We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #59 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived late at night. First floor entrance is for two hotels. On lobby level make sure you go to the correct side depending on what hotel you are checking into. We went to the wrong side and were treated like criminals. When we went to the appropriate Residence Inn side check in was quick and easy, but we were not given info about breakfast or anything else. I guess we were not the only ones who were exhausted given the late hour. The lobby are could definitely use some sprucing up. The carpet looks awful. It very worn, coming apart, etc The rooms look a bit worn, too. The furniture in our room was pretty worn, too. The chair arms were cracked and broken. Yuck. There was no tub in the bathroom, just a shower. That was OK for us because we did not have any little kids used to taking baths. I left housekeeping $5 every day. Only once did I ask for anything (extra coffee). They left extra decaf which seemed silly to me. The sofa bed mattress was so terrible that I asked for it to be replaced. If they did replace it while we were out, they replaced it with another spongy springy one that was just as bad as the first. I can honestly say the best thing about this hotel is the breakfast staff who was consistently helpful, friendly, etc. They know people's names, likes, and so on. The location is fine, but not great. I am a Marriott fan in general and a Residence Inn fan specifically, but I will not stay at this hotel again. The environment and the lack of customer service (except for breakfast staff) just made it not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear your experience was not the greatest. This is concerning to us especially since we strive for excellence in service at all times. We will look into the issues and concerns you experienced while staying at our hotel.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is located near the waterfront, great restaurants, and a short walk to the John Hancock building. I've stayed here multiple times while on business and the staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean but the best part.... The freebies! Breakfast and a daily happy hour, can't beat that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Great! Glad everything with your stay was outstanding and you received some extras also! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A recent visit proved that the RI River North still has it's act together. Asked for a corner suite and pleased with the arrangement especially because it was on the SW corner of the building away from the nightclub on the Spring Hill side. (NorthWest). Room was spacious, modern and comfortable. Want to put in a special word of thanks to Ismeta who runs the breakfast area. She's always cheerful and has something nice to say. I told her she should be getting paid a lot because I'm sure the customers keep coming back because of her. Management: Take care of her. She's a gem. Which just goes to show that one person can make or break a stay at the best run establishments.

Room Tip: Request a room on the East or South side and in the higher floors. There's a garage on the West...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for the review! Ismeta is definitely a true asset to our hotel. She is a pleasure not only for our guests but also as a co-worker. Glad to hear your stay was great and convenient. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nothing special a room with a kitchen. The best feature this hotel offers is a very comfortable bed. If you require and extended stay with a kitchen this maybe the place for you. Rooms definitely look lived in. Pool area is dated and not the cleanest.

Room Tip: I will choose another Marriott for my next stay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for the review. I apologize we didn't meet your expectations you were looking for in a hotel. We definitely want to please all of our guests and we will look more into finding ways to make all of our guests extremely happy once they leave our hotel.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed on the 25th floor, after being assigned the 10th floor. We were not happy with the initial view of a parking lot, but a call to the front desk and we changed rooms. Nice feature being able to open the windows in the rooms. We enjoyed the sounds of the city. Good location, easy to walk to dining and shopping. Breakfast was typical hotel provided breakfast. The gal assisting in the breakfast area was very nice, took a special interest in our son, and just really demonstrated customer service. The pool is on the top floor, it is a little small, but was available when we wanted to use it and met our needs.

Room Tip: Clarify you do not want a view of the parking lot, request an upper floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonifuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We are pleased to hear your stay was great. We are always looking forward to providing excellent service to all of our guests. Glad to hear we were able to change your room when you wanted to be moved to a higher floor.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love the location - plenty of restaurants and nighttime options around.
Good room size and staff was very accommodating!
The breakfast is convenient to just grab something quick.
Love the Einstein's Bagel and Hub 51 that are at the bottom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for the solid review! It is exciting to hear we made your stay in Chicago even better by being close to everything for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first time in Chicago and I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Marriott is my preferred chain, but this hotel set itself apart. The location is great for being able to walk to the different attractions and the price couldn't be beat. In New York City, it would have cost $300 more! The free breakfast was the BEST I have ever gotten at a Residence Inn. There was an employee that made sure food was available and everything was kept clean. She went way above and beyond. The pool and spa were great too with a fabulous view from the 27th floor. The room was very clean and everything worked great. Internet wasn't slow either, which is not common for a hotel this large. Stay here if you have a choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

WOW! What a great review! We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are so glad your stay in Chicago was great and we could help with making that stay memorable.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $144 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing