We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique experience”

Chicago Magic Lounge
Ranked #1 of 582 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Chicago Magic Lounge is dedicated to re-introducing you to a style of magic created in the Windy City. Bar magic began in 1915 at a little place called Schulien's. After that, over 15 Magic Bars opened up all over the city over the next 80 years. However, with the last one closing in 1999, the city has lost the true art of "Chicago-Style Magic". Now, the magic is back. In the classic Chicago style, we perform table-side, at the bar, and on the stage. Come back nightly for a fully immersive, interactive, and unique theatrical experience. Cocktails and card tricks, the way magic was meant to be seen. Magic Bar: 5:30 P.M. Mon -Sat No Tickets Required Ticketed Events: Monday - Tuesday: 7:30 P.M. Live Music and Close-Up Magic Wednesday: 7:30 P.M. David Parr's Cabinet of Curiosities Thursday: 7:00 P.M. The Signature Show Friday & Saturday: 7:00 P.M. & 10:00 P.M. The Signature Show Sunday: 12:00 P.M. The Family Matinee Show
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hidden gem. I’ve lived in Chicago for 5 years and found this place while looking for “secret bars” as the entrance is made to look like a laundry mat, hidden door and all. Once you get in it’s a super nice theater style venue, great entertainment all night. Good value, good comedic magic. John Sturk is one of the great emcees of our time.
I would recommend either the lowest price ticket, as I didn’t really see any obstructed view seats, or going with the highest price ticket in the upper deck. It comes with a free drink, and access to the close up magic after show, which is worth it. The main show is a little short so getting the extra access was really cool.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank ChiJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magic show"
in 50 reviews
"card tricks"
in 23 reviews
"table side"
in 21 reviews
"magical night"
in 17 reviews
"pre show"
in 17 reviews
"main act"
in 16 reviews
"cocktail hour"
in 12 reviews
"secret entrance"
in 10 reviews
"main stage"
in 18 reviews
"stage shows"
in 7 reviews
"magical experience"
in 8 reviews
"entertaining evening"
in 6 reviews
"great date night"
in 6 reviews
"front row"
in 13 reviews
"super fun"
in 10 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 9 reviews
"magician"
in 256 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 605 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

Had an incredible time at the Magic Lounge. Saw 7 different magicians perform. The close up magic was especially good and most were better comedians than what you can see at Zanies. Laughed the entire night. Definitely get the front row or mezzanine tickets as the extra show that comes with it was fantastic. Still cannot understand how they can shuffle cards like that. The Laundromat secret entrance was also a nice touch.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank BobWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2018

I didn't know what to expect but we had a great night from the moment we showed up. The magician at the bar was great and the cocktails we're creative and reasonably priced. Seating is a little tight in the theater but not bad. It's a nice, intimate space. The show itself was entertaining and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Travel193187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018

My daughter and son in law visited for the Thansgiving week and we went to the Magic Lounge on Friday. The magic was amazing and we laughed so hard at the jokes and interactions with the audience. My son in law does magic himself and he really enjoyed the show and in particular one trick on stage that involved transporting. . .or something like that.We will definitely be back again.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Diane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2018

Magic has a new home in Chicago! Beginning with an homage to the days of speakeasies and culminating with late night/early morning relaxation among friends, this theater-venue has it in "spades." The bar is specifically designed as a magic bar, the theater is nicely appointed in art deco, and there are no "behind the pillar" sight line impediments--every seat is a great view. Aisles have leg room, and walking room. The entertainment, from lounge, to tableside, to stage is absolutely A-list. Cocktails and food are top notch, and appropriately priced. The staff is friendly, capable, and enthusiastic. What did I leave out? About 10 % in the audience (my night)were "repeat" attendees, so obviously magic fans have cause to return. The CML has a "4:00 a.m. license" in case you want to extend your night. I didn't remain after 1:30, so I can't accurately report on that experience, but I certainly would on a future visit.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Culture33776220205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chi_Magic_Lounge, Owner at Chicago Magic Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Thank you so much for this glowing review! I do need feel the need to point out, we actually don't have a 4:00am License, we do close at 2:00am, so you practically made it through the entire night on your first visit. We hope to see you again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Magic Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Magic Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing