We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Ranked #41 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I must admit that I was rather disappointed at the room. We did not choose the cheapest available rate and for over 200USD per night I expected something corresponding to the pictures on the web site. Room 314 was not that! At the end of the corridor with a very small window to a car park.
The hotel gets credit for the location, cleanliness and sleep quality. A big minus for the poor breakfast. The hotel has no kitchen so the products are long life products. Cutlery, plates and mugs -> all plastic! We preferred to enjoy breakfast in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juhani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    286
    61
    28
    15
See reviews for
299
218
86
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Picked this place for location to boys town, restaurants and business meetings, knowing that for the price it would be a letdown, but that I would be rarely in the room. Mistake number one. This place had great rooms, a bathroom I wish I had at home, really pleasant front desk staff and very helpful and will gladly stay here again. Restaurants all over, Ann sather, Starbucks, pingpong( highly recommend this restaurant). The trains about a 10 min walk from hotel. Not bad at all. Loved this hotel

Room Tip: Elevators are loud. Try for a loom at far end from elevator they bing all the time no pool that I re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinguy6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Oh my! I wrote so many remarks on a card at the hotel, I hope I can remember them all. So, first this is, without a doubt, the best Best Western hotel we have ever stayed in. When the bellman opened the room door I thought there had been a mistake. The double queen room was so large I thought we had been put in a suite! The decor was amazing, very pleasing and the room was very clean. The beds made us cry with happiness the next morning. TV, fridge, microwave, safe, bathroom all outstanding. I am not and never have been employed by any Best Western. I was, however, once employed at the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero in San Francisco, and my job entailed overseeing outside contractor's work (carpeting, painting, etc.) so I think I'm a pretty good judge of what a hotel room should look like. Without a doubt, our room at Best Western met Hyatt standards but without the Hyatt prices. Thank you so much for making our trip to see Wrigley Field much better than we expected. ♥

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Best Western Hawthorn Suites is OUTSTANDING in every capacity. This facility is in the 'heart' of Wrigleyville on Chicago's near north side. The entire staff, from the General Manager on down to the room service personnel are friendly extremely competent. You are within walking distance of Wrigley Field and all the fine restaurants and clubs in the area. City Bus service is right outside the front door. I recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent staff and facility. Well located for our purposes! Family trip to help child relocate. Near all of our necessities, restaurants, grocery stores, hardware stores. Pet friendly which was a must for us and it paid off well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was nicely furnished. Staff was too laid back and did not take responsibilities for problems that arose, including missing breakfast items, and did not know much about the neighborhood or how best to travel to/from the hotel. The bill was different than the reservation even though nothing additional was purchased.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gilead, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you're staying in the north end or want to be near the lake, this is a good starting point. The neighborhood is quiet and seems safe. Redline ell access is about six blocks or so away and you're only about 15 mins. walking distance to Wrigley Field. The hotel staff is very courteous and the rooms are clean and nice. The breakfast is a real let-down for this chain....very little variety, not well attended-to, cramped. Plan on going out for breakfast if you're picky. We would stay here again based on the location alone, so the helpful staff and nice rooms are a bonus. Parking is right next door at $26 a day if you drive in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Smagnumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwht, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello,

I was reviewing comments concerning your stay and I would like to find out more information. You mentioned that we could improve our property if we had better variety with our breakfast items. Is there something you would like to see as part of our breakfast selection or was there something that you didn't like about our selection? I would appreciate any additional information you may have concerning the breakfast selection.

If I can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact me at 773-244-3434. We hope to see you again soon! Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Jerry LoProto
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#71 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Address: 3434 N Broadway Avenue, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hawthorne Terrace, you become a part of an amazing community - a community with great heart, culture and a passion for diverse experiences, all nestled in the vibrant Lakeview East neighborhood of Chicago. Whether you seek adventurous dining, a vigorous run along Chicago's lake shore, one-of-a-kind boutique shops, a late night club scene, or coffee and a quiet evening stroll, Hawthorne Terrace is your threshold to this extraordinary community where we encourage you to Live. Play. Stay. Like a Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing