We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Residence Inn - GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Residence Inn - GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great service, friendly staff, in town for business and perfect location. Had a nice corner room with lots of windows. Bed was comfy and room was clean. Restaurants nearby and cabs readily avaiable outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    297
    57
    32
    16
See reviews for
411
200
35
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything about this Residence Inn was excellent. The friendly staff, great location, comfortable room layout, fitness center and other amenities were top notch. We stayed over the weekend and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaleG214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear your stay was outstanding! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

On the plus side, you could not find a better location in Chicago downtown. We had a great weekend deal with "in and out" parking included, difficult to find in Chicago. The view from 20th floor was great, and sound proofing unbelievable: there was a terribly noisy party all night in the next room heard all over the corridor, but the room was perfectly quiet. On the minus side, the building is somewhat shabby. Breakfast food was no good, and breakfast area overcrowded, hard to find a couple of seats together and get to the food counters. There are no rooms with two beds in the whole hotel, and sofa beds are very uncomfortable. Some people complained here about long wait for elevators, but we did not have any problems. In summary, we've got what we paid for.

Room Tip: As usual, the higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about out hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the weekend in Chicago and liked our rooms and location. Breakfast can get a little busy on the weekends so I do apologize with you waiting for breakfast.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013.
Perfect Location for taking in Chicago. Walk to everything and then some.
Rooms-Small but very nice. We had a one bedroom king suite.
Pool and exercise room--Small but decent. Pool and hot tub was very heavily chlorinated.
Lobby and general areas--Very nice and cozy decor.
Breakfast-average at best.
This hotel would be perfect for singles and/or a couples. It was not however as good as we would have wanted for our kiddos. Couldn't beat the price though! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays at the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North. We are happy that you enjoyed our spacious suites and wonderful location. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to recommend us to the TripAdvisor Community. There is no better compliment for our hotel and staff. We hope to see you again when you travel to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location, location location. And then a large and spacious room (with a kitchen if you want to use it), decently decorated, and great value for the money (breakfast included). Definitely recommended for biz trip and tourism: walking distance to the loop as well as to mag mile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear this is one of your preferred hotels.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A family of 4. We've stayed here during the Christmas week. The Hotel is close to everything. There is a wonderful front desk staff. The room was very nice with full equipment kitchen. Also, our kids ejoyed the pool a lot. Very clean overall. The hotel has a very rich free breakfast. People are very friendly especially the breakfast lady Mrs. Ismeta who makes sure that everybody is happy. From M-Th hotel has some nice snack with beer,wine and other soft drinks. We really enjoyed our stay and definitely will come back. Thank you, for making our stay so beatiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so excited to hear your stay was great! We love pleasing our guests! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed last 2 nights of my vacation in a joined suite with my family and this place is a very nice place. The lobby is somewhat small but it joins another hotel part of the Marriott family. The rooms are all equipped with full kitchen and all ameniities you will need for a home. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling with family or friends; just avoid the steak restaurants close by. They are very expensive and if you are travelling on budget there are wonderful restaurants walking distance that will not break your bank.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing