We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best BBQ in Chicago”
Review of Smoque BBQ

Smoque BBQ
Ranked #2 of 9,675 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Best BBQ in Chicago”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Been going here since it opened. Have tried almost every competitor and still think Smoque stands up to them all. Great ownership -- actually listen to what their customers are saying. The food is great, and even though the place is crowded and the wait can be a while, I still go here whenever I want some good BBQ. I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    235
    70
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“There's more than deep dish pizza and beef sandwiches in Chicago.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Chicago is not known for it's barbeque but local residents are proud to say that Smoque BBQ is changing that perception. The place is very clean considering how much business comes though on a daily basis. The staff tries very hard to find you a place to sit if you are dinning in. You can not go wrong with any of your choices so that's why it's so great to come back time and time again and try different selections. They serve pulled pork, ribs-baby back and St. Louis style, chicken, brisket and Texas sausage as well as numerous sides. If you're visiting Chicago and want to eat something besides the Chicago usual then you have to make a stop at Smoque.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darkstar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwyn, il
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The bbq is ok, but highly overrated. Nothing really stood out as exceptional or different from most bbq places. I will say, the mac and cheese is good, but the rest just merely ok.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marthe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“If you like BBQ.....................”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is not a large place. But their food is quite good.

We had pulled pork and chicken.............each was served with a different sauce to complement the meat that was being served. You could definitely tell the difference.

Often chicken is over-smoked.............not the case here.

And, possibly the biggest surprise here are the baked beans...........probably the best we have ever eaten..............had a definite smokiness to them and contained chunks of meat, possibly smoked rib tips or pieces of the pulled pork.............could have eaten a lot more of them.

And, BBQ has to be eaten with beer................so, take your own as they do not serve it there.

If there is a line, be patient as it is worth the wait!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but worth the wait?”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I have been looking for good BBQ since we left the South. Smoque's meat (we both had the pulled pork) was delicious and the sauce was the best we had since we left, but it was still missing a little something. The line was out the door for dinner which was a real turn-off for us but the staff was very friendly. Overall, I would recommend going for lunch (I've heard the line was shorter during that time) but to us, the food wasn't worth the 45+ minute wait to just get to the counter. The mac and cheese was the best I've ever had though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla_and_Jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smoque BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing