We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Ranked #40 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went to the Chicago/Lakeview area to visit family - the closest hotel was the Best Western. I really was not expecting much as it was a "Best Western". What a surprise! This hotel was fabulous. I had a 2 bedroom, one bath with a den and kitchen. The room had been recently renovated and had 3 flat screen's and a fabulous mirror that lit up! Near grocery stores so stocking a few items was easy!
Heading up to the area this week and am staying at the Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    291
    62
    29
    15
See reviews for
304
228
87
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Very nice hotel in good Chicago location on north side. Easy access to transit with Broadway bus immediately outside, Addison and Belmont buses a block away and Red Line subway within 1/2 mile walk. Hotel was set back from the road and very quiet at night. Good sized rooms were updated and very comfortable. Would definitely use again for a weekend stay.

Continental breakfast buffet had limited choice and set up was in a cramped location. Not up to snuff with competitors. However, just 50 yards across the street is an Ann Sathers Restaurant that specializes in breakfasts and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainmodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This was my first stay at a Best Western and I was pleasantly surprised. Welcoming staff, clean, and great price for a Chicago Hotel. Also, good restaurants within walking distance.
I will be visiting this Best Western often on business and look forward to accumulating Best Western points :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyToFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Having previously lived in Lakeview, I was very familiar with the location of this hotel and it always looked great from the outside. I try and get back every couple of years around my birthday to see friends and enjoy some time in Boystown. This time we decided to get a room in the city since my friend I was staying with lives in the suburbs. Got a good rate online for Saturday and Sunday nights. We checked in around 7ish I think it was. I forget now the name of the person that checked us in, but it was a very pleasant experience. I went ahead and played the birthday card and we were giving a nice upgrade to one of the junior suites. Room was gorgeous. We really didn't need the kitchenette, but it was well laid out. We were on the 4th floor of the annex building looking out over Broadway. Having lived in the city before, the noise never bothers me. The hardwood floor in the main area and the tile in the bathroom really gave it a great touch. And the shower. Wow, just wow. Love the rainfall shower head. And the rich dark colors of the wall tile really worked well. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Being as we were out late and sleeping in, we didn't partake of housekeeping during the stay, but we had a moment to chat with the lady, and she did seem quite nice. Really just did not want to leave the room. As my friend commented, one could practically live in it, as it was about as large as the average studio apartment in Chicagoland. Departure day was very smooth. We over slept a little and when I called and asked for a late checkout 1hr past normal time, it was granted very cheerfully with no hesitation. Working in the hospitality industry myself, I always tend to be very judgmental when I stay somewhere. This hotel met, and in some cases exceeded my expectations.

The only negative from this stay wasn't the hotel's fault. My friend parked his car at the garage next door, and some kind of dirty water or something was allowed to drip onto it. It was very nasty looking, but thankfully didn't appear to be caustic.

Room Tip: Just be polite to the staff and you never know
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawkeyeFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Such a perfect spot for visiting friends and misbehaving in Boystown. My 2nd stay in 5 years and still impressive: big rooms and new baths this time around. Friendly staff, and within comfortable walking distance of bus, el, restaurants, etc. If you need to stumble home after a great night out why stay anywhere else?!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This hotel is excellent for look and feel. It has a modern boutique feel and great room finishes. You can't beat being able to stay in the Lakeview neighborhood for this price. Walkable to restaurants, stores and bars. We were in a room with windows on Broadway and there wasn't too much street noise. Turning on the fan took care of it.
Don't expect friendliness from the staff, we stayed for 4 nights and didn't have a single friendly encounter with the front desk staff. If you don't mind some rudeness, just minimize your interaction with the staff and you'll have a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanford10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The place was great - clean rooms and excellent location. I am a light sleeper, though, and we had two major problems. Large garbage cans were dragged down the alley on both Monday and Friday morning at 6.30am that were VERY loud and the people dragging them were equally loud. In addition, there was a loud clicking noise in the alley facing south that did not allow us to sleep very well. it went on and off all night. If you are a light sleeper, don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Address: 3434 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60657-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hawthorne Terrace, you become a part of an amazing community - a community with great heart, culture and a passion for diverse experiences, all nestled in the vibrant Lakeview East neighborhood of Chicago. Whether you seek adventurous dining, a vigorous run along Chicago's lake shore, one-of-a-kind boutique shops, a late night club scene, or coffee and a quiet evening stroll, Hawthorne Terrace is your threshold to this extraordinary community where we encourage you to Live. Play. Stay. Like a Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Chicago
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing