We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Keep Up The Tempo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tempo Cafe

Tempo Cafe
6 E Chestnut St, 6 E Chestnut St, 60611-2012, Chicago, Illinois, Chicago, IL 60611-2012 (Gold Coast)
13129434373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 9,106 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, American, Cafe, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Keep Up The Tempo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tempo Cafe is all about delicious breakfast skillets, orange marmalade and quick service. I had a three egg omelet with cheese and it came in the customary skillet with potatoes underneath the fluffy omelet - perfect for sharing. The orange marmalade is not to be missed. Great place when you are on the go in Chicago!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetmnmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    227
    51
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Diner type food in downtown Chicago.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice breakfast place. We tried a three-egg omelette, which was pretty good and came in a small frying pan. The hash browns that came with it were under the eggs, which kept them from being crispy, but they were fine otherwise.

We returned for dinner. Limited menu. The pork chops were overcooked. I had a chicken breast sandwich with avocado. They seemed to be skimping on the salt, though. I haven't added salt to the table in decades, but their food seemed to need it, so it was a bit bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RealityChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“eat at the hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

breakfast was good if you like everything mixed together and of poor quality. Eggs were overcooked. Sausage greasy and the potatoes not edible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

our bellman at the Talbot Hotel, the fabulous Dwayne, recommended the Tempo. we had breakfast here our last morning in town-----great pancakes! super service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank capecodbob41545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cafe Experience -great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

On the corner, if the weather allows sit outside and enjoy the world passing by. The mark of a good restaurant is one supported by the locals. On our recent visit their were families with children and grand parents enjoying brunch in the Spring sunshine. The menu has many options for those seeking either a full breakfast or like us wanting something lighter. Regardless of what you order it will be cooked to order. Coffee is good with plenty of refills. Breakfast for two gave us change out of 20$. So great value and tremendous quality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rio W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tempo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing