We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #59 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel has all the great comforts of home at a wonderful price in Chicago.
The hotel had great amenities which made it perfect for a week long vacation in Chicago for my husband and I. We found the location very convenient for us to visit all of the restaurants and tourist attractions that we wanted. We traveled by bus and metro to get everywhere and it worked wonderfully. The hotel bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and all of the staff was very kind and willing to help us make plans in the city! We traveled to Chicago in August, so the city was bustling with summer actives, but the hotel was so quiet and peaceful after a long day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndsayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the great 5-Star Review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Chicago!

Sincerely

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    345
    65
    38
    19
See reviews for
469
236
39
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stated in the Residence Inn for 3 nights in a King Studio. Great size room, with mini kitchenette (microwave, hob, fridge/freezer) and had great views of Chicago. Breakfast excellent and the lady serving in the mornings so cheerful and an expert waffle maker. Plenty of food, scrambled eggs, sausage pattis, cereals, fruit, yohurts, juice, muffins, bagels etc.

Location is excellent, 10 min walk from both Michican Ave and State Street for some shopping. Lots of fantastic places to eat nearby. Ate in Harry Carays one night and had the best steak ever. Ate in the Cheesecake factory, fantastic burgers and of course cheesecake. Went to Ginos East, great thin crust pizza and Portillos also nearby for delicious hot dogs.

Went to the new fashion Outlets in Rosemont (got the blue line from station at State st) and was a 15 min walk from the train station at Rosemont (beside Intercontinental Hotel). We got great bargains there and would highly recommend, esp for childrens clothes., had to get taxi back with all the bags , about 40 dollars.

Did the Segway tour along the lakefront (leaves from Navy Pier which was c15 min walk from Hotel) which was the highlight of the holiday, great views of the city and you cover a huge amount of ground in 2 hours. Very easy to use but you will be tired afterwards.
Went to signature lounge, very busy but good views if you get near the window. Willis tower and the skydeck (go early).

Overall had a fantastic trip to Chicago. Hotel was in great location, only had to get a cab from the fashion outlets, walked everywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebecailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found plenty of things to do while on your trip. We truly have a wonderful location at River North and we are only a walk a way from nearly everything! We hope to see you again on your next trip to the downtown Chicago area!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on Fall Break - which also happened to be my son's 16th birthday weekend. We initially reserved a 1-Bedroom Suite with sofabed, but when we got to our room, we found that we had a lovely view of the neighboring parking garage. If we were only staying one night, we could have lived with the horrid view, but we were going to be there for 4 nights, are a rewards member and it was my kids' first overnight stay in Chicago. So we returned to the front desk to request a room with a view. The staffer begrudgingly accommodated us thanks to another guest who was checking out and raved about her corner room's view. The hotel didn't appear to be full by any means, but he seemed reluctant to find us a better room....not sure what was up there, but we ended up with a smaller room, but it had a great view.
We did arrive in time for the manager's evening reception and enjoyed grabbing a quick bite to eat after having travelled several hours to get to Chicago.
Breakfast buffet was nice and, as many others have commented, Ismela (not sure if that's how you spell it) was there fussing over each guest and table making sure everyone had what they needed and making waffles for anyone and everyone. She inquired how long we were staying and made us a little care package to take up to the room for later. There is no way anyone could leave from that breakfast in a bad mood - what a great start to each morning.
We purchased tickets for the Shedd Aquarium from the front desk for a small discount however they only sell adult tickets. This took a while to get accomplished as there was only one guy working the front desk, but was a great time saver at the aquarium entrance. While we were waiting, a manager came out and offered us snacks from their market/convenience store...a nice gesture.
Our room was always clean when we arrived back after a day of sight seeing.
We had a problem with a sink drain one morning - we reported it to the desk when we came down for breakfast and it was fixed by the time we finished eating.
This hotel shares a lobby and pool with the attached SpringHill Suites. The pool can be a bit crowded as it is not very large, but a plus, it's on the 27th floor and has a spectacular view. The fitness room is well equipped and frequently used and has the same great 27th floor view.
We self-parked our car and walked to most places or grabbed an always available taxi for longer distances.
This hotel was great for our needs and I'd come back - but only if I could be guaranteed a room with a view.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on Kinsie & Dearborn
See more room tips
Green Features: Although there are signs to use your linens for multiple days, the housekeeping staff will replace them regardless of what you do. Loved having china and real silverware for breakfast instead of disposable...at least on the weekdays.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm very sorry we were not able to get you into a room with a view of the city right away. As you can imagine, these are the most requested rooms in the hotel and do to our location, we are usually full most of the time. Although we cannot gurantee a room with a view, we will do everything we can to give our guests the room that fits their needs best. I'm glad the rest of your stay was great and that our breakfast team really took great care of you. Thank you again and we hope you visit back soon!

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently made a reservation for the restaurant Sixteen (located on the sixteenth floor of Trump International Tower Chicago). I usually stay at the Marriott Midway property however, the Residence Inn Downtown was greatly located! It has spectacular views of downtown, is not far from the hustle and bustle of the river and the views were provided by our very high floor, which was given to us on request with no problem by the helpful Front Desk associates. Everything clean, the beds are always comfortable, bathrooms always a good size and the kitchen and living rooms of a Residence Inn always stock great amenities and utensils. I will certainly continue to be a guest if a Residence Inn...great convenience, great properties!

Room Tip: Get the high floors for spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia_Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your time here at River North. We hope you visit us again the next time you are in the downtown Chicago area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As many reviews say, this is the place to be downtown. It's close to shopping, restaurants, bars and everything else you would need - a great view from the room and amazingly quiet for a busy location. We got a very good $152 AAA rate for a roomy king studio with a kitchen. The rooms are spotless and beds very comfortable. Valet parking is pricey but so is everything downtown so it was ok. Once you drive in Chicago rush hour, you'll be glad to valet and walk around anyways. No hesitation to recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstacy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review of our hotel! As you stated, we have an ideal location at River North and we are a minute's walk away from everything you need! I'm very glad to hear you noticed the amazing job our housekeeping team does each and every day! Our mission of the hotel is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago. I will make sure to pass on your kind review to our housekeeping department. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The staff at this place are first class. It isn't particularly cheap and the absence of in-room safes is a significant de-merit but factor in the foldaway bed in the suites (if you're travelling with children) and the extremely generous happy hour from Monday to Thursday (consists of a full self service meal with beer and/or wine) then it suddenly all makes sense.
Book with confidence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelandjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our rooms do not have in-room safes. However, we do offer complimentary safety-deposit boxes to our guests that are located at the front desk. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff were super friendly, always willing to help. The rooms are clean and the house keeping team are always around to ensure your room is clean. Free breakfast and there is a friendly lady who is wiiling to help you in the breakfast. Major attractions are close, some are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 441AhmedA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the very nice 5-Star review! I'm glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to pass on your comments to both the housekeeping and food & beverage departments so we can celebrate their service. We hope we see you again the next time you visit the Chicago Downtown / River North area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing