We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #41 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The location of Residence Inn River North is in an excellent location and near everything I needed to get to. I have been to a few hotels in the area and this one stands out in that the rooms are very spacious, clean and have everything needed for a comfortable stay. The morning breakfast is good, although their coffee needs work (I'm picky!). The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are generally good; if you want a "view" ask for a street-side one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for the 5-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have stayed in 4 hotels in this area of Chicago. I really do like this part of town. Easy to walk to many attractions, tons of resturants and entertainment choices, and very easy to get to airports from this side of town.

I think this may be my favorite of the hotels I have been to. Seemed like a quieter location than some. Room was silent at night. Usual Residence Inn experience, good size room, nice breakfast, and clean

Overall, I would sty here again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our hotel the most out of the 4 you have stayed at in the area! We look forward to your next stay when you visit the area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Good bang for your buck- handy location in River North when visiting Chicago for events in Downtown and the Loop. Shopping on Michigan Ave. is close and lots of world class restaurants all in walking distance. Not a high end hotel but good, clean accommodations with helpful service and food/coffee in the mornings.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for the great 5-Star review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed the great location at hotel has. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed a long weekend at this Chicago hotel. Centrally located within an easy walk to the Mag Mile and Millennium Park. Plenty of restaurants and shopping in close proximity.
Great service from the "breakfast lady" who kept the waffle machine moving and was extra solicitous of the kids.
Only negative was the street noise. Even on the 17th floor it we heard sirens and honking all night. The hotel is located quite close to the fire station.
Rooms are on the small side, especially with the fold out couch deployed but we were in town to see the sights so this wasn't a big issue for us.
Pool on the 27th floor was very popular with all the kids in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a survey! We truly appreciate your 4-Star review of our hotel . Our hotel truly is great for families as we are in a great location with lots of things to do with the kids. We hope to see you again on your next trip to downtown Chicago!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was quite possibly the best stay we have stayed at in the USA. We´ve been to many of the big cities, but never stayed in a hotel quite like this one. To start off, the bed was great. The room had a kitchen with everything we needed. There was a dining room and work station and this came in handy too. The bedroom was great with enough room for our cot. Every morning we were greeted with a smile and great service. The breakfasts were great and a perfect start to the day. In the evenings there was an "evening social". Here the food varied, but overall it was ok. Barbecue evening was the most popular and we had to queue up a fair bit, but with it all being free this was not a problem at all. The swimming pool was great and we used this with our kids every day. The location is good too and we were able to explore Chicago with no hassle at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families as well as couples.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombomb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and encountered no problems. Thank you again and we hope to have you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it is always excellent. The front desk staff are friendly and the breakfast/social hour staff are incredible. Staying here feels like coming home due to their friendly welcome and excellent customer service.
The spacious rooms are always exceptionally clean. The River North area has fantastic amenities and feels very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the very nice review! We truly believe in being the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago. I'm so glad you enjoy each and every one of your stays. We'll be looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a nice weekend visit here, definitely a good place for a family stay in this fantastic town.

Staff was really great - uniformly pleasant and helpful. Hotel is well-maintained and very clean. The hotel lobby is not located at street level – but requires you to go up one level in an elevator. I liked this as it seemed to provide an extra level of security.
Room was very nice and featured a beautiful kitchen space – not really a kitchenette – this is more like a small but full-featured kitchen. The kitchen came fully equipped with dishes, glasses and a diverse set of necessary cooking utensils. There is a Jewel-Osco just a block and a half and away, and more specialized grocery stars including Trader Joes and Whole Foods not much farther.

I can’t say that I agree with the designation of these units as “suites” – the kitchen in each unit makes the space larger than a typical hotel room, but the actual size of the living space is no larger than a conventional, non-suite guest room.

A real treat is the indoor pool and exercise room. Both of these are located at the very top of the hotel and give you pretty spectacular views of Chicago. A nice treat to be up there and look around. The exercise room is smallish and a bit cramped but offers an excellent selection of exercise equipment and in quantities that should mean a machine in always available. The pool was nice enough – but the liner is coming detached so there is extensive puckering all around. A little off-putting, but considering the view, you couldn’t complain too much.

Breakfast buffet was nice, but a bit sub-par as far as breakfast buffets go – especially with the limited choices available. Evening reception is nice, but nothing special, Coors light, some low cost wine and snacks. Both breakfast and reception are served in a lobby reception space that was very pleasant – a great place to sit and relax even outside of breakfast and reception hours.

The hotel offers self-laundry facilities – in fact this is basically a small laundromat. There are several washers and dryers – there were always at least a few open whenever we needed to do laundry.

Location – the hotel isn’t particularly close to anything but isn’t too far from anything: both the Water tower and Millennium park are pretty healthy walks (but doable). Red and blue subway lines are both relatively close, but again require modest walks. There is a bus stop just across the street that has good links to the North Michigan avenue sites, while a bit farther East by the Wrigley building or directly south just across the river are bus stops that have convenient routes to the museum campus or Hyde Park.

Overall, very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laudrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for the nice review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I will be sharing your comments to our leadership team to see if there are any ways we can improve upon some of your comments and also celebrate some of the great compliments as well. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $125 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing