We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early and left our luggage so we could head out shopping with our two small children. The breakfast hostess, Ismeta, saw us and asked if she could get a snack for the girls. I declined but asked her to fill their water bottles. She happily did and came back with muffins for them as well. She made them feel so special. Each morning at breakfast Ismeta greeted us and exceeded our expectations. I have never tipped the breakfast hostess at a free breakfast but on this trip I did. The concierge was always helpful and desk staff terrific. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way back home to UK. Stayed in Hampton inn across the street for 3 nights and quite a difference in quality (despite almost identical pricing). Location is great - perfect for downtown and the loop. Staff were excellent as you would expect for a residence inn. Major downside was the room. Much smaller than the Hampton inn (we stayed in a one bedroom suite). There was barely enough room to pull out the sofa bed for the kids in the lounge and the main bedroom was very cramped with no furniture aside from the bed and bedside tables. Furnishings looked dated and a bit tatty as well. Stayed in a number of residence inns and this had the smallest and dated room we have experienced. Bit disappointed really.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrightonSeagullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

BrightonSeagullfan,

Thank you for staying with us. We're sorry that you were not pleased with your stay, but thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate hearing all of our guests' feedback and welcome any suggestions to better your stay.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had a corner room with king bed during a 4-day business trip. Very comfortable mattress and pillows. Excellent hotel with terrific staff! The kitchen included full refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, stove, and 4-place setting of dishes and utensils. Bathroom shower was oversized with glass door, and spotless. Thursday evening happy hour offered complimentary sandwiches, refreshments, wine, and breakfast was provided every morning. Although I didn't use, the hotel also includes a swimming pool and fitness center. A wonderful location and place for tourists, and very comfortable for those traveling on business that need a bit more than just a hotel room. This will be on the top of my preference list for future business travel.

Room Tip: The corner room layout was spacious and bright, much like a studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Clean and spacious room, with typically comfortable Marriott quality bed. Also very convenient location...at least for my purpose. BUT the hot water in the shower was barely adequate and had paroxysms of freezing cold. In addition, the flow restrictor on the bathroom sink faucet limited the pressure so severly that it barely cleansed the razor or toothbrush.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Mfffffffffffffffffff,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I apologize for the cold water in your hotel room and the inadequate water pressure. I can assure you this is not the norm for our hotel. We would appreciate any additional feedback, if you do remember your room numbers. This is something that our engineering team will work on immediately.
We hope that you will choose Residence Inn River North again and expect for the water problem to be fixed.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent location! We had a corner room with a city view - highly recommend if available. Friendly staff and the kitchen feature is always an added value. Breakfast selection was great, but if looking for something else Einstein Bagels is directly below the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmebagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have stayed here on business a few times and recommend it. The rooms are clean and bright, and the kitchenettes are always a plus. Entrance is on the street level but you go up the elevator to check in. It can be confusing since the hotel shares its reception area with Staybridge Suites. The lobbies for the two combine to form a long strip with breakfast nooks on both ends. It's an inviting area due to all the floor to ceiling windows and variety of comfortable seating.

There are many restaurants in the surrounding area, including the usual tourist traps like Harry Caray's. Walk a little but further to more interesting places like Dos Diablos or Andy's Jazz Club or Weber Grill. This is a fun part of the city where you can walk around and explore without issue.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TallBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great place to stay with family. Close to shopping and attractions. A few parking garages nearby. The kitchen feature is awesome as you can bring food back and prepare at the hotel. It is a pretty busy place but that's just downtown Chicago for you. Elevator waits were sometimes long. Overall, a good experience. It was clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhurst96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $125 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing