We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #50 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013.
Perfect Location for taking in Chicago. Walk to everything and then some.
Rooms-Small but very nice. We had a one bedroom king suite.
Pool and exercise room--Small but decent. Pool and hot tub was very heavily chlorinated.
Lobby and general areas--Very nice and cozy decor.
Breakfast-average at best.
This hotel would be perfect for singles and/or a couples. It was not however as good as we would have wanted for our kiddos. Couldn't beat the price though! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays at the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North. We are happy that you enjoyed our spacious suites and wonderful location. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to recommend us to the TripAdvisor Community. There is no better compliment for our hotel and staff. We hope to see you again when you travel to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    324
    60
    34
    16
See reviews for
442
219
36
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location, location location. And then a large and spacious room (with a kitchen if you want to use it), decently decorated, and great value for the money (breakfast included). Definitely recommended for biz trip and tourism: walking distance to the loop as well as to mag mile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear this is one of your preferred hotels.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A family of 4. We've stayed here during the Christmas week. The Hotel is close to everything. There is a wonderful front desk staff. The room was very nice with full equipment kitchen. Also, our kids ejoyed the pool a lot. Very clean overall. The hotel has a very rich free breakfast. People are very friendly especially the breakfast lady Mrs. Ismeta who makes sure that everybody is happy. From M-Th hotel has some nice snack with beer,wine and other soft drinks. We really enjoyed our stay and definitely will come back. Thank you, for making our stay so beatiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so excited to hear your stay was great! We love pleasing our guests! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed last 2 nights of my vacation in a joined suite with my family and this place is a very nice place. The lobby is somewhat small but it joins another hotel part of the Marriott family. The rooms are all equipped with full kitchen and all ameniities you will need for a home. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling with family or friends; just avoid the steak restaurants close by. They are very expensive and if you are travelling on budget there are wonderful restaurants walking distance that will not break your bank.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wonderful River North location on Dearborn, just north of the river. Close to numerous restaurants and clubs plus only a few blocks to Michigan Ave. shopping. Stayed 2 nights in a studio room that had a small ktichen with full-size refrigerators, dish-washers, coffee makers and small cooktops. Room was very confortable with a sofa, chair and small dining table, Typical Residence Inn perks with free breakfasts and early evening reception with a variety of lite snacks.

Price was very reasonable for downtown Chicago, at least the week I was there. Would be great for extended stays or stays with a family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UWJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North. I am pleased that you enjoyed our fully furnished studio suite and location. It is the goal of the hotel for you to enjoy your time at the Residence Inn whether for a short time or an extended stay for work, pleasure, or family! We hope to see you the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although I have stayed here only for business, I can see how it can be an awesone place to stay with your entire family. All the suites have fully equipped kitchens. They serve a full breakfast every morning and have a manager's reception Mon-Thu, where they serve a buffet dinner. Staff are extremely helpful and are great with children. All the nice restaurants and clubs are minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've stayed here more than any other hotel downtown. Location-during the summer-there is a trolley 2 blocks away that takes you right to navy pier for FREE. There's a Giordanos nearby that we always go too-everything is just a short walk or short cab ride away. People are always friendly-one woman from Russia who works in the breakfast room has been there for the 4 years we've been coming here and she always remembers us. One year, she made a special waffle and had the staff sing happy birthday to my husband when he turned 40. Typically, we stay in a suite-with the private bedroom and full kitchen. The rooms are a generous size and always clean and nicely decorated. This time we stayed in a non suite room but it was still larger than your typical standard room (see photos). Very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom boasted an enclosed shower glass door. Indoor Pool is shared by adjoining hotel (Spring Hill suites) but is on the residence inn side on the rooftop. It's small but most hotel pools are. Breakfast is always satisfactory for a hot breakfast (not as good as Embassy Suites, where they offer omelet stations). Look for deals directly on the Residence Inn River NOrth website. We got a rate of $150 that included valet once. Never disappointed with this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors-thought I remembered city noise. Look for deals directly on Residence Inn River North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing