We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ehhh”
Review of Gino's East

Gino's East
Ranked #150 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: For 50 years, the original Gino’s East has been offering the best deep dish pizza experience in Chicago. Since we opened our doors in 1966, we’ve shared millions of our signature golden-crust Chicago-style pizzas with Chicagoans, celebrities, and visitors from all over the world. Don’t believe us? The writing is on the walls! We’re world-famous for our tradition of letting all of our customers leave their mark on our restaurant. Come by and leave some graffiti, if you can find a spot, and see if you can find it next year! Gino’s Chicago-style deep dish is made the same way it was 50 years ago. We start with our signature, secret-recipe dough and top it with mounds of mozzarella cheese, fresh toppings, and our tangy tomato sauce. Our pies are slowly baked in seasoned cast iron pans until the crust is golden and flaky, then we serve it table-side, piping hot, right out of the pan. Our deep dish pizzas are loaded with so many toppings that we have cook them for nearly an hour. That’s also the reason we have to put the sauce on top; if we didn’t, the cheese would burn! But trust us, it’s worth the wait. We promise. Ask the people that agree that we are the best deep dish pizza in Chicago. Not sure what to order? Try one of our signature pizzas! The Meaty Legend is a carnivore’s dream, with pounds of pepperoni, special-recipe Italian sausage, Canadian bacon, and crispy bacon. The Chicago Fire is perfect for spice-lovers, with a layer of extra spicy Italian sausage, roasted red peppers, red onions, and jalapeno. Not a meat eater? Try our signature spinach pizza with a blend of fresh spinach and mozzarella cheese. And for the purist, we offer our patty sausage pizza, with a thick layer of our signature sausage covering the entire pie so you get tasty sausage in every bite!
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ehhh”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We asked several locals which was the best pizza. They all replied Ginos East or Lumalnatis. We picked Ginos East and was dissapointed. The atmosphere is great! It took and hour and a half to get our 2 small pizzas. Wea ach got one topping and they were $20 a piece. not worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    731
    374
    133
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ordered pizza to be delivered to our hotel. We had a group of twelve adults, so we ordered a variety of pizzas and toppings. They got everything right! The delivery was on time and everyone was pleased with the pizza. Nothing weird - no surprises. We had plenty of leftovers to send home.

This is not cheap pizza, but it is worth it. We spent about $160 without beverages, but the quantity and quality were very good. We will definitely order from here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilotmom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just average this time”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I love deep dish and thought this would be a fun place to take colleagues from out of town. The upstairs was packed and we were seated between two birthday parties - not exactly the best for a business dinner. The pizza takes about 1 hour, the wait staff weren't attentive and we were often without beers or soda, when the pizza finally came, the vegetarian had sausage chunks on it! Not a great experience at Ginos. The pizza is usually pretty good, but this time it wasn't worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriangleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
“Yumm”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Delicious deep dish (tried my friend's, normally not even a fan of pizza, but this was delish!!), service is wonderful, friendly, STRONG drinks (haha)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaSa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“the best pizza”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

i had read and seen this restaurant on man versus food, so had great expectations of the place, we found the pizza lovely and tasty, would definitely recommend, and cannot wait to return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baxterseacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's East also viewed

 

Been to Gino's East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing