We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it is always excellent. The front desk staff are friendly and the breakfast/social hour staff are incredible. Staying here feels like coming home due to their friendly welcome and excellent customer service.
The spacious rooms are always exceptionally clean. The River North area has fantastic amenities and feels very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the very nice review! We truly believe in being the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago. I'm so glad you enjoy each and every one of your stays. We'll be looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a nice weekend visit here, definitely a good place for a family stay in this fantastic town.

Staff was really great - uniformly pleasant and helpful. Hotel is well-maintained and very clean. The hotel lobby is not located at street level – but requires you to go up one level in an elevator. I liked this as it seemed to provide an extra level of security.
Room was very nice and featured a beautiful kitchen space – not really a kitchenette – this is more like a small but full-featured kitchen. The kitchen came fully equipped with dishes, glasses and a diverse set of necessary cooking utensils. There is a Jewel-Osco just a block and a half and away, and more specialized grocery stars including Trader Joes and Whole Foods not much farther.

I can’t say that I agree with the designation of these units as “suites” – the kitchen in each unit makes the space larger than a typical hotel room, but the actual size of the living space is no larger than a conventional, non-suite guest room.

A real treat is the indoor pool and exercise room. Both of these are located at the very top of the hotel and give you pretty spectacular views of Chicago. A nice treat to be up there and look around. The exercise room is smallish and a bit cramped but offers an excellent selection of exercise equipment and in quantities that should mean a machine in always available. The pool was nice enough – but the liner is coming detached so there is extensive puckering all around. A little off-putting, but considering the view, you couldn’t complain too much.

Breakfast buffet was nice, but a bit sub-par as far as breakfast buffets go – especially with the limited choices available. Evening reception is nice, but nothing special, Coors light, some low cost wine and snacks. Both breakfast and reception are served in a lobby reception space that was very pleasant – a great place to sit and relax even outside of breakfast and reception hours.

The hotel offers self-laundry facilities – in fact this is basically a small laundromat. There are several washers and dryers – there were always at least a few open whenever we needed to do laundry.

Location – the hotel isn’t particularly close to anything but isn’t too far from anything: both the Water tower and Millennium park are pretty healthy walks (but doable). Red and blue subway lines are both relatively close, but again require modest walks. There is a bus stop just across the street that has good links to the North Michigan avenue sites, while a bit farther East by the Wrigley building or directly south just across the river are bus stops that have convenient routes to the museum campus or Hyde Park.

Overall, very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laudrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for the nice review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I will be sharing your comments to our leadership team to see if there are any ways we can improve upon some of your comments and also celebrate some of the great compliments as well. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just back from a 7 day stay at the hotel, and what a wonderful stay it was.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left I could not praise the hotel and staff enough.
Our room was on the 3rd Floor as one of us does not like heights, there was some street noise but nothing that bothered us. The room was large had a Microwave, Fridge, Hob, Dishwasher and everything thing you needed. Beds were lovely and comfortable. Wifi in the hotel was free and you never lost your connection, you did have to sign in each day to get connected but that was not a problem, if you needed to print there was a computer in the reception area and there was no charge for this.
We did take a look at the Gym and Pool but never got around to using them, but they looked very nice.
Nothing was too much bother for any of the staff, they were all friendly, efficient and happy in their work, from Reception Staff to Housekeeping Staff and we cannot forget the Breakfast Staff.
Ismeta greeted us on our first morning with a great welcome and for the week she looked after us so well, nothing was too much bother for her and she made great waffles, even though she was very busy, she took time to talk to the guests and suggest things to do in Chicago which was a great help to us.
The hotel served free dinner to guests Monday to Thursday and it was great, lovely food and if you wanted you could get Beer & Wine at no charge. They did not served a big 4 Course Dinner, but they served Pasta’s, Salads and Chocolate Cake one night and it was lovely. Not many hotel ‘s gives you free dinners.
The hotel is in such a great location, within walking distance to most places we wanted to go to.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody and next time we are back in Chicago we will stay there again, out of all the hotel we have stayed in I would say this is the best.
Keep up the good work,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for this amazing review of our hotel! I'm so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you agiain the next time you book at our hotel on your next trip to Chicago! Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had meetings at Keefers and Harry Caray's so it made sense to book in here as it is across the street. I didn't realize so much more is right here. The hotel itself is clean and in great shape. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The room was nice and roomy considering it is in Downtown Chicago. If I was here with my wife and two kids a bigger room would be desirable but this is great for one or two people. The room was new and sparkling clean. Has a refrigerator stove and microwave in the kitchen plus a dishwasher if you really miss doing dishes. Has a coffee maker and all the usual amenities. The wifi worked flawlessly too.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay while here on meetings. This hotel truly does have a wonderful location and we do our very best to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago! Thank you again and we hope to have you back for your next business trip!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the River North. You can't go wrong with a Residence Inn. Free wifi, breakfast, and happy hour. Rooms are very spacious and come with a mini kitchen. The room was business-ready with a good desk and lots of outlets. Rooms were very clean and well-appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would go back. It would be a great hotel for families as well.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank alliecat2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for the the very nice review! The Residence Inn really can cater for both the business traveler and families. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to downtown Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived into Chicago around 10am and decided to call the hotel for an early check-in. The front desk informed us that we could come by at anytime as they had a room ready for us. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly and were even asked if we wanted anything to drink from the breakfast area. We stayed in a studio room which was very clean and an adequate size for our needs. We did not need or ask for much while we were there, though I get the feeling that anything within reason would have been accommodated. Parking is expensive at nearly $50/nt, but you'll find ridiculous parking rates charged in the downtown of any US major city and you really don't need a car downtown. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accomodate your request for an early check in. I'm so glad you noticed the friendliness of our staff. We truly live by our mission of being the "cleanest and friendliest hotel in Downtown Chicago". We hope to see you again for your next trip to the River North location!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My Los Angeles friend and I flew into Chicago for a "girl's week". What a treat to find a two bedroom each with separate bath suite. There was also a separate living-dining area with kitchen! Lovely, at opposite ends of the suite the quiet bedrooms were luxurious with great views.
Excellent housekeeping service kept everything fresh. The complimentary breakfast buffet has options for everyone plus a genuinely special hostess greeting each guest, each day with a smile. The food is hot, lots of options, varies daily with milk, yogurt, fruit. Awesome location, roomy with friendly staff. Love this place!

Room Tip: Corner suites large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammieGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review! I'm am so glad you enjoyed your stay! There are not a lot of options for two-bedroom suites in downtown Chicago and I am glad to say that our hotel has them. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you choose us again for your next "girl's week"!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $132 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing