We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Ranked #57 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very nice hotel. We stayed for 6 nights. The hotel is nicely decorated and within walking distance of Wrigely which was a plus. Neighborhood was bustling with lots of places to eat and fun little shops. We had no problems with noise (4th floor right off the elevator). The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot with directions and which buses to take to get to certain places. The TV left a bit to be desired. The channels would not come in at all or when they did they were very broken up to the point you couldn't watch. We did mention it to the front desk but was not resolved. Beds were comfortable, pillows were nice. Breakfast consisted of bagels, toast, assorted pastries, bacon, eggs, cereal, fruit and assorted juices. Perfect to grab and go. The fridge in the room was a plus. Used the microwave once and it cut out after one use. All in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Tanya H.,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

First of I am glad that your stay overall was enjoyable. I apologize for the microwave and the television issue. After a recent storm, we have had issues in a few rooms and have been working with Comcast to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. If you are planning on coming back to our property, please do not hesitate to contact me. I would love to make it up to you during a future stay.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Best Western Hawthorne Terrace is located in a really fun neighborhood. It's an easy walk to the El, Wrigley Field, the lake, DePaul, and many great casual restaurants. We stay in one of the suites in the annex building next door, and the suites are awesome. There's a parking garage next door that is reasonable and safe. The breakfasts are ok, what you'd expect for a free breakfast, probably. This is the only place we stay when visiting this part of Chicago for all of these reasons; I strongly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the annex building, above the 2nd floor (quieter.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGipper411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi The Gipper 411,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

nice old hotel..price value is too high,for the rest very nice hotel and good internet and bed, nice breakfast but no place to sit .. rooms are big and except the noise of the individual air condition that not fun to use ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nir e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi nir e.,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologize for the noise of the air conditioner. I hope that this issue did not take away too much from your overall experience at our hotel. If you are planning on coming back to our property, please do not hesitate to contact me. I would love to make it up to you during a future stay. Also, if price is an issue please contact me as well. I assure you that we are priced competitively but if this keeps us from being an option for your travel plans, please let me know.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to Wrigley Field you can walk to the games! The rooms are comfortable and clean. Also there are some great restaurants in the area and Caribou Coffee shop just down the block with some great coffee It is also only a couple of blocks from the lake. Its a good location if you like to walk in the city. Some of the Desk Clerks are very helpful and will help with setting you up for a fun day some are just there. The breakfast needs some work as sometimes it was stocked and sometimes it was not and some healthier choices would have been good. For the price of the hotel room I expected more. Also whether or not it encourages you or discourages you this is an area of rainbow flags and parades. I guess when it comes down to it for the price of the room I guess the hotel could step it up a little.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi John H.,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

I apologize that your stay was not a positive, memorable experience. We want every guest to walk away from our hotel with the best experience possible and your comments expressed a lack of attention towards your stay. I hope if you choose to use us in the future that you reach out to me. I would love a second opportunity to make your stay a better one.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice hotel with a great staff. The room was a bit on the small side but very clean & comfortable.
The breakfast wasn't up to what we would expect for a "Plus" hotel but that would be our only complaint. Easy walking to shops, restaurants & bus lines. Very diverse neighborhood where everyone we met was friendly. Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 401 which looked out over the street - good for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestotravel022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi lovestotravel 022,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

We here at our property know that it is our guests that help improve our property. Our guests have helped shape what we offer and how our services are run from the day our doors opened up until the present. With that being said, you had mentioned that our breakfast selection could have been better. Was there something that you did not like or something missing from our selection that you would like us to offer? I welcome any recommendation to help us improve this part our hotel for you and our guests.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family loved this hotel and the neighborhood where it is located. We could easily take the bus downtown. We could also walk in the neighborhood for enjoyment and to find a neat place to eat. Very convenient! The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Carol A.,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to your future reservations and if there is anything that we can do to make your stay any better, please do not hesitate to ask.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very large room, looks brand new. Fantastic bed. Cool rain-style shower. Great location in wonderful neighborhood. You can walk for dinner, etc.... I will definitely stay here again.
Perfect staff....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi Tanya H.,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you will be returning in the future. If there is anything that we can do to make your stay better, please do not hesitate to ask.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#80 of 191 in Chicago
870 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 191 in Chicago
559 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#83 of 191 in Chicago
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Wrigleyville
The Inn at Wrigleyville
The Inn at Wrigleyville
#156 of 191 in Chicago
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Address: 3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $111 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hawthorne Terrace, you become a part of an amazing community - a community with great heart, culture and a passion for diverse experiences, all nestled in the vibrant Lakeview East neighborhood of Chicago. Whether you seek adventurous dining, a vigorous run along Chicago's lake shore, one-of-a-kind boutique shops, a late night club scene, or coffee and a quiet evening stroll, Hawthorne Terrace is your threshold to this extraordinary community where we encourage you to Live. Play. Stay. Like a Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing