We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Patricks Day”

Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Bedford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“St. Patricks Day”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great place to spend St. Patrick's Day. Food was very good and prices were on average with prices in Chicago.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Earle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    30
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, Decent Food, Pricey”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

British pub atmosphere, a little crowded. Excellent selection of beers. Food is average at best. We had Shepard's Pie and Bacon wrapped meatloaf, neither memorable and would probably not order again. A little surprised when the bill came, seemed expensive for what we ate and drank. There are many food choices in the immediate area, this is one of the more average places. Unless you want a nice pub atmosphere with a great beer selection, I'd eat somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9999Tr_Av_El_Er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visited prior to an event at the Chicago Theatre. Thankfully, a few other, better places have opened up since because this place is only ok. It reminds me of Bennigan's, only fake British. For anyone who has been to the real Elephant and Castle, this is a big letdown.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chisoxbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

While staying at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Chicago, we had breakfast at the Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant, which is right off the lobby of the hotel. Food was great, reasonably "Chicago" priced, and service was excellent. It is located just a block of Michigan Ave, so very convenient to many other places you may be visiting. Great experience and would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Food was good and service was good. This is a typical themed pub in Chicago but we would return again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pinkydinkyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing