We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Thank you so much for a Great Week in your Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #62 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thank you so much for a Great Week in your Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just back from a 7 day stay at the hotel, and what a wonderful stay it was.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left I could not praise the hotel and staff enough.
Our room was on the 3rd Floor as one of us does not like heights, there was some street noise but nothing that bothered us. The room was large had a Microwave, Fridge, Hob, Dishwasher and everything thing you needed. Beds were lovely and comfortable. Wifi in the hotel was free and you never lost your connection, you did have to sign in each day to get connected but that was not a problem, if you needed to print there was a computer in the reception area and there was no charge for this.
We did take a look at the Gym and Pool but never got around to using them, but they looked very nice.
Nothing was too much bother for any of the staff, they were all friendly, efficient and happy in their work, from Reception Staff to Housekeeping Staff and we cannot forget the Breakfast Staff.
Ismeta greeted us on our first morning with a great welcome and for the week she looked after us so well, nothing was too much bother for her and she made great waffles, even though she was very busy, she took time to talk to the guests and suggest things to do in Chicago which was a great help to us.
The hotel served free dinner to guests Monday to Thursday and it was great, lovely food and if you wanted you could get Beer & Wine at no charge. They did not served a big 4 Course Dinner, but they served Pasta’s, Salads and Chocolate Cake one night and it was lovely. Not many hotel ‘s gives you free dinners.
The hotel is in such a great location, within walking distance to most places we wanted to go to.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody and next time we are back in Chicago we will stay there again, out of all the hotel we have stayed in I would say this is the best.
Keep up the good work,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for this amazing review of our hotel! I'm so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you agiain the next time you book at our hotel on your next trip to Chicago! Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    297
    57
    32
    16
See reviews for
411
198
35
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Had meetings at Keefers and Harry Caray's so it made sense to book in here as it is across the street. I didn't realize so much more is right here. The hotel itself is clean and in great shape. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The room was nice and roomy considering it is in Downtown Chicago. If I was here with my wife and two kids a bigger room would be desirable but this is great for one or two people. The room was new and sparkling clean. Has a refrigerator stove and microwave in the kitchen plus a dishwasher if you really miss doing dishes. Has a coffee maker and all the usual amenities. The wifi worked flawlessly too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay while here on meetings. This hotel truly does have a wonderful location and we do our very best to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago! Thank you again and we hope to have you back for your next business trip!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the River North. You can't go wrong with a Residence Inn. Free wifi, breakfast, and happy hour. Rooms are very spacious and come with a mini kitchen. The room was business-ready with a good desk and lots of outlets. Rooms were very clean and well-appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would go back. It would be a great hotel for families as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank alliecat2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the the very nice review! The Residence Inn really can cater for both the business traveler and families. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to downtown Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived into Chicago around 10am and decided to call the hotel for an early check-in. The front desk informed us that we could come by at anytime as they had a room ready for us. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly and were even asked if we wanted anything to drink from the breakfast area. We stayed in a studio room which was very clean and an adequate size for our needs. We did not need or ask for much while we were there, though I get the feeling that anything within reason would have been accommodated. Parking is expensive at nearly $50/nt, but you'll find ridiculous parking rates charged in the downtown of any US major city and you really don't need a car downtown. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accomodate your request for an early check in. I'm so glad you noticed the friendliness of our staff. We truly live by our mission of being the "cleanest and friendliest hotel in Downtown Chicago". We hope to see you again for your next trip to the River North location!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My Los Angeles friend and I flew into Chicago for a "girl's week". What a treat to find a two bedroom each with separate bath suite. There was also a separate living-dining area with kitchen! Lovely, at opposite ends of the suite the quiet bedrooms were luxurious with great views.
Excellent housekeeping service kept everything fresh. The complimentary breakfast buffet has options for everyone plus a genuinely special hostess greeting each guest, each day with a smile. The food is hot, lots of options, varies daily with milk, yogurt, fruit. Awesome location, roomy with friendly staff. Love this place!

Room Tip: Corner suites large and sunny.
See more room tips
Green Features: well lit rooms; options for saving towels; green and peaceful
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SammieGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review! I'm am so glad you enjoyed your stay! There are not a lot of options for two-bedroom suites in downtown Chicago and I am glad to say that our hotel has them. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you choose us again for your next "girl's week"!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel has all the great comforts of home at a wonderful price in Chicago.
The hotel had great amenities which made it perfect for a week long vacation in Chicago for my husband and I. We found the location very convenient for us to visit all of the restaurants and tourist attractions that we wanted. We traveled by bus and metro to get everywhere and it worked wonderfully. The hotel bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and all of the staff was very kind and willing to help us make plans in the city! We traveled to Chicago in August, so the city was bustling with summer actives, but the hotel was so quiet and peaceful after a long day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndsayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the great 5-Star Review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Chicago!

Sincerely

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stated in the Residence Inn for 3 nights in a King Studio. Great size room, with mini kitchenette (microwave, hob, fridge/freezer) and had great views of Chicago. Breakfast excellent and the lady serving in the mornings so cheerful and an expert waffle maker. Plenty of food, scrambled eggs, sausage pattis, cereals, fruit, yohurts, juice, muffins, bagels etc.

Location is excellent, 10 min walk from both Michican Ave and State Street for some shopping. Lots of fantastic places to eat nearby. Ate in Harry Carays one night and had the best steak ever. Ate in the Cheesecake factory, fantastic burgers and of course cheesecake. Went to Ginos East, great thin crust pizza and Portillos also nearby for delicious hot dogs.

Went to the new fashion Outlets in Rosemont (got the blue line from station at State st) and was a 15 min walk from the train station at Rosemont (beside Intercontinental Hotel). We got great bargains there and would highly recommend, esp for childrens clothes., had to get taxi back with all the bags , about 40 dollars.

Did the Segway tour along the lakefront (leaves from Navy Pier which was c15 min walk from Hotel) which was the highlight of the holiday, great views of the city and you cover a huge amount of ground in 2 hours. Very easy to use but you will be tired afterwards.
Went to signature lounge, very busy but good views if you get near the window. Willis tower and the skydeck (go early).

Overall had a fantastic trip to Chicago. Hotel was in great location, only had to get a cab from the fashion outlets, walked everywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bebecailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found plenty of things to do while on your trip. We truly have a wonderful location at River North and we are only a walk a way from nearly everything! We hope to see you again on your next trip to the downtown Chicago area!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing