We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best overall variety and quality in Little Vietnam”
Review of Tank Noodle

Tank Noodle
Ranked #617 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best overall variety and quality in Little Vietnam”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you are not going for Pho (if you are go to Pho 777), go to Tank Noodle. They have the best overall menu. Good quality and selection as well as great people watching. Too many favorites to list, but ask for assistance if you cannot decide. The menu can be overwhelming. Not for the service or atmosphere, but you go for the delicious and flavorful Vietnamese cuisine. Worth a trip!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoHarlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I love tank noodle- the pho here is simply delicious. Their service is prompt and the noodles come out fast. It is a no frills but delicous vietmanese shop. It is always busy because it has good simple food. Try their tank speciality pho and you will not be disappointed!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Onelove4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like sodium...”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I went to this restaurant with my boyfriend while we were in chicago and was really looking forward to something good considering the huge amount of good ratings this place got. Least to say, we we're very disappointed.

The price is approx. $8.00 per bowl so with tax and tip - minimum $10.00 per person.

With such a huge bowl I expected more noodle than 6-7 mouthfull. They are generous on the meat tho. The soup was a bit too salty and they also charge $1.50(no notification of such charge) for tea which is really stupid! You figure, with a soup base that's so salty, they'd give you fretote to clean you palate. No such luck.

The only upside was the attentiveness of the workers and the chopped chili peppers. Now for those who tend to add chili peppers, you don't have to worry about burning your eyes when you forget to wash your hands - yay!

Maybe it's because I've had real good pho and get to eat it at home. Maybe it's because the price will never justify the huge bowl with soup and little noodle idea. But all in all, from a Torontonian POV - this is definitely a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemon5ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best Pho shops in Chicago”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is my usual place to get reasonably priced Pho. It's not expensive and very delicious. It is even better on a cold chicago day. It has a large variety of classical Vietmanese dishes and the service is quick. This is the most popular place in the Argle area and it is because it is delcious. They also have boba drinks that you can order with many varieties including lychee, green tea, mango, etc.. I definitely will come back again and encourage you to do the same

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onelove4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Tank Noodle serves some of the best Vietnamese food in Chicago, and the quality is similar to that of good neighborhood restaurants in Vietnam. We especially love going there on cold Chicago days, when a bowl of steaming hot soup is most satisfying. In addition to Pho and other rice noodle soups, the restaurant offers an extensive menu of Vietnamese dishes. And the diverse clientele and communal dining makes for a wonderful and unique cultural experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Experienced_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tank Noodle also viewed

 

Been to Tank Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing