We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #58 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had read online about the extremely welcoming, friendly, and professional “Breakfast Lady” before we arrived at the hotel for our first visit to Chicago. The write-ups did not do her justice. You have a gem there.
However, I would like especially to recognize Ms. Jing Su, the intern on duty during our visit. She was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. She went out of her way to insure our comfort without being over bearing. She is a natural for the hospitality profession and will go far. She is lucky to have the opportunity to train with Residence Inn Marriott. But Marriott also has gained much. Jing Su did a phenomenal job in making the guests feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
William E,

Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Our hotel is extremely lucky to have such an outstanding team. Jing Su has done an amazing job since the very beginning and you are 100% correct when saying that we have gained by having her training with us. We are all sure that she will go very far in this industry and are thrilled that we got her first! We cant wait to see you again on your next trip to the windy a city.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    342
    65
    37
    18
See reviews for
464
233
39
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Self-parking was easy to find and we were greeted warmly by the front desk. We were there at a busy time and they moved things along quickly. It was interesting that they share a lobby with the Spring Hill Suites. I had a few questions about the area, which they were able to answer. They also recommended a nearby restaurant (Rockits) which we enjoyed.

For the three of us, the room was on the small side. With the pull out couch extended, it nearly came to the foot of the bed. The breakfast was good and the lady who worked the breakfast was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel was convenient to the downtown area. We needed to ride the train to see a White Sox game one night and a Cubs game the next. The entrance to the Red Line is close by. There are also MANY restaurants nearby, from bar fare to upscale steak places.

Enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomrudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

So far, I'm less than impressed with my room at this hotel. It's a corner studio suite with a "city view" and you can see from the photo the kind of view I got. There are crumbs on the sofa and floor, and the furnishings are well worn. It's also a weird layout, not like the diagram on the website. On the plus side, the desk clerk was very nice and I did get to check in early. That's allI I can say nice about this hotel for now. I'll be here for two nights, so we'll see how it goes.

Update: Perhaps I was a little too harsh. This hotel is fine for what it is -- mid-budget accommodations in a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCAGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
SoCAGurl,

Thank you for posting a review, and so quickly. I'm sorry that at first you found the hotel disappointing, but it's great to hear that it was turned around somewhat by the end of your stay.
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn River North.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was not sure what to expect from a Residence Inn in an urban setting but this hotel was actually a very good choice for us. We had four people in our group and needed three beds. This worked out very well. The rooms were quite spacious and the amenities worked well. The kitchen facilities were a plus. The staff was efficient and friendly. The fact that the lobby serviced two hotels was a little odd but we figured it out. The value was actually very good as I thought the price we paid was very fair.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were in Chicago for a long weekend & got a reasonable rate at the Residence Inn. Room on 24th floor was away from most street noise. The room was basic but was clean and with all the amenities. It had a kitchen with microwave, range, refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher & a full set of pots, dishes, etc., none of which we used. It is well located a short walk to Wrigley’s, Tribune, Trump Tower, the Loop & Shaw’s Crab House [don’t miss this restaurant.]

The staff was excellent and always willing to assist with a smile. The breakfast was varied and complete. The only downside is that on a very busy weekend with the hotel full, there wasn’t very much table space. However, the staff scurried around to make sure that all the food items were available and vacant tables cleaned. Without taking away credit from anyone else, the star of the breakfast is Ismeta. She always had a smile and provided service to us and others beyond the call of duty. Because they were out of newspapers on Saturday when we came down late, without a request she secreted away a Sunday paper to hold for me the next day.

The Thursday dinner was decidedly inedible by sight [we would have preferred some cheese, crackers and a vegetable platter as this was billed as Social, not dinner] and they should delete both the red and white wine & just serve beer.

Unfortunately, they could only provide 1 extra hour for a free late checkout, when a checkout at 3 would’ve allowed us to have the room until after lunch at a local restaurant. It wasn’t that there wasn’t a capability to do it as the room was available for a 50% charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BocaGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
BocaBlocks,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn. Our breakfast staff, Ismeta included, is phenomenal. We cannot say enough Good things about them! They always go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome and well taken care of.
As for the social events, served Monday thru Thursday, we are sorry that you were displeased. We try to provide options to the guests, which is why there is a wide variety of food and beverages.
We appreciate all of you feedback, thank you for taking the time to post the review. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the city.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
294 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Started our 5 nights stay in a 2 bedroom suite and moved to junior suite after friends left. Consistently well appointed, Marriott brands rarely fail to deliver. Breakfast was hosted by an amazing lady who took great care of "her" guests, making sure everyone had what they wanted. She must have made 100 or more waffles on the weekend! Staff were very helpful in guiding my wife's first visit to Chicago while I worked.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank yvrbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Kevan R,

Thank you for posting a review. I believe the amazing woman at breakfast you are referring to is Ismeta. She is amazing and makes all of our guests feel at home, while also turning out those waffles like a machine. It's great to hear that your wife enjoyed her first visit to The Windy City. We hope to see you both again on future visits to Chicago. Thank you for staying with us.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When you travel with kids, you need a hotel like the Residence Inn. Suites with separate rooms, so you can stay up and have a glass of wine after the kid's bedtime. Complimentary dinner / drinks (Monday to Thursday), so you don't have to seek out a fast dinner after checking in late (and your kid doesn't have a meltdown). Complimentary breakfast, so you can get a quick start to the day.

In terms of decor / amenities, it is pretty basic but has everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing stay. The location is convenient - close to public transit and lots of bars and restaurants. I also loved the marketplace by the front desk. It was great to be able to grab quick drinks and snacks.

The staff are super-friendly and really make you feel welcome. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chun_416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Chun_416,

It's great to hear that you had such an amazing stay at our hotel! The separation of spaces in the suites is great for families, and it gives you a chance to have some adult time on a family vacation. Our "social" down in the lobby Monday thru Thursday is a great quick way to grab a bite to eat and a glass of wine. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for posting such an amazing review.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing