We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool neighborhood bar”
Review of Zed451

Zed451
Reserve with OpenTable
Zed451 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Clark/Superior 1 block south of Chicago Ave.
Monrovia, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cool neighborhood bar”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I read about Zed 451 on TripAdvisor's "best rooftop bars," and was surprised to find that (a) it was right next door to the apartment we had rented for the week, and (b) while it is indeed on the roof, it's only two stories tall! In a city famous for its skyscrapers, I expected it to have a bit more altitude.

That being said, the rooftop bar is rather cozy, with lots of intimate couches and conversation pits. The cocktails and the food options were inventive and delicious.

We were equally surprised to learn, as we went back downstairs to leave, that the restaurant portion of Zed 451 is quite large! I'll plan to go back for dinner on my next trip to Chicago.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    108
    38
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very tasty interesting experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went here as a large business group. The term salad bar does not do this justice. There are amazing salads: roasted corn salad, Moroccan chicken salad, salmon ceviche, quinoa salad etc etc all very, very good. Also a great section with really fresh breads and nice selection of cheese. After all of this the meat starts.... They came around with skewers of Kobe beef, Asian pork belly, lovely salmon, swordfish and the list goes on. I thought that it was a fun way to eat and very very tasty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went there with friends.
Great food, nice selection.
The salad portion (often used to fill you up) was actually quite great, and some were outstanding
The meat was very good -

Service (waitress was great) servers of food were a bit amature - like (got food on me twice).
some combos just did not appeal that much
Crabcake Benedict - not as great as it sounded - come on - they had the best bacon some at our table ever had - just do the real thing!
Chicken and waffles - yuch

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinningforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great experience!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It has been awhile since i've visited Zed, but the experience was just as good as the last. Nice experience for Sunday brunch. $5 bloody mary's are one of my favorites in the city. The offerings on the harvest table have changed a bit with the season, i enjoyed the change up. The protein offerings were by and large the same from the past year. Outstanding, however. This really isn't the best place for vegans given the dominance of meat, but there are some offerings at the harvest table that would work. The rooftop is exceptional - we spent 30 minutes there sipping the bloody mary's before our table was ready.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventureloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Super trendy, great food & ambiance”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a fabulous time at Zed 451! The decor is ultra modern and trendy, but it still feels warm. The rooftop is a must---even if its a before or after dinner drink, its worth it for the view.
Its an upscale version of a Brazilian steak house, complete with a bar that features gourmet salads, a chartecurie bar (meats and cheeses) and two fabulous soups.
We had the option to sample 12 varieties of meats (chicken, pork, beef & fish). Make sure you pace yourself! It costs about $50 per person for the entire experience, which i thought was a deal for all of the food & the quality.
We wanted to go to a great restaurant, but still get dressed up and have a fun time 'on the town' without feeling stuffy and old. This was the place to be!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zed451? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing