We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed all expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #26 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

In a word, amazing. I have travelled extensively and stayed in all manner of hotels around the globe. I tend to be hard to please and I prefer hotels at the upper end of the scale. Trump met every one of my needs.
From before I even got there, every request I made, received a prompt response from the hotel by email and all my requests were met.
The location was excellent, very central and I found everything to be within walking distance. It was also in a nice location, situated right on the river. It's an iconic building and one of the tallest in the city so it was a great way of finding my way home after a long day of sightseeing or shopping, I just had to look up and there it was!
The room was very spacious and had a nice city view. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was large and had all mod cons. My only gripe was that the bath, although deep, is not long enough to stretch out in. We received a very welcome complimentary upgrade and the kitchenette was very handy.
The staff were superb and always smiling and extremely helpful. The hotel was spotless and the housekeeping excellent. I always travel with a lot of cosmetics and I was very touched that they removed them every day to clean under them rather than around them and then replaced them in a pretty way. It's a very small thing but this kind of attention to detail says volumes about their standards of cleanliness.
The pool had an amazing view although the room itself was nothing special. The changing area was very comfortable.
All in all I had a wonderful stay and if I ever return to Chicago I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, T. Colm O'Callaghan Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and delighted that you will be coming back to stay with us again. Thank you for your warm acknowledgements and for complimenting our team of colleagues for their friendliness and attention to detail. It is certainly with pleasure that we ensure you hold such fond memories of your stay.

Along with my team, I look forward welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,
T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,049
    290
    110
    60
    58
See reviews for
649
824
108
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed at the Trump in New York a couple of years ago and that was fantastic, so we had high hopes for their Chicago property. We were delighted to discover that this hotel is as good as its Manhattan sibling.

This hotel has an unbelievable air of calm and serenity - which is obvious from the moment you step through the doors. I commented on it to the check-in agent, such was the contrast from the hustle and bustle of the airport and the city itself.

Every member of staff we dealt with was professional, charming and efficient, from the doormen to the reception staff and concierge. Every time we walked through the doors after a day's shopping or sightseeing, we were personally welcomed back. This was a nice touch, and the way all hotels should be. It costs nothing, and this type of old fashioned courtesy stands out a mile in today's sterile, robotic world.

The room we stayed in didn't have a river or lake view, but it was bright and airy, spotlessly clean, modern and well appointed, with full kitchen and oversized bathroom.

Evening turndown service included a complete towel re-fresh, tidy up of the room and complimentary water and slippers.

Check in and check out were effortless and stress free. None of the usual hassles involving phantom charges and so on that seem to be the norm these days.

We did not have the opportunity to use the fitness centre or swimming pool, but these were both included in the cost of the room.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, T. Colm O'Callaghan Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Brand and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you and your traveling companion enjoyed your time with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards training and developing our colleagues and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring that your experience exceeds your expectations.

Once again, thank you for continuing to chose to stay at Trump. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit in the very near future.

Sincerely,
T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Highest level of quality in all surroundings. Very good deal considering great River North location. Other than difficult to use espresso machine and TV remote not working on check-in little could be faulted. Enormous tub. High quality linens and robes. Truly lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HondaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, T. Colm O'Callaghan Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,
T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our Valentines day on Feb 28th. We booked an inclusive Package, It included Champagne, continental breakfast, chococlate body paint and a late 2p.m. checkout. We were treated excellent the moment we pulled up. The doorman was great. Then our bellhop Andy was great and showing us the different ammenities in our room. We stayed in one of the Spa Rooms. We walked into a bed sprinkled with rose pedals and a box of chocolates. The view was great from our room. We had a huge spa tub & Glass shower. Andy also gave us directions to Shaw's restaurant -which is minutes away from the hotel. We had breakfast at Sixteen. Since our package included breakfast we could either do in room dining or have breakffast at the restaurant. I wanted to check out the restaurant so we opted to do that and they just applied the credit from our package to our bill. No, its not cheap to dine their but i didn't expect it would be. The food was excellent. I also enjoyed the pool during my stay. The pool was very nice. I have been to better and bigger ones but the view was very nice. Since the pool is in the spa area the locker room have an aloe mask, sugar scrub & body butter plus everything else you may need for your shower. It was a nice relaxing trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiehndz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, T. Colm O'Callaghan Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay over Valentines and I sincerely appreciate you complimenting the professionalism of our team and extent of our facilities. I shall certainly extend your great comments to our bell team.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago once again.

Sincerely,
T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We spent 3 nights in early November and the hotel was every bit as good as other reviewers had said. Wonderful warm welcome from the doorman through to the receptionist - after a small problem (we had requested a quiet room and were initially placed beside a busy elevator) we were upgraded to a corner room - enormous! Looking straight into the Wrigley building. It is a great location and very high finish in rooms and bathrooms.
A special thanks to the very nice young man who showed us around our palatial room and gave us lots of sightseeing tips etc (he is tall and blonde!).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aislingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, T. Colm O'Callaghan Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complimenting the professionalism of our team and extent of our facilities.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago once again.

Sincerely,
T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We had a 2 night stay here and we were extremely happy. The regular-sized guest room was huge, clean, beautiful, simple, elegant, modern, and very comfortable. The bathroom was equally lovely and spacious. Even without the frills (tv in bathroom, huge windows, free use of in-room Nespresso machine, free wireless, etc), we would have been super happy. The staff was exceptional (they got a gorgeous last-minute bouquet of a dozen white roses pulled together for Valentine's Day in 2 hours - my fault for forgetting!), and were very helpful w/ directions/suggestions. I had scheduled a manicure at the in-hotel spa, which they had to change the time of, and it ended up being complimenary due to the inconvenience...very nice! The only recommendation I have is to go out for breakfast - ours for 2 people was literally $100. I would totally stay here again and recommend it. I doubt many people would be disappointed and for the price tag, you're certainly satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

After years of staying at the Westin River North, Intercontinental and Swissotel, my girlfriend and I decided to splurge for a weekend stay at the magnificent Trump International Hotel and Tower. Since we were traveling with two small children, we took advantage of the Trump Kids program, which provided the little ones with their very own Trump backpacks, which included a small stuffed animal, coloring books, business cards...along with in-room slippers and robes. In addition to those amenities, the hotel even provided a surprise complimentary delivery of Gummi Worms and Fruit juice!

Our room overlooked the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. The room was tasteful, very quiet, extremely comfortable and quite large. Since the hotel is new, the room was in immaculate condition, featuring a fully stocked kitchen area with microwave, Sub-Zero refrigerator, dishwasher, cooking pots/pans, serving ware and the obligatory over-priced mini bar (in this case "Trump branded") refreshments.

The King bed was very comfortable, and featured high quality linens. We even selected our pillows from the "pillow menus". The television was a large LG flat screen with many high definition offerings.

The bathroom was large and clean, featuring a large deep tub, and free standing shower next to it, enclosed in glass. We took advantage of the beautiful health club and pool on several occasions. The health club looks over the Chicago River and features numerous top quality workout machines and equipment, along with complimentary beverages and fruit. The 75 foot long heated pool was a kid favorite, and the locker rooms were comfortable and well-maintained.

The best part of the Trump was the friendly, professional demeanor of the staff. Every single staff person we encountered excelled in their positions and went out of their way to treat the children like visiting royalty. From the doorman like MK and Casete (sorry about the spelling) to the housekeeping staff who kept the room spotless, the Trump staff went above and beyond in their efforts to make our stay memorable. They say you get what you pay for. The Trump isn't cheap...but the experience was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbigjerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, T. Colm O'Callaghan Vice President & Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am very happy indeed to learn that you consider your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago to be among the best family getaways you have experienced. It is very pleasing to read that our efforts to ensure your little one is comfortable are so warmly acknowledged.

Thank you kindly for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,
T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 189 in Chicago
2,257 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing