We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B , great location”
Review of Wicker Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wicker Park Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were keen to stay around Wicker Park to get away from the standard "downtown" experience. The area is a must for any tourist if you like to sample the latest this cool as s!?t city has to offer. The Wicker Park Inn is a fantastic B&B style accomodation. We arrived late on a Sunday and though we could not get in and could not call the management the next door neighbor was at hand to guide us to where our key was hidden. The place was so cozy after a day of tramping all around Chicago on a cold day. The rooms are warm and comfortable. Manager Robin is a wealth of information about the city, ask her for restaurant recommendations, she knows her stuff ! It's moments from 2 train stops so you can be downtown in 10 - 20 mins.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 283 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first visit to Chicago (we were there for the Barbra Streisand Concert and wanted to stay relatively close to the United Center). We did not want to stay in a big hotel and were so fortunate to have found the Wicker Park Inn. Incredible service from Robin; before we departed our home country she had gone to great lengths to ensure that we had a great visit - suggestions for unusual sightseeing trips, suggestions for restaurants and even booking ahead for us for our 1st meal in Chicago, making sure we had precise directions as to how to reach them via Taxi - you could not ask for more. Robin was on hand when we arrived and were shown to the Cape Cod Room which was warm and cosy and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts are plentiful and yummy. The area of Wicker Park is lovely, full of eclectic shops and excellent restaurants. I highly recommend the Wicker Park Inn as the place to stay when you visit Chicago; we will certainly make it our base when next we visit the city.

Room Tip: Request the Cape Cod Room; it faces the street but is not at all noisy; also it is upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Wicker Park Inn. We arrived at noon and were able to check into our room, the Wicker Park room, immediately. Manager Robin was very warm and personable upon check-in. She showed us into our room and gave us the run-down about parking and other inn-specific details. She was happy to answer any questions about the neighborhood and the city of Chicago, including El train information. The room itself was cozy with a sort of shabby-chic decor -- we're modern decor enthusiasts, but the room didn't put us off despite its lack of sleek surfaces and ultra-modern conveniences. (There is a fireplace in the room but we didn't inquire as to whether we could light it.) The television is small and gets Direct TV service. The bathroom was very clean and had new fixtures. There is no bathtub, only a shower, but that was ok with us. There is a small shelf to use for toiletries, but if you have many cosmetics and hair implements, you may have to keep some in the guest room rather than the bathroom. A hairdryer was provided.

Parking is on-street and requires use of the inn's temporary parking passes. You put a new one in your car window each morning; all you need will be provided to you at check-in. We had no trouble parking right in front of the inn, but we arrived mid-afternoon and didn't move our car until we checked out. If you're arriving at night, we noticed that parking was much tighter in the neighborhood after 6pm, so you may have to circle the block a few times to get a spot. The neighborhood itself is delightful. The residential streets were quiet and seemed to be populated by young families and professionals. The residential areas were very clean and kept-up. The main streets of the business district had every shopping and dining option you could imagine. We were thrilled to find so many vegetarian and vegan dining options in Wicker Park and nearby Bucktown. There were a lot of cool dive bars and nicer cocktail bars nearby. (Check out Violet Hour -- wow.) We didn't eat in the Wicker Park Inn because we're not really breakfast people, but Robin told us that we were welcome to stop in the kitchen anytime for a snack or to use the fridge.

Quiet hours are from 9:30pm until 7:30am, I believe, and indeed, the building was quiet during those hours. Our room was under the dining room or kitchen (I never went upstairs to find out exactly the layout) so when it was breakfast time at 7:30, sleeping became impossible. It's an old, creaky house. Fortunately, we didn't want to sleep much later than that anyway, but if you're someone who likes to sleep in, you might want to consult the innkeepers about which room would be most likely to allow for that. The only other noise was the El train, which came by at regular intervals during the day and evening. I never heard it in the middle of the night, and I am a light sleeper, so it must not be running during those hours. The inn is close to the Damon blue-line stop, so if you're going to the Loop and other downtown attractions, it's very convenient.

All in all, we highly recommend Wicker Park Inn to young (age 20s-40s) couples like us who are vacationing in Chicago. We think you will love it, too.

Room Tip: Their website has photos and information about each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraryShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This B&B is in a fantastic location between two cool 'nabes in Chicago. A friend and I shared a room and thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk around easily to some cool cafes, bars, and restaurants. Not a traditional B&B in the fact you rarely see the host, but certainly it is a 'well oiled machine' with a generous help-yourself breakfast, clean facilities, and access to tourist information (I love the 'Time Out' magazine and it was great having our own copy). The blue line is really close by but it was noise from other rooms I noticed more than the train. The walls are a little thin I think and I'd probably stay here again, but recommend earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the WPI in the Garden Apartment room. I travel to Chicago frequently and usually stay in Michigan Ave./Streeterville area. I booked into the WPI because my daughter lives in the neighborhood and I wanted to be nearby. As such, the WPI was the only game in town. It is located just a few blocks from Milwaukee Ave. about equidistant between Division and North streets - right in the middle of Wicker Park.

The Garden Apartment room has a a lot going for it. The beds are big and the mattresses are firm and comfortable. In addition the bedding was very nice. The kitchenette is large enough to cook a meal for 2-4 people. The bathroom is decent-sized. But there are some quirks, too. First, it's in the basement of a building across the street from the main Inn building. That didn't bother me, but I can see where some might be surprised to be in a basement. This should really be disclosed in the room description on the website. Next, to get into the bathroom one must go up a 1/4 step to get in and then up another 2 steps to get to the toilet and sink. Several stubbed toes later I got used to it. Finally, there is a large load-bearing post in the middle of the bedroom which cuts into the otherwise spacious room.

One plus of being in the basement is that the room is very quiet. The El, which is only a block away, can be quite loud outside when it rumbles by, but I hardly noticed it inside.

This room would be particularly good for a small family or four close friends visiting the trendy Wicker Park neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room the Blue line was clean and tidy the staff was very attentive. The room is next to an alley above which is the Blue line train. We were forewarned that it was not for light sleepers.
The only time I woke up at night was not because of the train but from the jet engine noise from the Air conditioning plant for the whole building. This machinery is in a louvered door closet right next to the bed. We had to open some windows to keep the room warm at night.The room had a full kitchen so we were not entitled to the breakfast. We were told this at the beginning of our stay but I was not diligent enough in reading their literature.
All in all it was a good location but a little pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room (Wicker Park) was gorgeous although it didn't have a bath tub (not a problem for us as we prefer showers anyway!) Our room was on the first floor (ground floor) and was accessed immediately as you enter the Inn. I was a little hesitant but noise was never a problem and being at the front of the building we barely heard the 'L' running along behind. The Inn is on a lovely treelined street within easy reach of buses and trains. Breakfast was more than adequate with help-yourself pastries, bagels, breads, cereal, yoghurts and fruits. There was also coffee and a myriad of teas to choose from. What was fantastic is that you could go and help yourself to most of this whenever you wished! The neighborhood is really interesting with great restaurants and eateries for all palettes. I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary_poppins_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#65 of 192 in Chicago
340 reviews
West Town
The Robey Hall
The Robey Hall
#109 of 192 in Chicago
80 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Near North Side
The Sono Chicago
The Sono Chicago
#5 of 22 in Chicago
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Park Inn

Address: 1329 N Wicker Park Ave, Chicago, IL 60622-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Town , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $186 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wicker Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wicker Park Inn is a Chicago Bed and Breakfast offering high quality yet affordable Chicago accommodations in a "trendy" neighborhood full of great restaurants, vintage and boutique shops, art galleries, cafes and nightlife. Each morning guests are greeted with pastries, rich coffee, fresh fruit and other breakfast goodies.Enjoy a Chicago hotel experience in this modern Chicago B&B. Each guestroom has a private bathroom, 300+ thread count sheets, satellite TV, wireless internet access and free parking. We're just minutes away from downtown Chicago, where you can enjoy Chicago attractions such as the Magnificent Mile, the Art Institute, Chicago Theaters, and Chicago Museums. With the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home, the Wicker Park Inn Bed and Breakfast is a rewarding lodging alternative to a downtown Chicago hotel. Take advantage of 1-night minimum stay requirements Sunday- Thursday until September 30th, 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wicker Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Park Hotel Chicago
Wicker Park Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing