We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and everything was fantastic. It was a good value considering the prime location. The rooms were plenty large enough for a couple. The couch pulled out so an additional person (child) could have stayed as well.

The woman who works the breakfast area is super nice and makes you feel very welcome.

There are several good restaurants nearby - Rosebud for example. Mother Hubbard's was a fun sports bar.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel can get a bit loud on weekends so if you are a very sensitive sleeper, ask no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    297
    57
    32
    16
See reviews for
411
200
35
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
la
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My first visit to Chicago was terrific, the Residence Inn was a big part of the success. The service and attention provided by the crew in the breakfast area was spot on. The smiles and attention to providing an area for our large group to gather for breakfast went a long way!!!. Ismeta is a energetic, positive helpful employee...Keep up the GREAT ATTITUDE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bear2336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is a 15 minute walk to navy pier and less to most other places. There are some really nice views of downtown. Its fairly standard for a Residence Inn. Great staff, good breakfast and a quiet room. My only issue was the bed. I was supposed to have a queen bed but ended up with two twin put together. Once side was very lumpy and the other side was way too firm.

I would stay here again with a family but for business I can probably choose a couple of better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and our location. Hopefully, you were able to get up to our pool and enjoy the Chicago views from there!

All of our beds on the Residence Inn side are King Size beds but I do apologize if one half of your bed was not as comfortable. We do have mattress pads/egg crates if you stay with us again and are in the same situation.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff, stellar views, clean rooms and lobby, and kitchens! We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Never heard a peep out of our neighbors. Our room was a corner room on the 23rd floor--fabulous!

The fitness room was adequate, although one of three elliptical wasn't quite functional. The treadmills were nice. Didn't use the pool/hot tub, but the area looked clean and well-maintained. The elevators were slow to arrive, but moved quickly once on them.

You'll pay dearly for parking $40/nt for self-park in the garage. We found an uncovered lot three blocks away for $18/nt. it is Chicago, so be prepared for this if you have a car. I'd have gone without one if not for all the trips we had to take into the 'burbs with small children in tow.

The staff here really made us feel welcome and comfortable. A shout out to the sweet lady at the helm in the breakfast room. Imelda? Izelda? She was incredibly sweet and helpful to us, making sure to say good morning to our daughters every day. She even packed us a sandwich for later. So thoughtful! She is worth her weight in gold! Wish I could remember her name. She had short red hair and a constant, genuine smile on her face. Lovely lady.

So there you have it... We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the perfect hotel from which to explore Chicago. It is 1 1/2 blocks from Michigan Ave and 2 blocks from The Hancock Building where you can catch the hop-on-hop-off bus. The hotel is comfortable with the great Marriott beds and a large kitchen even in our efficiency suite. It is very family friendly and pets are allowed. They serve an excellent breakfast which is included and 3 nights a week there is a complimentary light dinner with wine and beer. The staff was very accommodating and helpful from the front desks to the cleaning staff. We even had a serenade one morning at breakfast by one of the staff. It seems like everyone who works there enjoys it. It was a nice place to come back to after a busy day of sightseeing. And since it is off the main drag it is quiet which made for a good night's sleep.
One draw back is that our room had a VERY small closet and we had clothes that needed hanging. It was a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a nice residence Inn. Very clean and close to the magnificent mile in Chicago. I would recommend this to other travelers. The only one negative was I am a platinum member and the clerk at the desk did not give me a high floored room like I always request. There are 25 floors in this hotel and I was put on floor 7.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rricemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I am a frequent traveler and often seek out Marriott properties and had the privilege to stay at the Residence Inn in mid-October. The hotel has a great location and is close to many good restaurants and bars.

The fitness facility is located on the 27th floor which was a nice change to other hotels where the views from the gym are less attractive. Four treadmills and four elliptically to use. Dumbbell weights only went up to 50lbs, but works.

I stayed in room 2606 which offered a great view of the city. The room provided a nice king size bed, strong hot water and water pressure in the shower and plenty of space to spread out. The only negative was the slow drain in the sink, but a simple call to the front desk and it can be fixed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North and in Chicago. We love our location and are happy that you were able to enjoy some of the best restaurants and bars that Chicago has to offer.

We know that it is important to keep your routine while you are on the road. This is why it is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our fitness center. We do agree that the view makes working out just a little bit easier! I will make sure to pass along your comment regarding the dumbbell weights and we will see if we can expand the range in the future.

We hope to see you at the Residence Inn in Chicago again!

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Event Manager
Vanessa.kosloski@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing