We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the place to go in Chicago for a great cocktail.”
Review of The Violet Hour

The Violet Hour
Ranked #209 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely the place to go in Chicago for a great cocktail.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went here on a Sunday evening as we stopped by on Saturday at 10 p.m. and there was a long line. This is a cocktail bar with small table and bar seating- no standing so expect to wait to get in on weekend. Great ambiance and cocktails. There definitely needs to be more cocktail bars like this. No photos are allowed which is fantastic as it helps maintain the mood and vibe of the bar. I had the dark and stormy and the cucumber and rosewater cocktail and both were fantastic. I would definitely recommend visiting the Violet Hour if you are in the Wicker Park area.

Cocktails are around 14 dollars each.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    38
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Speak Easy”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to the Violet Hour. The place was recommended to me by the concierge at the Radisson Blu Aqua as a place to get a "good old fashioned cocktail." He also recommended arriving early. The bar itself is literally just a few steps away from the El - very convenient, though it sits disguised (or at least unmarked) in plain sight. I arrived early, and sat at the bar. The interior is dim - little more than candlelight allows you to peruse the drinks menu, which is divided logically into classic cocktails. For many drinks, they make their own bitters. The variety is very good, and if there is something that you want that is not on the menu, they are game to make it for you. The "Old Fashioned" is served with a single, ice-ball carved by hand out of the blocks of ice delivered to the bar daily. Don't go here if you want a "shot and a beer" - or wine. This is a mixology bar, and mixed drinks are their specialty. The food looked great, but I didn't sample any on this trip. Maybe next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everything its cracked up to be. Smart cocktails delivered smartly. Sit at the bar and watch true mixologists work. Maybe learn a thing or two!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“No Signage Bar”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were early, so could get a table for 6 without much of a fuss. Was very quickly filled up with guests soon and eventhough stiffly priced, I found the place to be relaxing where music is not blaring and will allow you to enjoy a drink with happy conversations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolkatacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you dont mind a velvet rope wait and the concept of Mixology.....”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wife and I met another couple. I am older and hate waiting outside a bar. After the 20 minute wait, everything got better. The most impressive thing about the place is their drink selection and knowledgable staff. At $12 a drink they better be good or interesting. They were and besides the wait, this place was pretty good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Violet Hour also viewed

 

Been to The Violet Hour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing