We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Ranked #40 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, United States
1 review
“Needs renovation”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

It is a very old hotel, needs renovation. The quality of breakfast is not good. The front staff can be very nice or sometimes very unfriendly. The location of the Hotel is good, but quality of showers or breakfast eating place is not good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Surendra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Surendra K,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. Your business is much appreciated. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your last stay.

If I could take a moment, I would like to address a concern from your comments. Our hotel was completely renovated a few years ago and we look to offer the most updated rooms at all times for our guests. As we look to upgrade our hotel, we will be renovating our lobby in the near future. I see that you have stayed with us several times this year. Perhaps we could interest you in staying in one of our suites. These accommodations offer an enhanced experience that may make your stay more comfortable.

Again I apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable. My staff and I take these comments to heart and will look at ways to improve our product one comment at a time. If there is anything that you could suggest to make your stay better I am open to suggestion. Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns and have a great day.

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    291
    62
    29
    15
See reviews for
304
228
87
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
493 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is my third time staying at this hotel. Earlier I had rated the hotel 3 star as I was located in the older tower, same one as the lobby. This visit however they put me in the adjacent building to the south of the hotel entrance. Wow, what a difference. Large spacious corner suite. This building has its own breakfast area with a hot and cold breakfast selection.
Location is terrific near awesome restaurants and clubs. Halstead Street one block to the west, is trendy with great clubs. Broadway has some good restaurants and lots of little local shops. A short walk to the east puts you on the Lakeshore and the linear park that runs along the lake (great in summer - not so much in February!)

Room Tip: Ask for the adjacent building, 4 stories; and a corner suite. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Perseverance,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. Your business is much appreciated. I am glad you were able to experience one of our suites during your last stay.

If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to ask. Again thank you for your kind words and and have a great day!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Loved this hotel! Easy to access - only a block off of Lake Shore with parking next door. Our room was very clean, and mixed the original charm of hardwood floors with updated bathroom and furnishings. Will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Jon A,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. Your business is much appreciated. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites.

If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please let me know. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and have a great day!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hawthorne Terrace while in town for a concert. The location is outstanding - lots to do on the block - the staff was pleasant and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a full-service parking garage next door, too. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Lorene B,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. Your business is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your time while staying at our hotel.

I hope we get the chance to serve you in the future. If there is anything that we can do to make your stay better please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and have a great day!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Best Western Hawthorne Terrace Hotel in Chicago is one of the best. The service is great and the rooms are very nice. It is very quaint and is accessible to everything. The people who work there are friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying there anytime you are visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Cindy A,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. As a repeat guest we appreciate your continued business. People stay with us for many reasons but we hope to remain part of your extended Chicago family for many future stays.

If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable please ask. It is our honor to serve you as our guest and we look forward to our next chance to offer the best experience we can with your accommodations. Thank you for your glowing review and have a great day!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Located in the Lincoln Park area, close to restaurants, bars and Wrigley Field. A great neighborhood and safe for walking at all times. Hotel employees are courteous and helpful. Breakfast is offered in the lobby each morning and coffee and two complimentary bottles of water are offered in the room each day. My bedroom and bathroom were spacious and comfortable . Decor is adequate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi USAtraveler077,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. Your business is much appreciated. I hope we get the chance to serve you again in the future.

Please contact me and I will offer you an upgrade during your next stay. Again thank you for posting your review and have a great day!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is located in a mixed business/residential neighborhood near the lake shore, Wrigley Field and Boys Town. From the outside it looks like many of the nearby residential buildings.

My room was large, the entry area, which included a desk, somewhat separate from the bedroom. Nice flat screen TV and wireless internet in the room. I didn't hear any outside noise.

One of the best hotel breakfasts I've seen in a long time: Eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal as hot items, plus toast, english muffins and best of all cinnamon rolls from Ann Sathers (which has a location just across the street) plus juices and coffee/tea.

There is both a sauna and whirlpool in the exercise room.

Room Tip: I think the entire hotel would be quiet, I was well down the hall from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Terrell_msp,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in the Chicago area. Your business is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast.

We are always looking for ways that we can improve our hotel and we are pleased to hear your comments concerning our breakfast. As we continue to rotate our selection and add new products hopefully we will be able to enhance your experience next time you visit our hotel.

Please contact me and I will offer you an upgrade during your next stay. Again thank you for taking the time to post your review and have a great day!

Best regards,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace
ph: (773) 634-8500
email: jerry.loproto@hawthorneterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Address: 3434 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hawthorne Terrace, you become a part of an amazing community - a community with great heart, culture and a passion for diverse experiences, all nestled in the vibrant Lakeview East neighborhood of Chicago. Whether you seek adventurous dining, a vigorous run along Chicago's lake shore, one-of-a-kind boutique shops, a late night club scene, or coffee and a quiet evening stroll, Hawthorne Terrace is your threshold to this extraordinary community where we encourage you to Live. Play. Stay. Like a Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing