We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #60 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Loved This Hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were in Chicago for a writers' conference, and I picked this hotel because we like Residence Inn and got a great AAA rate through the Marriott website.

The hotel is located on Dearborn and was about 16 or so blocks from the convention hotel. Even though Chicago was COLD, we walked to the conference every day and didn't mind at all (not that that has anything to do with the hotel itself). However, because we walked to the conference, we were able to see the restaurants and attractions that are all close to the Residence Inn, which made it great. The hotel staff was wonderful in recommending good places to dine (Sullivan's offers a prix fixe for RI guests.) and things to see.

The room that we had was a king, and it was very roomy. It was decorated very beautifully, although I question having white covers on the beds. The pillow cases and the quilt, while clean, were a bit dingy, which is what happens when you have everything white.

My few complaints were that the towels were not the best I've seen (pretty old feeling and looking) and that we did not receive shampoo every day, which I couldn't figure out.

We're looking to go back, again, and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    350
    66
    38
    19
See reviews for
473
237
39
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We visited Chicago for a convention and stayed at the Residence Inn for a week. We were four people and booked a 2-bedroom suite with a rather large living area and 2 bathrooms. One bedroom featured a kingsize, the other a queensize bed. The sofabed in the living area was around kingsize. The hotel is quite new, however the interior appears cheap and the bedrooms relatively small. The wardrobes are way too small for four people. We stayed on the 23rd floor and had quite an impressive view. We had an accessible room, the bell was for the hearing impaired, so that it was connected to a flashlight and made noises similar to a fire alarm, which was quite disturbing...

After a friendly welcome we however made a strange first encounter in the bathrooms. Apparently the housekeeping staff forgot to clean the toilets before we arrived, or how could someone explain the excrements in the toilet (see picture)? Furthermore we found severe urine stains under the toilet seats, which was quite unappetizing, too.
It took the management about half an hour to come to our room. The lady was quite uncomfortable with the situation and promised us a gift basket. The housekeeping cleaned both toiles and the gift basket appeared about two hours later. However the gift basket consisted of a 4 chocolate bars, 2 cheap bottles of wine and some nacho chips, which was not really satisfying.

We did not encounter further problems during the rest of our stay. Staff was friendly, wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was redundant and the evening meal edible. The whirlpool had a nice 270° city view, but was apparently so full with chlorine, that all of us had a rash after using it.

Irrespective of the excrements in the toilet I would stay at different place the next time, as the stay was quite expensive (730$/room/night) and the hotel appeared more like a good hostel.

  • Liked — wireless internet, living area, location
  • Disliked — small bedrooms, small wardrobes, cheap interior, careless housekeeping
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kowallske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago824, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of your recent stay. I hope that you will accept my apologies for the unacceptable condition of the bathroom upon your arrival.

Our mission is to be the cleanest & friendliest hotel in Chicago, and after reading your posting we obviously failed to deliver on your first night stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback as it will help us to improve the level of service that we provide to all of our customers.

I hope that you will contact me at Jerry.Keyes@Marriott.com so I can ensure your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

This new Residence Inn was a great find in downtown Chicago! It is located on Dearborn, which just a short walk to Michigan Avenue and a couple blocks from the red line train station. First of all the hotel is brand new so everything is clean and in great condition. It is not clear on the website, but this is actually one large highrise hotel containing both a Residence Inn and a Spring Hill Suites (less expensive). The lobbies are one floor above street level and when you come out of the elevator the Residence Inn is on the right and the Spring Hill Suites is on the left. Both have their own check in, eating areas, etc with a shared mini-mart in the middle. The decor is modern and inviting. The weekend rate is significantly less than the weekday rate since this is a business hotel and it includes a full hot breakfast buffet which is hard to find in downtown Chicago hotels. This was the nicest Residence Inn kitchen I have seen: stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, etc... Free wireless internet service is also included. The bed is comfortable and there were two large flatscreen TV's. The doormen and breakfast staff were especially friendly. Within a block or so was House of Blues, Hard Rock Cafe, and Ruth Chris Steakhouse.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank umichmom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend trip to Chicago where we stayed at the Residence Inn Marriott. This hotel was newly updated with everything you needed for a great cost.

We saw a show at the House of Blue which was a walk-able distance from our hotel. There were ample amount of restaurants, bars, shops, etc from the hotel as well. This hotel is in the heart of the city and very close to the river. The famous Harry Carey's restaurant/bar is directly across the street, which we went to twice! There is an Einstein Brother's Bagel's next door as well, which was convenient for snacks/coffee.

All the rooms were suite style with a modern kitchen, sofa and chair, flat screen TV, bed and bath. The kitchen was not fully equipped, but had everything that was needed for a week: glasses, plates, bowls, wine glasses, pitchers, can opener, tupperware, etc.

The continental breakfast was open early and was great!! They had multiple varieties of warm drinks (which were good while being in Chicago in Nov!) such as coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. There was a waffle machine (popular for the kids!), muffins, bagels, cereal, eggs, bacon, etc. This was one of the top free continental breakfasts we've had.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us with directions, getting taxi's, restaurant/bar suggestions, etc. One of the best things they did for us is be honest on what was a walk-able distance for us from the hotel versus needing a taxi.

For the value, this was a great hotel. We plan on coming back to Chicago and staying here a second time. I would recommend this to anyone with kids and dogs (they have a pet program)!!

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Staff was everywhere and always helpful. Although we took a cab to and from Union Station, it was easy to walk around the neighborhood. A bus stop for the northbound 22 Bus across from the hotel at Hubbard, and a Bus stop for the southbound 22 Bus on the backside of the hotel at Clark made it easy to get back and forth from the theaters downtown, as well as to connecting buses to the Miracle Mile and Navy Pier.

Bedroom in our King Suite was smaller than the usual hotel room, but living room area and kitchen made up for it. Very quiet room and nice view, especially from the pool area on the 26th floor. Great hot tub!

Nice sandwich shop next door, a pharmacy around the corner and down the block, lots of upscale restaurants within walking distance. Also enjoyed the breakfast served. Look forward to staying again in warm weather.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Touchy Elevator
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoldenSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kande1
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

This is a great hotel only one block from the river. It is easy to walk everywhere downtown from here. As a family with dietary restrictions, it was very nice to have the kitchen and be able to avoid eating out. The breakfast here is huge, and it is included. The breakfast room is nicer than most restaurants. We didn't really need another meal after the breakfast here, maybe just a snack or a light dinner in the room in the evening. There is a manager's reception Sun-Thurs, so it is possible that you could just have an apple or something in the afternoon, and be able to avoid eating out completely! The rooms are beautiful here. Our room was on the 26th floor, and it had two big bedrooms and two full bathrooms. The pull out couch was very comfortable for our 13 year old son. Another child could have slept on the cushion that comes off of the pull out couch, because it is a solid cushion, about 5 feet long and 2.5 feet wide. The two bedroom sleeps six people. We loved being on the 26th floor, it was perfect!!! I wouldn't even look into another hotel for the next time! The rooms are available from $119 a night. Our room went for $360 a night. Be aware that this is a pet friendly hotel, but it is smoke-free. We only saw one dog there, and there was no dog smell at all. The ventilation system is really good. There was a slight sewer gas smell in our bathroom. It was coming from under the toilet. They sealed it with caulk while we were there. They said they would fix it from under the toilet after we left. This is a great hotel and I can't imagine any problem that couldn't be taken care of just by asking the friendly staff. This is a great place for families to stay while visiting Chicago. There were lots of kids staying there while we were there, but the rooms were perfectly quiet inside. GREAT hotel!!!

  • Liked — The decor is red and cream and brown, very warm and modern.
  • Disliked — Sewer gas smell in bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kande1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I just arrived a few hours ago, and I must agree that the staff is friendly but unbending to give a gold member an upgrade. I agree with the smallest suite review!!! I was directed to three other rooms before I found one where I could finally open the drawer in the bedroom without hitting the bed, but there was no bathtub, only a shower. I was also told I would get a view of the fireworks, however on check-in it appears that no one bedroom suites had that view --- or any river view. I bought a pizza to heat only to return and discover there was no oven even though a full kitchen is advertised. There is only a two burner top, a full size refrig and a dishwasher---I would rather have a mini-fridge or no dishwasher and an oven. A lot of people do not "nuke" food. The evening light meal was more than adequate, but staff ran out of pasta and salad and brownies at 7:15, did not make more due to time, but did offer more bread and beverages. This has never happened anywhere I stayed before---especially with the receptionist indicating I could wait until 7:30 to make a plate for my daughter---I went to Trader Joes's and bought some pasta to go with the sauce. Yes, it is complimentary, but very much expected ...there were several other disgruntled families and businessmen. I do not like the split lobby, but obviously the owners are trying to economize in every way they can and have rented out the ground floor. It is probably safer and the second floor dining area is quite pleasant witht he second floor view.
Everything is a trade-off. I totally prefer the comfort and amenities of the Residence Inn on Walton (miracle mile),
however, it is a bit overrun with the "American Girl" groupies on the weekends and too many unruly children. This is more in the working/business section. However, many convention busses do not stop here and the front desk personnel indicated a one block walk south to the Westin River North when I called. After I checked in, it appears a three block walk to the Hilton Garden Inn for Convention shuttle.
On the positive side, it is new and very clean. The internet works very well. I have not experienced the slow elevator problem described in previous emails yet. The staff appears used to the small room comments and are trying to fend the issue as graciously as possible. The top floor pool looked very nice, as did the work out facility...much nicer than the Residence on Walton for work out and that place has no pool.
I would suspect this is a foreign owned Marriott as it is not similar to standard for this country in terms of space, amenities, etc. I will check on it.

  • Liked — The staff trying to be helpful and apologize for room size, running out of food, etc.
  • Disliked — Room size and lack of full kitchen as advertised---also, incorrect info on pick-up for convention
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lhabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing