We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers”
Review of Kuma's Corner

Kuma's Corner
Ranked #72 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We came here on a saturday and it was packed. We were told the wait was going to be 30-40 mins. Because it was our last day in chicago I didnt know where else to go so we decided to wait. After about 45 mins we ended up sitting at the bar. I ordered the Lair burger with poached pear, brie carmalized onions and mushrooms while hubby had the neurosis which had gouda mushrooms and onions. It was the best burger we've had! The meat was so juicy and the oortions were huge! Although we waited an hr and half for table and food it was totally worth the wait. I would recommend to not go during lunch or dinner times or if you're really hungry.

Helpful?
Thank Tammy1225
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    119
    29
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3,755 reviews
2,962 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“Not your average burger”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend had read about Kuma's Corner and we decided to give it a try. The atmosphere is definitely not a "Red Robin". The theme is heavy metal which goes right to the staff. We got there at just the right time, as we did not have to wait and sat inside. Very friendly and helpful staff, most of them with tattoos and looking like they just came out of a concert set the tone. The food was great. We started with the jalapeno poppers which are panko breaded and filled with chorizo cream cheese. They are served with a balsamic raspberry dipping sauce. The sauce is a perfect balance for the poppers. Then on to the burger. We picked the Kaijo burger which was dressed in blue cheese crumbles, bacon and frizzled onions. The burger was done perfectly and tasted great. Next time we go, I'm going to starve for a day and get the Slayer burger. Just looking at it will stop you in your tracks. Don't hesitate, make it a point to stop here. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen21096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge Burgers (10oz)”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Small corner bar with outdoor seating. Very loud with heavy rock music. Not as loud outside. Prepare to wait awhile to be seated as this place is known for the best burgers and mack & cheese. Kuma's Corner has been on the food channel many times and for good reason -- the burgers can't be beat, cooked to perfection. A MUST STOP IN CHICAGO!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth missing your flight”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We thought 2 hours would be enough to grab a bite before heading to the airport. Wrong! We waited in line for at least 45 minutes. We got seated outside...which was a great thing since it was so smokey (from the kitchen) inside. All the burgers are named after heavy metal bands, I don't recall the name of mine but had Pear and Havarti cheese.mThe server was great but told us the kitchen was running behind, undserstatement! Another 45 minutes later, still no food, we needed to leave and asked for the food in to go boxes. We didn't even see our food for another hour when we got to the hotel. Yes we did miss our flight and couldn't leave until early the next morning. It was SO worth it! The burgers were the best...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Burger Place”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a favorite of mine to go for a burger. The menu is is varied and each choice amazing!
The hamburgers are named after heavy metal bands and each one is a culinary experience. I love the mastadon that has bbq pork on it. The Kuma's with a fried egg is also great. The homemade chips are super yummy as well,never greasy.My friends love the mac and cheese with a varied and interesting list of mix ins,for example, sun dried tomatoes or green onion. There is a full bar and they have Jack Daniels on tap but I have not had any liquor. It is a very small indoor space and the lines are quickly wrapped around the block! Go early!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILteacher052000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuma's Corner also viewed

 

Been to Kuma's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing