as well. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKEIG847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing