We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #55 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed here July 12th for 1 night. It was a very nice hotel, good location, staff were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and if you are staying in Chicago for a few days this would be a great place to stay. Our room had a full kitchenette area. We were on the 20th floor and had no noise from the street.. for sure get a high level room.

Our room was not ready when we arrived (which was not until after 3) but we only waited maybe 15 minutes and the gentleman came over and said they had one ready for us. It was great they offer a free breakfast. We would for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay to get a high city view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We truly hope to have you back at the hotel the next time you are in downtown Chicago!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    350
    66
    38
    19
See reviews for
476
240
39
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

First of all I want to say the hotel is really great, especially for the price we paid for it. It was a really good deal considering we went to Chicago on 4th of July. We had a party of four (my husband, my 7 y.o. daughter and my mom) and it was our dream to visit this city since it's only a 5-hour drive from Cleveland, Ohio where we reside. The hotels in Chicago basically offer only two options for tourists: you can stay 10-15 miles away from downtown and drive (by car, bus or train which is 30-40 minutes one way mostly because of traffic) or you can stay in downtown and just walk. The first option is certainly much cheaper and usually offers free breakfast, free parking and free WiFi (exactly what I was looking for). With the second option you get much higher prices for the room and basically that's all that you get - the room. So, after giving it a good thought I decided to pay extra for comfort and not having to ride back and forth each day of our stay (which was 3 full days). But at the same time I didn't want to give up on important things and I had to admit it was unbelievably hard to find hotel in downtown with any free additions, usually the best offer was free WiFi. So when I found this Marriott Residence Inn in downtown with free breakfast and free WiFi for the great price (comparing to other downtown hotels) I was absolutely happy. Well, no free parking (valet is $62 per day; self-park is $47 per day) but I guess I had to choose anyway. So, I found a better online deal (I used ParkWhiz.com) for parking nearby (5 minutes walk from hotel) and we just left our car there because you don't really need it if you don't mind walking (usually 20-30 minutes to any attraction). The only concern that I had about the hotel was the accommodation for 4 people as we booked a studio with 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed (I was not sure if sofa bed was rollaway, hard to tell by pictures) and on the hotel website it states they don't offer any additional rollaway beds or cribs so I was concerned. And as it turned out - for nothing. The sofa bed is rollaway and even if all 4 people are adults they will fit. So that was a pleasant surprise for me. Overall everything was good during our stay, the staff was helpful and nice, check-in and check-out were a breeze taking like 2 minutes of my time (the fastest I've ever had) and our early check-in request (as well as high floor with a street view - other reviewers' recommendation) was fulfilled with no problem - we arrived at 12 pm. The breakfast was delicious and Ismeta was really fun to talk to, seems like she knows every single person there and when you only think about having a waffle she has already brought you one :) But make sure to get to the breakfast room at least one hour before closing as there can be a huge line out there (again, I'm talking about 4th of July). We got there early so we had no problem. On the downside, I would only mention two things. The actual lobby where you check-in is located on the second floor and then you have to take another elevator to get to your room which is not very convenient in my opinion. So, when you get inside there is a valet service and you go up one floor with the elevator. Then there is a shared lobby (Residence Inn on the right and Springhill Suites on the left) and then you have to walk to the elevator which is the main one (27 floors) - so you'll have to use 2 elevators every time you go out. Another thing is the water station in the lobby - it magically disappears during the day so if you are thirsty while checking in you can only use regular water fountain. In the evening though there is this amazing water station with fruit infuser inside but it empties really quick and no one seems to bother about refills. So, if it's gone - it's gone. No water, sorry. That really can be a pain during hot summer days. I understand there was a crowd due to holiday weekend but I believe there should be a solution for such days because water is maybe a trifle yet very important. The same thing with the coffee station actually, we didn't have one on our side so front desk told us to go the Springhill side. Again, if it's empty - it will stay empty. And no coffee during the day (only on breakfast time). These things are probably not the most important but still may be a real concern for some people. I would be glad not to have to mention it in my review but I think I should as it does not seem to be very hard to fix. Other than that everything was just perfect and I would definitely stay at this hotel again! Thank you, Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayyanaumenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the extremely kind review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff took great care of you. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and internet. We hope to have you back the next time you are in DT Chicago!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Residence Inn is actually connected to another hotel but they share common spaces; it’s like a ‘2 for 1’. The hotels had great staff. They were attentive, offered suggestions and we were always met with a smile. We especially enjoyed Ismeta. Ismeta was the breakfast attendant; what a fitting role for her! She was energetic, positive and made everyone feel special. She made sure our four-year-old was taken care of with plenty of nutritious options to start our long days. Our suite with full kitchen was the perfect size and clean! We had a beautiful view of the outdoor area of the apartment next door. Our daughter spent the time before bedtime sitting by the window watching out. The hotel is also central to many activities and is a block from the free trolley to the Pier. I’ve stayed in Chicago many times (for work, as a couple, as a family) and I’d return to Residence Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMARRIOTT410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We truly hope we get a chance for you to visit us again the next time you are in DT Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I'm giving this a 4 star only because the hot water system let us down. Every evening on our 3 night stay the hot water was luke warm. Other than the hot water, this is a fantastic hotel - clean, sleeping quality was sensational and staff friendly and happy to help. I will mention Ismeta, what a wonderful host at breakfast. She was happy to make our 7 yr old waffles. Its people like Ismeta that make it a wonderful stay. Hotel is located close to restaurants, shopping districts and Walgreen if you want to fend for yourself. Chicago is a fantastic city and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid the extra to have a high room. It was well worth it as we had no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review and for mentioning the outstanding work of Ismeta! She truly is an amazing person and take wonderful pride in her job and helping out each and every one of our guests! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am truly sorry the water was luke warm in the evening. I will be sending this information out to our Director of Engineering to see what may have caused this. Thank you and we hope we might be able to have you at our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spent a night using Marriott points for a king with sofabed room and were pleasantly surprised to find that we received a corner room with tons of floor-to-ceiling windows offering a fabulous view of the city. (We were on the 12th floor, so I can imagine it would be even better on higher floors).

The hotel offers a standard Residence Inn accommodation with a kitchen with granite counter, spacious bathroom with glass shower, and bed(s)/sofabed. Our room was clean and updated, and quiet from hotel noises. (This IS Chicago, however, so sirens are a part of life and may or may not occur during your stay. A firehouse is located a block away, but we were not disturbed by sirens any more than any other hotel we've stayed at in the Magnificent Mile/River North/Gold Coast area). Self-park at the attached Kenzie St. garage is $47/night for hotel guests and you can access hotel directly from parking garage.

Ismeta was a treasure at breakfast (as I see other reviewers have noted!) and was even so helpful to pack us a snack-pack for the road with fruit and muffins.

Only one drawback that might be helpful to readers is the location: If you are wanting to be right on Michigan Ave or right next to it, this hotel is a few blocks inland from the Magnificent Mile. It wasn't a problem for us, but other travelers might want to be closer to the 'action' and this might not be an ideal location for them.

Highly recommended hotel for a clean, spacious room with free breakfast in the River North neighborhood! We will return on our next visit to the Windy City!

Room Tip: Room 1202 is on a corner with tons of windows for a beautiful view of Chicago!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfitzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 5-Star review! I am glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you back again the next time you are in DT Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I received outstanding Service from our server Ismeta at breakfast time. She was very friendly and made the breakfast time very enjoyable and she always made it welcoming and enjoyable. I can only say this. She made it an enjoyable visit to the Residence Inn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 4-Star review! Ismeta is our breakfast attendant and she is top-notch! She welcomes every guest to her home and aims to provide true hospitality. I will be sharing your comments with our staff and acknowledge the wonderful service Ismeta provided you during your stay!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I made a reservation through Booking.com and needed to cancel. After numerous attempts to cancel thru Booking.com (never, ever use that site!) I called the Inn. Stephanie was wonderful & very helpful. If she's an indication of the quality of the staff I'll definitely stay there our next time in Chicago!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank techly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice words regarding a staff member at our Marriott Reservations department. I'm glad you had a very nice experience and we hope we'll be able to have you stay at our property as well next time. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing