We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed a long weekend at this Chicago hotel. Centrally located within an easy walk to the Mag Mile and Millennium Park. Plenty of restaurants and shopping in close proximity.
Great service from the "breakfast lady" who kept the waffle machine moving and was extra solicitous of the kids.
Only negative was the street noise. Even on the 17th floor it we heard sirens and honking all night. The hotel is located quite close to the fire station.
Rooms are on the small side, especially with the fold out couch deployed but we were in town to see the sights so this wasn't a big issue for us.
Pool on the 27th floor was very popular with all the kids in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a survey! We truly appreciate your 4-Star review of our hotel . Our hotel truly is great for families as we are in a great location with lots of things to do with the kids. We hope to see you again on your next trip to downtown Chicago!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    350
    66
    38
    19
See reviews for
473
237
39
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lavik, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was quite possibly the best stay we have stayed at in the USA. We´ve been to many of the big cities, but never stayed in a hotel quite like this one. To start off, the bed was great. The room had a kitchen with everything we needed. There was a dining room and work station and this came in handy too. The bedroom was great with enough room for our cot. Every morning we were greeted with a smile and great service. The breakfasts were great and a perfect start to the day. In the evenings there was an "evening social". Here the food varied, but overall it was ok. Barbecue evening was the most popular and we had to queue up a fair bit, but with it all being free this was not a problem at all. The swimming pool was great and we used this with our kids every day. The location is good too and we were able to explore Chicago with no hassle at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families as well as couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombomb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and encountered no problems. Thank you again and we hope to have you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it is always excellent. The front desk staff are friendly and the breakfast/social hour staff are incredible. Staying here feels like coming home due to their friendly welcome and excellent customer service.
The spacious rooms are always exceptionally clean. The River North area has fantastic amenities and feels very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review! We truly believe in being the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago. I'm so glad you enjoy each and every one of your stays. We'll be looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a nice weekend visit here, definitely a good place for a family stay in this fantastic town.

Staff was really great - uniformly pleasant and helpful. Hotel is well-maintained and very clean. The hotel lobby is not located at street level – but requires you to go up one level in an elevator. I liked this as it seemed to provide an extra level of security.
Room was very nice and featured a beautiful kitchen space – not really a kitchenette – this is more like a small but full-featured kitchen. The kitchen came fully equipped with dishes, glasses and a diverse set of necessary cooking utensils. There is a Jewel-Osco just a block and a half and away, and more specialized grocery stars including Trader Joes and Whole Foods not much farther.

I can’t say that I agree with the designation of these units as “suites” – the kitchen in each unit makes the space larger than a typical hotel room, but the actual size of the living space is no larger than a conventional, non-suite guest room.

A real treat is the indoor pool and exercise room. Both of these are located at the very top of the hotel and give you pretty spectacular views of Chicago. A nice treat to be up there and look around. The exercise room is smallish and a bit cramped but offers an excellent selection of exercise equipment and in quantities that should mean a machine in always available. The pool was nice enough – but the liner is coming detached so there is extensive puckering all around. A little off-putting, but considering the view, you couldn’t complain too much.

Breakfast buffet was nice, but a bit sub-par as far as breakfast buffets go – especially with the limited choices available. Evening reception is nice, but nothing special, Coors light, some low cost wine and snacks. Both breakfast and reception are served in a lobby reception space that was very pleasant – a great place to sit and relax even outside of breakfast and reception hours.

The hotel offers self-laundry facilities – in fact this is basically a small laundromat. There are several washers and dryers – there were always at least a few open whenever we needed to do laundry.

Location – the hotel isn’t particularly close to anything but isn’t too far from anything: both the Water tower and Millennium park are pretty healthy walks (but doable). Red and blue subway lines are both relatively close, but again require modest walks. There is a bus stop just across the street that has good links to the North Michigan avenue sites, while a bit farther East by the Wrigley building or directly south just across the river are bus stops that have convenient routes to the museum campus or Hyde Park.

Overall, very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laudrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I will be sharing your comments to our leadership team to see if there are any ways we can improve upon some of your comments and also celebrate some of the great compliments as well. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just back from a 7 day stay at the hotel, and what a wonderful stay it was.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left I could not praise the hotel and staff enough.
Our room was on the 3rd Floor as one of us does not like heights, there was some street noise but nothing that bothered us. The room was large had a Microwave, Fridge, Hob, Dishwasher and everything thing you needed. Beds were lovely and comfortable. Wifi in the hotel was free and you never lost your connection, you did have to sign in each day to get connected but that was not a problem, if you needed to print there was a computer in the reception area and there was no charge for this.
We did take a look at the Gym and Pool but never got around to using them, but they looked very nice.
Nothing was too much bother for any of the staff, they were all friendly, efficient and happy in their work, from Reception Staff to Housekeeping Staff and we cannot forget the Breakfast Staff.
Ismeta greeted us on our first morning with a great welcome and for the week she looked after us so well, nothing was too much bother for her and she made great waffles, even though she was very busy, she took time to talk to the guests and suggest things to do in Chicago which was a great help to us.
The hotel served free dinner to guests Monday to Thursday and it was great, lovely food and if you wanted you could get Beer & Wine at no charge. They did not served a big 4 Course Dinner, but they served Pasta’s, Salads and Chocolate Cake one night and it was lovely. Not many hotel ‘s gives you free dinners.
The hotel is in such a great location, within walking distance to most places we wanted to go to.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody and next time we are back in Chicago we will stay there again, out of all the hotel we have stayed in I would say this is the best.
Keep up the good work,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for this amazing review of our hotel! I'm so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you agiain the next time you book at our hotel on your next trip to Chicago! Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Had meetings at Keefers and Harry Caray's so it made sense to book in here as it is across the street. I didn't realize so much more is right here. The hotel itself is clean and in great shape. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The room was nice and roomy considering it is in Downtown Chicago. If I was here with my wife and two kids a bigger room would be desirable but this is great for one or two people. The room was new and sparkling clean. Has a refrigerator stove and microwave in the kitchen plus a dishwasher if you really miss doing dishes. Has a coffee maker and all the usual amenities. The wifi worked flawlessly too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay while here on meetings. This hotel truly does have a wonderful location and we do our very best to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago! Thank you again and we hope to have you back for your next business trip!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the River North. You can't go wrong with a Residence Inn. Free wifi, breakfast, and happy hour. Rooms are very spacious and come with a mini kitchen. The room was business-ready with a good desk and lots of outlets. Rooms were very clean and well-appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would go back. It would be a great hotel for families as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank alliecat2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the the very nice review! The Residence Inn really can cater for both the business traveler and families. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to downtown Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing