We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing a few of the details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #59 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Missing a few of the details”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

All in all it's not a bad place - the room was nice, the staff friendly, the option of self-parking a welcome alternative to the usual valet, and the price reasonable for the area. That said, there were just enough little things to drive you crazy. The room was not ready for check-in at 4:00 PM, a fact made all the more annoying by the next 5-10 groups that we watched check in without problems while we waited. The long blonde hair in the bathroom sink couldn't have possibly belonged to either of us. The night club next door plays LOUD music late into the night - loud enough to be easily heard even on the tenth floor of the hotel. The shower had a conspicuous lack of hot water in the morning. Not horrible things (although the cold shower wasn't great), but just enough to make you think twice about going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelswithPute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
TravelwithPute-

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your disappointment in your stay, that is not how we like to do business. Thank you for brining these items to our attention so we can address them appropriately. We do hope to see you and your family again.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    350
    66
    38
    19
See reviews for
475
240
39
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights with my wife for a medical meeting and also for leisure.Reception very atentious for everything i needed (not many things).The rooms are really confortable for a couple(,stayed at a corner room at 15 th floor).Bed confortable and kitchen more than i needed with micro wave, dish washer and refrigerator..I missed a safe box .Bathroom with two separate areas that is very clever.TV with many options and a nice sofa bed .Breakfast simple but more than enough ,except for the cofee very weak.Breakfast area busy some days with lots of kids (sping break).The hotel is pet friendly for the 8 th floor and this did not bother me and really saw only one dog once.Pool and gym at 27 th floor that i simply did not have time to visit.Parking place conected to the hotel for 40 dollars / day. But the best of all is location with so many different and good restaurants so close and walking distance to many places if you like to walk .I arrived at o hare airport and took the train stopping in a station three blocks from the hotel.So if you need a nice stay but not luxury this is a good option

Room Tip: As advised I asked for a higher floor that was silent and a corner room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXRASSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Alexrassi-

I am happy you were to mix business with pleasure on your trip to Chicago! Thank you for choosing our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed out breakfast and location. River North is a great neighborhood for entertainment and food. We hope to see you, and your wife, again next year!

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks in March. Husband was with me for last week. The room was great space for us. We were very comfortable. Amenities in room were very nice. Everything worked and was more than we expected to have. Full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave. Very well appointed. The staff at the hotel was great. Very helpful. The woman who runs the breakfast was extremely nice & helpful. The location is really nice. There are loads of very good restaurants with in easy walking distance. It's practically around the corner from several of the Rick Bayless restaurants. We also found a French place around the corner that was great (Paris Club). Drawbacks as listed by GatorPrincess. No views, small pool, no outdoor space. In addition, the room was stuffy and we had to have the air conditioner repair person come up, but he was prompt and fixed the problem quickly. Overall, this hotel is heartily recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
LeslieGray-

Thank your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. Thank you especially for mentioning Ismeta, she is a wonderful persona and a valued employee. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize that your room was stuffy, however I am happy to hear our maintenance department was able to fix it in a timely matter. We hope to see you again soon, for business or pleasure!

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with husband for a conference. Agree with most prior high reviews: great location, great reception and breakfast staff, nice public areas, clean, great room layout with kitchen, awesome beds, operable windows for fresh air, etc. Overall a GREAT stay.

However, there were multiple minor disappointments that dropped my rating to a 4: Be aware the great views are views of other buildings, even on floor 26 there is no view of the lake beyond or any green spaces. The pool is indoor - the hotel does not have any outdoor places to read a book or enjoy good weather, would have to walk several blocks to millennium park. Housekeeping comes VERY late; 3:00 first day, 5:00 second day (after making a call at 4:30). It is a big let down to be out all day and come back to an unmade room and then being disrupted while they do. Water pressure in shower and bath sink is low (higher pressure in kitchen sink). No herbal or decaf tea stocked in breakfast area (but a bag was found when asked). Cups not stocked for evening coffee in lobby. No room safe (but they offer complementary safety deposit boxes at front desk).

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank GatorPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
GatorPrincess-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear that over-all, you had a great stay. I would also like to thank you for brining some of your disappointments to our attention. We are always looking for ways to improve, and accept your constructive criticism. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you and your husband again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Pa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I go to Chicago several times a year. We always stay at a Marriott near Michigan Ave. This is by far our new favorite. We have stayed there twice. The rooms are great, with kitchenettes so we can bring in food if we want. They serve breakfast every morning, included in the room price. The woman running the breakfast is so sweet. She greets everyone and treats them like family. I saw her helping a child fix his waffle. She gave us a huge welcome back even though she only saw us once months before. The location is great for us, about 5 short blocks from the red line. Last visit there was a snow storm on our last night there so we checked out the evening social time. We were able to have a simple meal without having to brave the storm. We will return next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: There is a bar on an adjacent street that has a retractable roof. You don't want to overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 144man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
144man-

Thank you for returning to our property. I am happy to hear you enjoy your time with us. Thank you especially for commenting on Ismeta. She is a wonderful person and a valued employee. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Was just here for an long weekend with my family. The location here is great, Magnificant Mile is within walking distance as is Willis Tower and many other Chicago landmarks. Close to the red line for longer trips or if you're less inclined to walk. A ton of places to eat and drink are very nearby.

The hotel itself is well-kept, with a spacious lobby and breakfast/reception area. Our room was in great condition, and came with a full kitchen including a dishwasher. It was St Patricks Day weekend, and I expected the hotel to be noisy, but it was exceptionally quiet.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The Marriott chain should be proud to have an employee like Ismeta, who ran the breakfast area. Her attitude and effort went far beyond what could reasonably be expected.

I will definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Mphopkins99-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you had a festive St. Patrick’s day in the city! Thank you especially for mentioning Ismeta. She is a wonderful person and a valued employee. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc ut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Rooms a small but more than enough room. Construction next door is loud ask to be away from that if possible. They only work during the day so not an issue while sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationsamany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Vacationsamany-

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting on our TripAdvisor page. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best,
Amanda
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing