We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”

Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #256 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Walking towards the Willis Tower we stopped here for lunch. It was busy which is a good sign. The food smelled wonderful too! There wasn't too long of a wait. This is around 1:00 in the afternoon on a Friday. The butternut squash soup and sweet potato fries were so good. The service wasn't the greatest. We asked for water and we were forgotten about. Overall, a good experience with good food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tbear8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    138
    72
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ate breakfast here every day for 10 days, good quality food, excellent service, friendly staff. great place to eat and value for money

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good pub food from this chain”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Always a great selection of bar food including sweet potato fries and sausage samplers and onion rings and of course great draft and bottled beer in a friendly pub atmosphere with great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyvinotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, excellent dessert”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A mid afternoon lunch was tasty in this pub which was cozy and quiet. The beer choices went on for pages and while I don't drink beer, my husband enjoyed some type of bavarian ale. The fish and chips were very good but not great. My husband's yorkshire pudding with roast beef and potatoes was good he said. The best part was the Bread pudding with warm rum sauce. YUM! we wanted to lick the plate. Our server was wonderful and we enjoyed the experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I ended up here on four occasions - two breakfasts and two dinners. On the first breakfast I only had the yoghurt and granola - okay but felt rushed with no offer of a top up of tea. For dinner I had the chicken pot pie which was okay but it came out lightening fast which indicated servings from a pre-prepared stock.

Breakfast included a "British" breakfast banger (sausage). Sorry, but not many British sausages I know include chunks of bone and cereal. It should be 80+% of decent quality meat. I would guesstimate this to be <50% meat, lots of filler, as well as bone and perhaps undescribable ingredients. Maybe it's not but it's appearance that counts.

Because I could not be bothered to walk far, I ended up with the roast beef Yorkshire pudding. A Yorkshire pudding is an incredibly easy flour/egg/water kind of of batter which forms a cup shape when cooked properly. I think they actually made this from scratch but they do need to actually cook it first. The result was a stodgy mess at the bottom with pre-cooked wafer thin sliced beef dumped on top. The same mass-produced mash and green beans were on the side. English roast beef means slow roasting a quality joint of beef and then slicing it in thick chunks. Not buying pre-sliced sandwich beef from a supermarket which this might as well have been. And *still* I was handed the bill without an offer of another beer.

They serve some English beers - excellent idea - at ice-cold temperatures which kills the flavour - why did I bother.

I've had more freshly cooked food at KFC, McDonalds etc. Fine if you want cheap, low quality semi-fast food, but that's about it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing