We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed anniversary dinner”
Review of Sepia

Sepia
Reserve with OpenTable
Sepia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #298 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Randolph
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed anniversary dinner”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We wanted to love it so much. Assaulted by the bright lights, there was no room for a romantic setting. Food came out cold and was disappointing. High price tag and poor delivery. It took so long to get our food that we didn't want to return it and have to wait longer. After a very expensive meal that we didn't eat, we ended up going home and eating Chinese food left overs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    97
    41
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Special birthday celebration”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Seven of us celebrated someones special birthday and had a very enjoyable experience at Sepia. Everyone thought their meals were delicious. Our servers were very professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“One of my favourite business lunch places!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Enjoyed another business lunch at Sepia. The food is delicious and flavorful, with elegant presentation and very good service. Skatewing and vegetable soup were both outstanding. Good sorbet for dessert too. A little pricey, but that is expected.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A great culinary experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited shortly before Christmas 2012, for dinner. We'd booked the seats through opentable (we were visiting from the Netherlands so it was easier) and there was a moment of confusion when we arrived as the staff thought we were already there.
We were then promptly seated but had to wait an additional twenty minutes before someone came to take our order (with an apology).
Yet, after that initial faux-pas, the rest was more than smooth sailing. The food was exquisite (try to grilled calamari and the arctic char), the wine was very good and the service up to par. Definitely an experience that we want to renew when we visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas_Kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently did a "top chef" tour of Chicago visiting restaurants of many of the famous chefs. Sepia was clearly among the very best. Both fish and duck were outstanding. The food has subtlety and layers without being pretentious or too complicated. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was calming and fostered intimacy and conversation. This is a terrific place. I am also gluten free and the comments of others are correct, but on the other hand the information was accurate and helpful, which in my experience has not always been true at some of the best restaurants.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFKBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepia also viewed

 
Chicago, IL
 

Been to Sepia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing