We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

I don't like Donald Trump but I loved his hotel. This is a fairly new addition to Chicago and what a step up! It's right along the Chicago River with lovely river and lake views. You can see Navy Pier as well and I can imagine get a great view of the fireworks.
We had an Executive King Suite. These rooms are located on the upper floors of the hotel and have secured elevator access. Our room was huge approx 700 square feet. There was a large open living, dining and kitchen area...with a fully equipped kitchen. There is a large bedroom and a luxurious bathroom with integrated television inside the mirror. My son said it was, "magic". I have to agree. The furnishings and ambiance are modern and luxurious.

It's a great place to stay with children. They greeted my kids with cotton candy. They also provided a crib with lovely linens (although the crib itself was somewhat smaller than full size). The staff were so friendly and lovely with the kids from the front desk to the doorman.

I look forward to returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Lovely large rooms in a fabulous location.
  • Disliked — Still some construction going on.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michellebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    271
    101
    45
    37
See reviews for
566
745
99
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

My boyfriend booked us a room at The Trump as a surprise for our anniversary. Of course, with the name Trump attached to this hotel, you expect a lavish, upscale hotel. Aside from being lavish and upscale, this hotel has customer service that far surpassed any expectations I had. Upon arrival to the hotel, every staff member knew my boyfriend and I by name, greeted us with genuine smiles and were always very quick to offer help and assistance in anyway we needed.

Our room was not ready when we arrived so to make up for our delay, the hotel upgraded our suite to a 1500 square foot room and offered complimentary drinks at their on-site bar, Rebar. After having a few non-alcoholic drinks (I am expecting), we went back to the front desk to check on the status of our room, which was still not ready. Shortly after explaining that I was expecting and needed to get situated so that we could go to dinner, our room was ready.

The room was absolutely gorgeous--we had a panoramic view from ceiling to floor of Navy Pier (which later benefitted us as we watched the weekend fireworks show from our chase lounge at 10pm). The spacious room was more like a condo, complete with a full kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, oven, fridge, plates, silverware, etc.) , 2 full bathrooms, living room, dining room, and bedroom. The living room and bedroom both have large flat screen TVs. Each area in the room can be individually temperature controlled.

Shortly after settling into our room we received a knock at the door (actually a ring from the doorbell) from room service delivering a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a card wishing us a Happy Anniversary from the staff, complimentary of course.

After enjoying that we then received a phone call from the hotel manager apologizing to us for the lengthy wait for our hotel room and offering us a later check-out time and complimentary breakfast of our choice from the restaurant Sixteen or room service (which later totalled to be over $100).

Every service that this hotel offers has special extras which makes it even more fun to order. Throughout the night we enjoyed their 24 hour room service, including ordering a Trump Sundae twice. Everytime you order, the staff will gladly set your table for you where ever you choose to dine (near the window, at the dining room table, bedside, etc.).

The next morning, our paper was delivered, breakfast was served promptly. We loved the robes and watching TV in the bathroom while getting ready.

Upon checkout, we were again greeted by name and asked if everything had met our standards, which it of course did.

I would highly reccomend this hotel and would gladly stay again...and again.

One more thing, although the hotel is under construction, we were never disturbed by any noise, detours or construction workers. This hotel works hard to ensure that your stay is as peaceful and relaxing as possible.

  • Liked — The impeccable service.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimberly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

I booked a girls weekend at this hotel. Almost didn't book the hotel as read some negative reviews about the service. Not sure where those reviews were coming from because that was not my experience. From the moment that the taxi dropped us off, the service was nearly flawless. The bellman, without seeing luggage knew my name and everyone in the hotel did for that matter. This is the first time at the hotel and it was very impressive. Everyone was so friendly and everyone always said hello no matter where you where on the property. The concierge George was the best. He even walked us to the restaurant for lunch as he thought we might get lost. When we checked in, we received hot towels for our hands and water. Our room-2 bedroom suite was lovely with gorgeous views of the river. This suite had plenty of room for 6 girls. I did tell the reservationist when booking that we were celebrating a birthday. The hotel one day sent us champagne, not a cheap bottle and a tray of chocolate, the next day we received gorgeous flowers and another day we received a chocolate cake. We are not celebrities nor we we paying a rack rate. In fact, I had a rate of pay for two nights and get one night free. I have stayed all over the world and have never been treated so well. The health club was large and brand new. There was a nice touch of putting voss water by your bed each night. The housekeeping service was great and have us as much as voss water as we needed for our stay. Originally I was going to stay at the Sofitel and am so glad that I deccided to stay here. We went to the R-Bar which was nice but didn't stay as the views from our room were better. I wouldn't have any second thoughts about booking here or staying here again. TRUMP really knows how to hire the right people. This was an excellent experience.

  • Liked — Room was amazing
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank firstclass-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Without a doubt this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. I was absolutely gutted to be leaving, although that would have something to do with Chicago being such a great place too.

The staff were great. Helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

The room was magnificent. Exactly as the website shows. Fantastically clean and with every amenity you could want.

The spa was great. It never seemed too crowded and had a decent sized pool.

The bar, (rebar), was excellent and the barman was superb. We had a slight problem with some bar snacks and we were comped our drinks for the rest of the evening as an apology - a little touch that makes all the difference.

The restaurant, sixteen, is lovely. Massive panoramic windows, look out over Chicago while you dine on great food and wine. Yes it's expensive but hey it's a Trump restaurant, what do you expect?!

When we stayed the tower was still being finished, hence the buy one night, get one night free deal that we got, but the construction was on the top floors, (80 floors away), and we never heard a peep of noise or had our stay disrupted in any way.

I was expecting the place to be too garish and a little overwhelming in an extravagant Donald Trump style but it was nothing of the sort. Understated elegance is how I would describe it. Quite simply we had an amazing time and I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We just got back from a wonderful weekend at The Trump hotel in Chicago. It was our first visit to the city and we enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel itself was beautiful. Still under some construction but we were not affected by it. The staff was always courteous. The pool and spa were fabulous. We had drinks at Rebar, which was very nice and breakfast one morning at Sixteen. The food was delicious but a little on the expensive side. All in all it was a great trip.

  • Liked — Amenities at the hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lvlover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We are a family of four,and stayed for 14 nights at the Trump Tower in August of this year.We stayed in a one-bedroom king apartment overlooking the City.The accommodation was first-class,new,and spotlessly clean.It was also huge-1000 sq feet,two plasma TVs,a fully-stocked kitchen,and two bathrooms,all luxuriously-appointed.Oh-there is also a TV in the mirror in the bathroom if you wish to catch up with the news whilst soaking in the bath!Maid service each day was efficient and unobtrusive,as was turn-down in the evenings.The gym facilities are first-class and were under-used by the other guests during our stay.The pool must be the best that I have ever seen in a luxury hotel-25 yards,with a dedicated lane at one side,and not too warm.It was never crowded,and I must have had the pool to myself on at least half a dozen occasions for lap swimming.The hotel staff are attentive,if at times a little over-enthusiastic!-I don't remember opening a door for myself the whole time that I was there! One word of advice-ask the staff to explain how the lighting system works in the rooms-it is not easy to fathom it out,believe me! We had the air-con go down one day,called the hotel services,and within 15 minutes the engineer was there fixing it-great service.We did not eat in the hotel restaurant,preferring instead to explore those nearby the hotel-none disappointed.It is so central for all of Chicago's attractions,the theatres,museums,and beaches,aswell as shopping,of course! A Hertz car-hire is also literally across the road from the entrance.I would highly recommend this hotel.We had very mildly-intrusive building work noise a couple of mornings,but nothing that one would complain about atall,and if my credit-card could stand it once again,I would definately choose this hotel for my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldoc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My family and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for a sight seeing trip of Chicago and celebrate my daughters 5th birthday. Everything was perfect. They greeted us with smiles and wished my daughter Happy Birthday, they even had a special cake and card brought to our room.

Service throughout our stay was exceptional. The staff catered to our every needs.

It was a marvelous experience and we would highly recommend this fine establishment.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kchuhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,938 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing