We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect!!! (With the exception of...)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect!!! (With the exception of...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

It's a Trump, it epitomizes the term hospitality and luxury.

The staff, the room, the amenities were perfect!

The problem? I was (am) here on business and NEED internet. The coverage area is awful, the connection speed slow and completely unreliable!

I am in suite 1902 and I tried for 20 minutes to post this review using the hotel internet before finally getting it done with my smartphone.

Come on you guys... Add antennas to the Wi-Fi this is outrageous in 2014!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    265
    99
    45
    35
See reviews for
551
726
97
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

At first glance the lobby is a little smaller than you would expect but the size is made up for in the rooms.

The spa was average and nice but not impressive. The views from the gym were grade A and the restaurants were very nice as well.

Overall I would recommend due to location but not price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandlife27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Package purchase wasn't worth the extra money and valet brought back car covered in bird poop. The facility was incredible and the room was definitely first class. The bed was one of the most comfortable outside of home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlmurrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I grew up in Chicago and I know the city intimately. I have lived there and stayed in every category of hotel in almost every location. If you want a first class experience, this is the place. The rooms are spacious, and the service is professional and prompt. The hotel is within walking distance of well, everything. The views offered here are unparalleled and the drinks or meals at "16" enhance that experience. As you might expect it is not an inexpensive location, but in my opinion this hotel gives you what you pay for.

Room Tip: You must spend extra and get the river / lakeview side. The view is breathtaking and is classic Chi...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can opt out of daily linen and towel change to save water. They use biodegradable cleaners
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Williammd698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As much as I don't agree with some of Mr. Trumps actions when it comes to politics, etc....I have to give him one thing. He knows how to create a luxury brand like nobody else on this planet. The customer service I received at Donald J. Trump property Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago was hands down the best I have ever received in my life at any hotel I have stayed at. From the concierges, front desk staff, room service, the restaurant service...I was just so impressed with the class and knowledge of everyone that works at this hotel. I give this place a 10/10 rating and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Chicago. It was also a pleasure to meet Mr. Trump himself at the hotel...the man has presence. ‪#‎trumpchicago‬

Room Tip: everything is awesome
See more room tips
Green Features: The staff at Trump from every single area was the best I have ever experienced. I can't stop thinking about how amazing and smooth everything was.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prakash2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room was fully dressed to the nines, however it was not clean, for the pricing you would expect that it was dusted, the deodorizer they use is a bit strong, or the venting was not clean. That would be my major disappointment. If you are alerrgic to animals, then be careful, cause dogs are always around this location from the residential side which has a joining lobby. imho dogs and cats should not be in hotels.

Room Tip: 21st floor suites have best view of riverwalk and lake michigan, breathtaking views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Non-Smoking facility as per law, level 16 is outdoors so you can smoke there, atleast we did see people doing so. and there is a nice section by the garage door in the front with ashtrays for smokers outside the lobby.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our experience was fantastic, The front desk staff was amazing. Very pleasant and professional. When we checked in late in the day our room was still not ready and they quickly upgraded us to a room that was ready. "Sixteen" Outdoor/Indoor Restaurant, Bar and Patio were awesome. Rooms very nice and well appointed. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBinWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing