We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Baba Ghannouj” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Semiramis

Semiramis
Ranked #1,549 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Baba Ghannouj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a tasty place in the Albany Park neighborhood of Chicago. There are lots of delicious dishes but I think that Lamb and Beef or Chicken Chawarma with Baba Ghannouj is the best on the menu! This is the best Baba Ghannouj I have tried in the city. The lentil soup is good too. Fun atmosphere, good service. BYOB.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAS357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BEST Middle Eastern / Lebanese Chicago Has to Offer * BYOB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Semiramis is a spit from the Kedzie stop of Chicago's Brown Line El - where it's ground level. Cross the street - and there it is, just a couple of steps north of Wilson Avenue. It's tastefully decorated with one storefront space for comfy seating - lovely rugs and fabrics on walls and nice lighting - and another storefront is a small lobby area, cashier with kitchen behind. Joseph, the owner, seems to be there ALL the time and is complimented by a small array of really friendly and well-informed staff. Food is terrific! A typical falafel will not be found - no pita for these sandwiches; instead, a Lebanese lavash bread (soft and flat) is used to wrap the sandwiches which are MASSIVE and can be shared. The "special falafel" comes with loads of additional creative veggies. You'll find chicken, lamb and beef, too, in all the various middle eastern combos. There's a wonderful Mixed Grill platter than a group of 4 could easily share and partner with a tasty lentil and rice with caramelized onion side dish. Or get a whole, roasted chicken (or half) and share. Several yummy salads (fattoush and tabouleh for sure!) - or try the appetizer sampler platter. Seriously, vegetarians and carnivores a like will have a grand meal. it IS a BYOB, so you may enjoy wine or beer with youro meal. ONLY suggestion - get there early on a weekend night - the lines can be long. BEST YET - go for lunch! we've been there many times and never had a bad or even mediocre meal. (and if you need some "fries with that?" - there is an order on their appetizers - comes seasoned with sumac and with a side of a garlic dip/spread you'll want to smear on everything! Desserts are spartan - but the BEST bakery is across the street - NAZARETH ... super selection and very affordable! Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loishobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My friends and I always go here. In some ways its almost tradition to eat there! Whether you go for lunch or dinner you won't be disappointed. The food is very good, although the portions are a bit large. The staff is always great -very friendly and helpful. The decor is nice too -warm and inviting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esprit_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Semiramis is a cozy little restaurant that we discovered via http://checkplease.wttw.com/ (good video reviews there too). Service is great and very friendly. Food is good and not overpriced... Candle on the table adds to the charm. It's BYOB also and it only costs $3 if you want to bring your own bottle of wine. We will definitely keep it on our list of restaurants to go back to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanmarc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Lebanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Fresh middle-eastern food made by the chef/owner of the restaurant. They are very accommodating there and will try to make you happy as much as possible. I wanted something else instead of the pasta-couscous combination with my Solomon (which was outstanding) and the owner himself came to our table to suggest an alternative. I took Lentils and Rice (Magadra) and my meal was delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ibead18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing