We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, spacious room-- what's not to like?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, spacious room-- what's not to like?!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spent a night using Marriott points for a king with sofabed room and were pleasantly surprised to find that we received a corner room with tons of floor-to-ceiling windows offering a fabulous view of the city. (We were on the 12th floor, so I can imagine it would be even better on higher floors).

The hotel offers a standard Residence Inn accommodation with a kitchen with granite counter, spacious bathroom with glass shower, and bed(s)/sofabed. Our room was clean and updated, and quiet from hotel noises. (This IS Chicago, however, so sirens are a part of life and may or may not occur during your stay. A firehouse is located a block away, but we were not disturbed by sirens any more than any other hotel we've stayed at in the Magnificent Mile/River North/Gold Coast area). Self-park at the attached Kenzie St. garage is $47/night for hotel guests and you can access hotel directly from parking garage.

Ismeta was a treasure at breakfast (as I see other reviewers have noted!) and was even so helpful to pack us a snack-pack for the road with fruit and muffins.

Only one drawback that might be helpful to readers is the location: If you are wanting to be right on Michigan Ave or right next to it, this hotel is a few blocks inland from the Magnificent Mile. It wasn't a problem for us, but other travelers might want to be closer to the 'action' and this might not be an ideal location for them.

Highly recommended hotel for a clean, spacious room with free breakfast in the River North neighborhood! We will return on our next visit to the Windy City!

Room Tip: Room 1202 is on a corner with tons of windows for a beautiful view of Chicago!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfitzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 5-Star review! I am glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you back again the next time you are in DT Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    350
    66
    38
    19
See reviews for
473
238
39
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I received outstanding Service from our server Ismeta at breakfast time. She was very friendly and made the breakfast time very enjoyable and she always made it welcoming and enjoyable. I can only say this. She made it an enjoyable visit to the Residence Inn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 4-Star review! Ismeta is our breakfast attendant and she is top-notch! She welcomes every guest to her home and aims to provide true hospitality. I will be sharing your comments with our staff and acknowledge the wonderful service Ismeta provided you during your stay!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I made a reservation through Booking.com and needed to cancel. After numerous attempts to cancel thru Booking.com (never, ever use that site!) I called the Inn. Stephanie was wonderful & very helpful. If she's an indication of the quality of the staff I'll definitely stay there our next time in Chicago!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank techly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice words regarding a staff member at our Marriott Reservations department. I'm glad you had a very nice experience and we hope we'll be able to have you stay at our property as well next time. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Well located, easy to find hotel. Rooms are very clean and up to date, but as you may expect in a downtown hotel, small for a Residence Inn. 28 floor hotel. Pool and gym on top floor. Plenty to eat nearby. Area feels pretty safe, even into the evening. Service is nothing short of outstanding. Probably some of the best I have ever seen at a Residence Inn, and this is something since service is usually quite good at these hotels. The Breakfast staff was amazing. The woman in charge was probably the best at her job I have ever seen. Making waffles for people, helping parents with small kids. Outstanding. Everyone went out of there way to say hi and ask if we needed anything. When I come back to Chicago this place will be at the top of my list

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beavertontim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the extremely nice 5-Star review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the nice words regarding our very own, Ismeta! She truly is a wonderful associate who sincerely cares about our guest's stay. Thank you again and we hope to have you again soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a great place to stay to tour Chicago. Transportation was nearby and the hotel staff helped you get any where you needed to go. The hotel offered an excellent breakfast and evening gathering. They offered a very nice market place and our room offered a complete kitchen. Grocery stores were nearby and transportation to and from O'hare was available.

Front Desk staff and the breakfast staff provided fantastic service.

Room Tip: High Floors have excellent views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for this very nice 5-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are always looking to be the friendliest staff in downtown Chicago! I truly hope you are able to visit us again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a flood in our condo and needed a place to stay for a few weeks while they fixed our place. The staff here goes above and beyond to make sure you're comfortable and have whatever you need. Be sure to grab breakfast and say hi to Ismeta, she is one of the friendliest and nicest people that works here. She makes everyone smile every morning! This hotel is dog friendly and they are nice and accommodating to dogs. The area is great, plenty of restaurants and bars to go to!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the very kind words about our hotel and staff during a difficult time for you. We truly live the mission of being the cleanest and friendliest hotel and Ismeta is one of our truest ambassadors. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and I am even happier to know you were able to move back in to your condo. We hope to see you again, but hopefully it will be more of a leisure trip for you this time around. Thank you again!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

location provides reasonable access to all you want to do. rooms are a bit smaller than most Residence Inns as the hide-a-bed and the bed share the combo BR, living room, but doable for family of 3 or 4. full kitchen perfect for extended stay. complimentary breakfast and HH reception more than adequate and the staff go above and beyond to make stay comfortable. when traveling to this city, you might want to leave car behind as parking approaches $50 per day and muni transportation readily available.

Room Tip: high floor to maximize view and lessen noise, however, avoid 2608 as exercise room and weight machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandS1740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for the very nice survey! I am glad to see you recognize our wonderful staff. They truly try to be the friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago! Thank you again and I hope to have you back at our hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing